RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Does running hinder cycling performance?(9 posts)

Does running hinder cycling performance?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Aug 28, 2002 12:02 PM
Out of curiousity can running hurt cycling performance? I'm a track sprinter cross training in bobsleigh and am wondering if biomechanically opening up my gait can hinder my performance on the bike. I know the benefits of cross training in terms of how they work muscles differently which is good but can it be bad biomechanically teach your body to do something else like running in a sprint?

Thanks,
Nick
re: Does running hinder cycling performance?brider
Aug 28, 2002 12:52 PM
I don't think it will hinder cycling. Though from my background as a triathlete first, bike racer later, I can say that my cycling was MUCH faster as a bike racer. Probably had to do with more focused training.

What I've found is that a lot of cycling can hurt your running, in that the lower back takes long time to get used to being contracted for an extended period (shouldn't be a problem for you, as you're not doing long-distance running). Just keep up the flexibility work and you should be fine.
re: Does running hinder cycling performance?sacheson
Aug 28, 2002 2:46 PM
As I am not an exercize physiologist, don't take my word for anything more than hear-say. With that said, I have a friend who IS in the exercize phys. world, and trains cyclists and athletes from other disciplines.

From talking with him about running this time of year (when I get bored cycling all the freaking time), he says running can actually ehnance cycling performance if done correctly (i.e. not overdoing it, stretching, and running under your physical ability). I'm not going to quote him, but he says something about differences in dynamic v. static sports. According to him, the linear motion of cycling, when it is the only sport one does, can actually hinder development. Intellegently integrating other sports / activities into the equation works other muscle groups, and can increase cycling performance.

I also know he instructs his running athletes to ride a bike, but that's to get an aerobic workout with out the stress running induces. My point is, if done correctly I don't think the two are mutually exclusive.

Hope this helps.
re: Does running hinder cycling performance?tj90
Aug 28, 2002 3:01 PM
I regularly run 2-6 miles to break up the riding or to get a faster workout during the week. I believe that it helps my training because I can do focus training sets and target HR zones easily on a treadmill. Do longer aerobic workouts or focused fast interval workouts to AT, concentrating on recovery time.

The only time that Ive had problems running was training for a marathon this year. I was so whipped from running 15-21 miles in training that I had no energy left for riding. Consequently my bike handling skills and ability to put out hard efforts suffered. (I actually GAINED weight training for the marathon - maybe it had to do with having an average HR of 130 for 3 hours running versus cycling for 3 hours with a much higher heart rate - 145 bpm).

After the marathon, I burned my shoes - Ill probably never do another one! Its so much harder on the joints and boring. While running, I would look at everyones bike as they passed wishing that I was on 2 wheels!
I think it goes better one way than the other . . .jefajones
Aug 28, 2002 5:36 PM
I come from a strong running background (30:30 10K). At that running fitness level, I could bike relatively strong if the bike was setup correctly (i.e. steeper seatpost angle for example by having seat up on rails) to allow for more spinning than grinding. So, as your question is posed, running does not specifically hinder cycling performance - in my opinion.

However, as my time gradually shifted to the bike primarily, and my cycling improved somewhat, there is no way I could run like I before.

So, in short, for me cycling hurts my running more than running hurts my cycling. Now I'm trying to find that medium for tri's and bi's , TT a 40k under and hour, (hopefully 56-58 range) and run the 10k in the 32's off the bike.
Me alsoEager Beagle
Aug 29, 2002 2:50 AM
The better I get at cycling, the slower I get at running - I think it's to do with the leg muscles you develop cycling, which aren't the ones you use for running. There are guys I ride with who I can leave for dead on the bike, who just laugh at me as they disappear into the distance running....
Amazing how different they areMaartin
Aug 29, 2002 5:07 AM
Even if I ride everyday and am fit I will really get sore running if I have not been running and vice vs. They seem to use totally different sets of muscles.
re: Does running hinder cycling performance- NORayBan
Aug 29, 2002 5:11 AM
As far as my riding goes. I know from experience that running improves my aerobic system, and it keeps me sharp when I don't have enough time to ride throughout the week.
re: Does running hinder cycling performance?varmit
Aug 29, 2002 6:13 AM
From my personal experience, I would say that running will slightly reduce your bike speed - if you are mainly a cyclist. I would assume that this would work the same for a runner riding a bike. However, doing both will inprove a persons overall fitness and any exercise is better than doing nothing. I have noticed that my heart rate will peak during the transitions in duathlons and cyclocross races. This is because of the two different sets of muscles, for cycling and running, screaming for oxygen at the same time.