RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Who else has a Joe Blow pump?(13 posts)

Who else has a Joe Blow pump?jaybird
Aug 28, 2002 10:24 AM
Massachusetts company recalling 10,000 bike pumps which can cause injury
By Associated Press, 8/28/2002 13:34
WASHINGTON (AP) A Massachusetts company is recalling about 10,000 floor pumps used for bicycle tires because the lens of the pressure gauge can come off, causing injury.

Todson Inc., of Foxboro, received one report of a gauge lens detaching, causing an eye injury, the Consumer Product Safety Commission said Wednesday.

The recalled plastic pumps are black, with gray or silver trim and are about 26 inches high. The words ''Joe Blow COMP'' are printed on the side. The recall involves pumps with date codes 200003 through 200012, and 200101 through 200108.

Consumers can receive a replacement pump by contacting the company at 1-800-250-3068.

On the Net:

Consumer Product Safety Commission: http://www.cpsc.gov/

Todson Inc.: http://www.Topeak.com/
just the black JB Comp's, not the yellow JB Pro's (nm)daneil
Aug 28, 2002 10:45 AM
but my JB Pro is black and silverET
Aug 28, 2002 11:21 AM
http://www.coloradocyclist.com/common/products/viewfullimage_v2.cfm?CGRFNBR=353&File=/images/products/full/topppc.jpg&Description=TOPEAK%20Joe%20Blow%20Pro%20Pump

Please don't tell me there's a recall on the Pro. It is one of the true gems in life.
And the 'Sport' is Yellow...Spunout
Aug 28, 2002 11:33 AM
Whew! Mine does good enough, only had it two days.
My "Sport" is orange...klay
Aug 28, 2002 1:24 PM
...but, maybe that was Sunday's model. That's when I bought it. ;-)

K
yes, butDougSloan
Aug 28, 2002 11:34 AM
I have 2 Pro's. I love them, but last week the lever that locks the head on one of them broke in the middle. I have to stick a screw driver under it to pry it up, now. Other than that, they are by far the best pumps I've ever used. The head goes on securely and never pops off. To me, a floor pump is almost all about the head. Heck, all of them pump ok.

Doug
$#%$#@^%#$ lawyers; I'm looking at you Doug...TJeanloz
Aug 28, 2002 1:38 PM
What is this crap? A bicycle pump gets recalled for a safety issue? How dangerous is pumping up tires?

An eye injury? This has to be a joke. Let's speculate on what happens here- the glass somehow becomes pressurized and shoots up?
$#%$#@^%#$ lawyers; I'm looking at you Doug...yeah right
Aug 28, 2002 2:23 PM
a lot of pressure gauges intended for air are open to the back, meaning that the pressure that is showing on the needle is also acting on the glass window too. imagine pumping up some track tubs to close to 200psi, and then you'll see why it's important that they stay on. of course for one complaint this seems rediculous to have a recall.
One complaint can be very important.bikedodger
Aug 28, 2002 2:58 PM
One complaint can be significant if an analysis of the gauge showed an intrinsic design flaw or manufacturing process deficency that makes all the gauges of this design susceptible to failure. The one failure would have been an early warning of many to come.

Mike
One complaint can be very important.yeah right
Aug 28, 2002 3:42 PM
from what i understand these pumps are fairly popular and aren't exactly new, so if there was a major design flaw, it seems that there would be more complaints. of course, subsequent testing/analysis could have confirmed a bad batch or an engineering flaw, but considering as these gauges aren't exactly high performance, i'd be surprised if they were dangerous.
Hey, it only takes one lawsuit.....cydswipe
Aug 28, 2002 5:40 PM
How dangerous do you think a cup of McDonald's coffee is? Some person burns themselves, lots of $'s later, warnings on lids. My point is this. Lawyers are creeps. No wait, actually my point is: I'd rather face a recall on a product than have a fellow cyclist risk losing an eye from a floor pump.
lever lockET
Aug 28, 2002 6:44 PM
The Pro is so good you can pump your tires without even using the lever lock, at most needing an extra stroke or two. Give it a try. Cuz that's exactly what I did for a week or two until (this is embarrassing) I figured out what I was supposed to be doing with that lever lock. Is there any sort of warranty on these pumps? One thing I've always wondered about the Pro: why isn't that stability piece with the red button near the base long enough to touch the ground?

All of them pump OK? You shoulda seen that Zefal it replaced. You needed to be an engineer to switch those inner head parts back and forth between Presta and Schraeder and eagle eyes to find them as they rolled all over the floor. Then before pumping I had to let all the air out of the tires so as to push from the tire's outer side to get the pump head to attach to the Rolf Vector Comps. Don't ask how many strokes were needed; the pump ended up breaking from over-heating while pumping. The real workout wasn't the ride, it was the pumping.
I like a good 'head' too... ;o)spyderman
Aug 28, 2002 11:02 PM
BTW, send them an email. They cover their stuff with a 15 year warranty. They'll probably send you a new head without too many questions.