RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


any other bike 'capitals' like davis, CA...?(23 posts)

any other bike 'capitals' like davis, CA...?curtybirdychopper
Aug 30, 2002 9:32 AM
just wondering if there were any other extrememly bike friendly cities like davis, ca. in davis there are traffic lights with a bike symbol so that only bikes can go through the intersection and all other traffic must stop. they build expensive freeway underpasses exclusively for bikes, not to mention tunnels for frog species to pass under roads. and i think there are over 10,000 bikes legally registered for a town of 50,000. in davis people actually bike to the grocery, to dinner, to a friends house. of course, davis is basically a college town and can get away with such things.

any other cities in the u.s. like davis? some in europe or asia are in a different league, i'm sure. but in this land of the 'great' automobile, bike towns are oddities.
Bike friendly is also an attitudeSantaCruz
Aug 30, 2002 10:40 AM
I consider Santa Cruz, CA to be very bike friendly. "Bike friendly" is as much an attitude by other road users (primarily auto & truck drivers) as it is in the conveniences the city builds.
attitude is everything, or at least closecurtybirdychopper
Aug 30, 2002 10:51 AM
santa cruz, hmmm. that's not surprising to hear. i think davis and santa cruz have similar attitudes in general towards the bike and other things.

aside, i've always wondered if many surfers get taken by sharks off santa cruz beaches. the other weekend, i saw a dozen waiting for waves in a huge kelp bed. i was thinking there must be tens of sharks down there wondering if any of those floaties are tasty seals. i'd rather get blind sided by a car door than sniffed by a great white.

btw, slow board for a friday.
Hah!!grzy
Aug 30, 2002 11:35 AM
Santa Cruz may have lots of bikies and surfers, but there's a bit of a harsh reality lurking under the surface. There's a serious lack of bike lanes and signals that can be tripped by bikes. The City Council is so mired in PC-ness that they can't get a damn thing done - just try get plans approved for building *anything* around here. The anit-growth, anti-establishment, anti-anything mentality has kind of backfired on the unwashed hippies - the moneyed have moved in anyways, bought up what they've wanted and priced the slackers right out of their own little nirvana. A half million gets you a starter/tear down house. As far as the sharks go they're always there, but you don't have to swim faster than them, just faster than the other guy. This is coming from some one who's witnessed the guy next to him get attacked. It sucked being him. Still, I wouldn't trade living and biking in and around Santa Cruz for anything.
Madison, WI comes to mind.Alex-in-Evanston
Aug 30, 2002 10:46 AM
I've never seen a city in the U.S. more bicycle reliant than Madison. I'm not talking about the racing scene, or even the recreational cycling scene. I'm talking about 4 season commuting in the great white north. The whole attitude about bicycles is very utilitarian, and drivers are accustomed to seeing and dealing with cyclists on a regular basis.

Alex
what about winter biking, doesnt wisconsin freeze...curtybirdychopper
Aug 30, 2002 10:54 AM
isn't that why happy cows are from california. because the WI cows freeze in the winter. maybe bike commuting slows way down in the winter. how big is madison, by the way?
what about winter biking, doesnt wisconsin freeze...king of Norway
Aug 30, 2002 11:35 AM
Madison is a great bike town with some great LBS (Yellow Jersey and Willie St.). I went to college there sometime ago and I beleive its around 150k-250k in size. With 40k+ students and a huge campus,its like Amsterdam for bikes. i used to salvage old bikes abandoned through the winter so in summer we could ride 'em straight off the piers into Lake Mendota.
madison, wisconsin con'twilsonc
Aug 30, 2002 11:50 AM
I think it is between 300-400k people now, and they do have some great bike stores. In addition to Yellow Jersey and Williamson, there is Budget Bicycles and a couple others. I grew up there and like "king of Norway," I went to college there. Even when it does freeze, besides the temp, the roads a generally plowed pretty well so they are ridable. Oh, they have great bike lanes on some of the major roads too. Then you can ride out of the town 10 mins and be on country roads... perfect for biking. IMHO, only thing missing are big hills/mountains (which i'm now finding plenty of here in Pittsburgh, PA... btw, pittsburgh sucks for cycling except for good hills here).

