RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Parking in Bike lanes(13 posts)

Parking in Bike lanesSteven
Aug 27, 2002 10:48 AM
In California is it legal for motor vehicles to park in a bike lane?

I have a stretch of bike lane along one of my roads that is always filled with parked cars and I am forced out into traffic.
Steve
Nomr_spin
Aug 27, 2002 10:53 AM
Not if it is a specifically marked bike lane and there are no posted exceptions.

One of the routes I ride has bike lanes, but there are posted exceptions. Basically, the only time you can't park in the bike lanes is during school hours. There are two schools nearby.
NoSteven
Aug 27, 2002 11:26 AM
Then I guess all the new bike lanes they put in are essentially worthless, because they are all filled up with cars.

hummm....makes sense. (in some other universe)
See my mini-rant belowTypeOne
Aug 27, 2002 11:35 AM
the actual vehicle code -- pretty funnymr_spin
Aug 27, 2002 11:46 AM
I think I'll start telling all the idiots on the MUT getting in my way that they are in violation of 21211a! Note also the parking exception for persons delivering papers!

Obstruction of Bikeways or Bicycle Paths or Trails

21211. (a) No person ( ) may stop, stand, sit, or loiter upon any class I bikeway, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 890.4 of the Streets and Highways Code, or any other public or private bicycle path or trail, if the stopping, standing, sitting, or loitering impedes or blocks the normal and reasonable movement of any bicyclist.

(b) No person ( ) may place or park any bicycle, vehicle, or any other object upon any bikeway or bicycle path or trail, as specified in subdivision (a), which impedes or blocks the normal and reasonable movement of any bicyclist unless the placement or parking is necessary for safe operation or is otherwise in compliance with the law.

(c) This section does not apply to drivers or owners of utility or public utility vehicles, as provided in Section 22512.

(d) This section does not apply to owners or drivers of vehicles who make brief stops while engaged in the delivery of newspapers to customers along the person's route.

(e) This section does not apply to the driver or owner of a rubbish or garbage truck while actually engaged in the collection of rubbish or garbage within a business or residence district if the front turn signal lamps at each side of the vehicle are being flashed simultaneously and the rear turn signal lamps at each side of the vehicle are being flashed simultaneously.

(f) This section does not apply to the driver or owner of a tow vehicle while actually engaged in the towing of a vehicle if the front turn signal lamps at each side of the vehicle are being flashed simultaneously and the rear turn signal lamps at each side of the vehicle are being flashed simultaneously.
re: Parking in Bike lanesgwendolynofthemountain
Aug 27, 2002 11:58 AM
call the local authorities. carry your cell phone on you for that reason. if there are no parking police, call the police. tell them there is a vehicle illegally blocking the bike lane and putting your life in DANGER.
re: Parking in Bike lanesSteven
Aug 27, 2002 12:08 PM
Hey we have no choice. You have to ride in the bicycle lane and I don't see any exceptions for parked cars. Well I guess you could consider them a hazardous conditions or possibly debris.

21208. (a) Whenever a bicycle lane has been established on a roadway pursuant to Section 21207, any person operating a bicycle upon the roadway at a speed less than the normal speed of traffic moving in the same direction at that time shall ride within the bicycle lane, except that the person may move out of the lane under any of the following situations:

(1) When overtaking and passing another bicycle, vehicle, or pedestrian within the lane or about to enter the lane if the overtaking and passing cannot be done safely within the lane.

(2) When preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway.

(3) When reasonably necessary to leave the bicycle lane to avoid debris or other hazardous conditions.

(4) When approaching a place where a right turn is authorized.

(b) No person operating a bicycle shall leave a bicycle lane until the movement can be made with reasonable safety and then only after giving an appropriate signal in the manner provided in Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 22100) in the event that any vehicle may be affected by the movement.
"we have no choice"off roadie
Aug 27, 2002 12:30 PM
That would be a great excuse to get some MTB trials riders to ride over the "non-hazardous obstacles" in the bike lane. I'm not even very good, but I could probably ride over a Porsche...
Oh this would be great!bobwill
Aug 27, 2002 4:58 PM
in a proud, dignified voiceYour honor, according to article 21208 of the municiple motor vehicle laws I had no legal option to leave the bike lane for anything except to avoid debris or hazardous conditions. There was no hazard in taking my mountain bike over the plaintiff's car.
Oh yeah....Steve_O
Aug 27, 2002 1:40 PM
Here's my commute. I usually dodge a dozen or so cars like this every day. Although I would like to think that complaining to the police would do some good somehow I don't think things will change...

Steve-O (simply happy that portions of my ride actually have space to have a bike lane)
Great picture!!TypeOne
Aug 27, 2002 2:46 PM
That type of scene looks familiar...and that red SUV is going to pull halfway out through stopped traffic in an attempt to take a left turn into the oncoming lane.
This picture reminds me of one of those old driver's ed movies, where they show the scene and ask us to explain "What would you do?"
Your best option looks like lanesplitting, or completely disregarding the law and any pedestrian's safety by riding the sidewalk and anywhere else you can find a free lane of travel!
where is that?nova
Aug 28, 2002 6:05 AM
can't see the license plates on the cars...
Chicago... (nm)Steve_O
Aug 28, 2002 12:42 PM
nm