RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


BikesDirect warning!(15 posts)

BikesDirect warning!BottomBracketShell
Aug 29, 2002 9:57 AM
Sure the prices are good. I bought two bikes from them. But for the past two weeks I've been trying to get an email response from them about a replacement for a hard-to-find bent derailleur hanger -- and they won't respond, even if just to say they don't have one.

If you're thinking of buying from them, I would caution you to be wary of buying from someone who won't provide even minimal support for a bike they sell you.

In fairness, since I know DAS the owner reads this and occasionally posts, I'll be happy to let the board know if and when he responds to my query, and what the response was. Maybe there's some good explanation for why my email has been ignored.
Your point is?filtersweep
Aug 29, 2002 10:09 AM
Sorry, but half the people here suggest that people support their LBS, the other half complain that LBSes are "too expensive." Everyone loves a great deal until something goes wrong.

I'd rather pay extra for peace of mind. Service is generally factored in to those "inflated LBS prices." Does bikesdirect even stock parts? Looks like they only sell the usual lineup of online bike.

I'm not trying to rile you up, but bottom-line pricing usually comes with bottom-of-the-barrel service.
Bikesdirect is affiliated with Cycle Spectrum, whichBottomBracketShell
Aug 29, 2002 10:29 AM
does service/stocks parts.

You're not riling me up. You're saying true things. That's the point of my post -- to let people know 'bottom-line priceing comes with' etc.
Unless of course an LBS is too big and growing.hycobob
Aug 29, 2002 10:31 AM
I bought two Mountainbikes from one of the LBS south of Houston, TX and the only good service I can expect is anywhere else but there. Some shops (sorry to say) should stay small, especially if their customer service can't keep up. This shop is one of the largest volume Trek dealers in the US with 4 or 5 stores and wanting to expand north to Dallas. At that point its time to start selling canoes, rollerblades, and ski equipment too. I'm sorry but I'm to the point that I either do my own repairs or pay a bike mechanic with half of the Shiner Bock beer I take over to his house. The other half I keep; as payment for my own apprenticeship of course.
Volume dealers are nastyfiltersweep
Aug 29, 2002 11:20 AM
...walk into a volume dealer... poke around at a price tag... salesman walks up and says "you look like a 58, we have two in stock." Ask what their policy is about swapping out some parts- even for sizing purposes- and they act like you farted in church...

The only GOOD thing is that they usually have obnoxiously liberal return policies (even 30 days is good)- vs. the boutique shop where they have NONE on bikes.
yup...sometimes a deal isn't a dealColnagoFE
Aug 29, 2002 1:03 PM
mail order is best for consumable stuff like tires and such IMO. with a complete bike you have a whole slew of things that could go wrong.
I searched their website for a phone number...Dave Hickey
Aug 29, 2002 10:40 AM
I cannot find any listing with an address or phone. I make most of my cycling purchases online but I never do business with a company that won't list their phone number. Even the online UK mail-order houses list their phone number.
re: BikesDirect warning!scottfree
Aug 29, 2002 11:33 AM
I can't see that Bikesdirect offers service, support, a warranty (if you click on 'warranty' on their website, there's nothing behind the link) -- or apparently even communication with their customers. All they offer is rock-bottom prices, which has its appeal. But God help you if you need more than that.
re: BikesDirect warning!aliensporebomb
Aug 29, 2002 12:02 PM
Have you tried CALLING THEM ON THE TELEPHONE?

I usually do that when e-mails fall on deaf keys.

Good luck!
As noted aboveBottomBracketShell
Aug 30, 2002 4:34 AM
they list no telephone number.
Wow! What do you do for a living?spyderman
Aug 29, 2002 8:31 PM
I didn't know you were perfect. I didn't know you lived in a perfect world...

Did you ever happen to think they never got your email?

Lighten up.
Silly, silly manBottomBracketShell
Aug 30, 2002 4:39 AM
Let's see ...

This is an Internet business, doesn't even list a phone ... you would THINK they'd check their email. Maybe not though, huh?

Sure, email fails now and then. Not often though. I've sent MULTIPLE emails over the past couple of weeks. Both using the 'contact us' link on their page (which SHOULD be the right address) and also using the 'reply' button from saved previous email from them. The address was right.

Any other questions?
Better Business BureauSlip Stream
Aug 30, 2002 7:26 AM
BBB Reliability Report

Cycle Spectrum
14144 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77077

General Information

Principal : David Sander Owner
Phone Number: (281) 597-1590
Fax Number: (281) 579-1603
Type-of-Business Classification: Bicycles

The information in this report has either been provided by the company, or has been compiled by the Bureau from other sources.

Nature of Business

This company A Bicycle Shop.

Customer Experience

Based on BBB files, this company has an unsatisfactory record with the Bureau due to unanswered complaint(s).
When evaluating complaint information, please consider the company's size and volume of business. The number of complaints filed against the company may not be as important as the type of complaints and how the company handled them.

Closed Complaints
Number of complaints processed by the BBB since the firm's BBB file was opened in September of 2000: 3
Number of complaints processed by the BBB in last 12 months: 1

Complaints Concerned
Sales Issues: 1
Outcome of the complaint -
Company did not respond: 1

Customer Service Issues: 2
Outcome of all complaints -
Company made good faith effort to Resolve: 1; Company
did not respond: 1

Additional Information

Additional Phone Numbers: 281-579-1603

Report as of 08/30/2002
Copyright 2002 Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Houston, Inc.

As a matter of policy, the Better Business Bureau does not endorse any product, service or company. BBB reports generally cover a three-year reporting period, and are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information contained herein is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy. Reports are subject to change at any time.

The Better Business Bureau reports on members and non-members. Membership in the BBB is voluntary, and members must meet and maintain BBB standards. If a company is a member of this BBB, it is stated in this report.
Satisfactory report! Thanks Slip Stream (nm)WingWing
Aug 30, 2002 12:04 PM
Thought so, too. nm.Slip Stream
Aug 31, 2002 4:20 AM