wilson
re: any other bike 'capitals' like davis, CA...?Rich_Racer
Aug 30, 2002 10:59 AM
There are actually quite a lot of towns like this in England now - I think Leicester was the first. Oxford and Cambridge. Manchester is getting there too.
it will take another hundred years for US to get like Euro in tecurtybirdychopper
Aug 30, 2002 11:11 AM
rms of mass transit and bike usage and convenience. its just the way it goes i think. the us is too big and the car is still too convenient and cheap. people in the us still think their quarter acre and ranch style are the way to go. what can you do.
it will take another hundred years for US to get like Euro in teJay W
Aug 30, 2002 11:29 AM
I live out in the country in amador county. I notice people are verry nice here when it comes to riding. Cars give you plenty of room never had a problem with a runer or another person on a bike. The only problem I have is on some of those 20 mile lone in the middle of nowere roads there are little or somtimes no bike lane it makes you grit your teeth every time you see a car coming. On a better note the land is beutifull and my area has just the right amount of up hills and down hills to keep you riding for miles and miles
Davis stinks for cyclists!SnowBlind
Aug 30, 2002 12:20 PM
You can't behave like a vehicle in this town if you are on a bike, gotta ride the bike/MUT trail (full of people walking the dog) if their is one. Many side roads open right onto the trail, so you have to dwadle if you want to be safe.

This is the town where the town council WANTS TO BAN CLIPLESS PEDALS!

Yeah, great town, if you are a pedestrian on a bike. Stinks if you are a cyclist.
ban clipless pedals? weird.curtybirdychopper
Aug 30, 2002 1:20 PM
didn't' know that. whats the rationale?

as far as davis for cyclists, i would imagine its not horrible. sure spin a few warmup miles on the MUT going 15, and pretty soon you're on any number of carless countryroads on your way to nowhere. all you have to do is watch out for the tomatoes and tomato trucks. what's wrong with that. you can't really cycle within davis anyway, its too small. and at least when you're in town, the cars are used to being considerate to 'peds on bikes.'
the major downfall is the lack of hills nearby. on the other hand its often windy there so ride into the wind, same effect! : )
They are "dangerous"SnowBlind
Aug 30, 2002 1:59 PM
I mean what if you can get out of them in time and run over a helpless widdle kitten?
Have you done the ride to Cantalope? Hilly enough for me.
Yeah Davis Sucksgranda
Aug 30, 2002 6:16 PM
I grew up there and God forbid you do anything wrong on a bike, it's a huge
fine. For someplace that is so in to bikes there is MAYBE one shop (wheelworks) where you can get high-end stuff. Compare that to the peninsula where there are many more - granted it will cost 1 months salary to replace that Ti brake bolt.

I guess it is not REALLY that bad for biking, but I object to this characterization that it is some major bike mecca. A bunch of people (only when school is in) riding on crappy bikes because it's flat, has decent weather, and it's smallish. The bike lanes aren't anything super special many towns of Davis' size have them. The pros would be that if you really want to rack up some miles, you can go a long way on flat roads with little wind (whoever said there was wind in Davis, come over here to the East Bay). Still to ride in a suburban area I would rather ride in Palo Alto where you can have easy access to some really nice routes and take a ride to the coast even.
re: any other bike 'capitals' like davis, CA...?Zyzbot
Aug 30, 2002 1:17 PM
Back to Messageboard


"....and i think there are over 10,000 bikes legally registered for a town of 50,000. "

You have to REGISTER a bike? I would hardly call that being bike friendly. I never heard of such a thing. What's next? Registering for free speech or perhaps registering to visit your lawyer?
registering bikes, why not?curtybirdychopper
Aug 30, 2002 1:25 PM
whats so bad about registering? pay a ten bucks or something and help pay for more bike racks or to paint the bike lanes around town. and it helps get your stolen bike back. i think that's the main reason--around 1000 bikes are stolen in davis every year, so registering helps people get their bikes back. i think most of the stolen bikes are 200 or 300 mtn bikes people ride to class and dont lock to something else.

back to registering, people are the same way about registering firearms. what's the big deal. i don't understand why people make a big deal about registering something.
registering bikes, why not?allezrider
Aug 30, 2002 2:02 PM
I wish nashville would have these things and if it took paying ten bucks every year I would glady fork the money over if we could get more support for cyclists. I don't see anything wrong with registering as long as the money is used in postive ways...
Last time I registered a bike...SnowBlind
Aug 30, 2002 2:03 PM
They hammered a serial number into the frame on the BB. It was an AL mountain bike, so who cares?
But make some dents in my current machine? No thanks.
Not to mention the license stickers on a bike with no decals.
registering bikes, why not?Zyzbot
Aug 30, 2002 3:49 PM
yeah...what's wrong with registering a constitutional right like firearms ownership? Next we can get you a license for free speech. After that we can get your free assembly right license. Oh...don't forget...can't get a lawyer without a license either. We can trust the government, right? They would never do anything negative...
Next thing, they'll want you to register your automobile...Me Dot Org
Aug 30, 2002 8:50 PM
...wait a minute...
..and then your gun! nmSpunout
Aug 31, 2002 3:20 AM
Or your boat, or your snowmobile, or your child in school nmScot_Gore
Aug 31, 2002 5:56 AM