RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Love those Vredestines...(8 posts)

Love those Vredestines...riney
Aug 31, 2002 5:33 PM
Not to rub salt in the wound of Human G-nome but his story just reminded me that I just put on a new set of Vredestine Fortezzas after the previous set provided me with 2637 miles of service w/only one puncture caused by a staple. There was a second flat but that was caused by a faulty tube. I know they are a little heavier, have a funky shape, and are harder to pronounce but who can complain. Anyone else out there riding these or have different experiences?
The Fortezzas are my current favorite tire. They are a reallybill
Aug 31, 2002 5:39 PM
great compromise between feeling great and wearing great. Notice I didn't say feeling REALLY great, because I think the better Vittorias feel just a tad more plush, but the Fortezzas have it all over the Vittorias in durability.
Great tires. I've never tried the tricomps, which are just a tad more expensive. What's the difference?
Not sure how much difference between tri-compsriney
Aug 31, 2002 6:16 PM
I imagine its a few grams and some suppelness but I save my tubulars for race day. If I went with high end clinchers it would probably be tri-comps since I have had such bad luck with Conti GP 3Ks and Michelins (no insult intended to those who love those tires its all subjective).
re: Love those Vredestines...GMS
Aug 31, 2002 7:27 PM
I'm also interested in these tires, though half of the reviews say they disintegrate in 500 miles and the other half say they last 3000 with no flats. There seems to be inconsistent ratings of all tires in the area of durability, though. It's either these or Michelin Pro Races, I think.
re: Love those Vredestines...Me Dot Org
Aug 31, 2002 10:10 PM
Last year I decided to try a lot of tires, and made a big order with Sdeals (they no longer to internet business). Anyway I got Continental GP3000s, Micheline Axial Pros, Vittoria Open Corsa CXs, and Vredstein Fortessas.

I just put the first Vredstein on as a replacement for a Vittoria Corsa, which have been relegated to front tire duty.

The Fortezza flatted in the first week, due to a piece of glass that got embedded. Uh oh, I thought, I hope this isn't as bad as the Vittorias.

Last 2 weeks have been good. I don't think they are a great tire in the wet, but it seems to have low rolling resistance.

I just ordered the Michelin Pro Race. If it is more durable than the Axial Pro, I would have to say it would be the best overall of the group. I like the Axial Pros, except they pick up road debris too much. The Conti 3000s seem to wear slightly better than the Axial Pros, but didn't have quite the grip. The Vittorias are a love/hate thing: Love the ride, easily the most supple tire I've ridden. Hate the wear and propensity to flat early and often. If I rode on debris-free roads they would be my first choice.

The Fortezzas? Right now I would rank them ahead of the Open Corsas on reliability, not as good as the Michelins on handling. Close to the Continentals, although I would give a slight nod to the Continentals on handling. Too soon to know how they compare on wear.
Conti sidewall problems...riney
Sep 1, 2002 9:06 AM
I had been using Contis since '89 but in the last three years I started to have problems with sidewall durability. They would get cut, punctured, and unravel faster and more often than ever before. I still love the way thel feel and handel but it became to expensive to continue. I agree that the Vredestines are not the best in the wet but living in central Texas means I rarely have to worry about that.
sdeals website is back up. I don't know what's going on, butbill
Sep 1, 2002 6:20 PM
they certainly seem to be back in the online business.
Nice tires, but nothing specialKerry
Sep 1, 2002 2:46 PM
Vreds, Contis, Michelins (and the right Vittorias) are all good tires. People try to extrapolate their personal experiences into some sort of global principle, but in fact the handling, ride, durability, and flat resistance are pretty much the same between them. There are differences, but they are not great. I shop these tires based on price, and have generally been pleased with them all.