RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?(27 posts)

Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 25, 2002 11:38 PM
I have four pair of cycling shoes - 1 pair of mountain (Sidi), 1 pair of road racing (Vittoria), 1 pair of road commuting (Northwave) and 1 pair of road training (Sidi).

Am I weird? (For having 4 pairs of shoes that is!)

How many pairs of shoes do you have? Do you have a preference for brands?
four as wellrockbender
Aug 25, 2002 11:49 PM
Shimano Mtb's, Old Diadora roadies that are actually going to be replaced by Shimano 214's, and a pair of Shimano sandals.
re: ... four sounds good to me...Akirasho
Aug 26, 2002 1:36 AM
Sidi D2 (blue and yellow)
Sidi D2 (yellow)
Sidi G3 (black)
Sidi G4 (blue/black/red/silver)

... Love Sidi (the only brand I've ever used), but willing to pick up additional bargains when they occur (might as well prepare a bit for the future since that's where I'll be spending the rest of my life).

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?Dave Hickey
Aug 26, 2002 3:29 AM
Three
1.Nike Poggio
2.LOOK 396 Carbon
3.Some cheap pair of older Nike shoes.
How are the Poggio's?Sintesi
Aug 26, 2002 6:31 AM
I was looking at those at the Nike store the other day. They are SO light! I want a pair bad but $200 bones is a little steep for me. They also look like they might not be so durable. So how do you like them? Worth it?
How are the Poggio's?Dave Hickey
Aug 26, 2002 7:02 AM
I just bought them on Saturday and I've only used them for about 60 miles. My first impression is great. They are very light and comfortable. In the past, I've needed to break in new shoes. The Poggios have been comfortable since I put them on. The only thing I've noticed with carbon soles is, because they are so stiff, cleat placement needs to be precise or you'll have pain. Once the cleats were adjusted, they felt great.
top strap too high?5ive
Aug 26, 2002 9:26 AM
I've been interested in these shoes as well. But then I started hearing people complaining about the top most strap being too high on the shoes and therefore digging into the tendon on the front part of their ankles. Can you verify this? Thanx.
I haven't experienced the problem...Dave Hickey
Aug 26, 2002 11:20 AM
These shoes are very comfortable for my feet. Then again, shoes are like saddles, they fit everyone different. I would think if people have a problem with the strap being too high, you'd know that in the store. It wouldn't be a problem that would develop as you're riding.
re: Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?netso
Aug 26, 2002 4:37 AM
1 Sidi Energy
1 Sidi Genius
one for each pair of feet.Steve_0
Aug 26, 2002 5:14 AM
you have four feet? :-) (nm)ET
Aug 26, 2002 10:11 AM
.
8 pair?DougSloan
Aug 26, 2002 5:46 AM
1 Specialized carbon
1 Vittoria carbon
1 Vittoria all carbon (yes, there is a difference)
1 Northwave Husky (winter shoe)
1 Carnac somethings
1 Diadora
1 Cruiser style for SPD's
1 Specialized MTB

I think that's all.

The Specialized are my main road shoes -- very wide toe box and sole, very stiff. The Husky works great in the winter.
The Vittoria is very light and fits like a glove, ok for shorter rides, but not stiff enough or roomy enough for long rides.

Doug
6.Juanmoretime
Aug 26, 2002 6:14 AM
1). Time World Cup Mountain
2). Sidi Revolutions Mountain
3). Carnac TRS K1
4). Carnac TRS K2
5). Carnac TRS K5
6). Carnac Ellipse
5Jekyll
Aug 26, 2002 6:18 AM
Sidi Energy (main road)
Sidi Dominator (main MTB)
Specialized Team
Diodora Trivex
Shimano (something MTB)

We should start calling Doug - Emelda...
ThreePaulCL
Aug 26, 2002 6:39 AM
1. Sidi Genus 3's...my everyday shoes
2. Shimano somethings...my wet day shoes. My old pair
3. Some really old pair in a box that I should throw away
re: Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?Ted
Aug 26, 2002 6:57 AM
Just 2 pairs. One for each bike.

1 Shimano
1 Vittoria

Ted
sebum' of emGeekRoadie
Aug 26, 2002 7:24 AM
2 Sidi G4's
1 Sidi G3
1 Sidi Dom2
1 Shimano Mxxx (MTB)
1 Nike xxx (road)
1 Diadora Geko

I spend most of my time in my G4's. They are like house slippers to my feet.
2: One mountain and one road (nm)bikedodger
Aug 26, 2002 7:37 AM
5 pair of shorts, 2 pair of shoes (one summer, one winter)NMDINOSAUR
Aug 26, 2002 7:43 AM
NM
I lost count (nm)LC
Aug 26, 2002 8:05 AM
4, 2 for road and 2 for mtn. (diff. pedals)gregg
Aug 26, 2002 8:11 AM
I would probably only have 2 pairs, one for road and one for mtn. if it wasn't for different pedals.

1 old set of Shimano road shoes with old SPD cleats (pre SPD-R, no holes for R).
1 fairly new set of Shimano road shoes with SPD-R cleats.
1 very old set of Alpinestars mtn. shoes with SPD cleats.
1 fairly new set of Diadoras with Time cleats.

-g
2 road, 3 mountainLon Norder
Aug 26, 2002 8:48 AM
road shoes: Sidi Genius, Performance Royales
mountain bike shoes: Sidi Dominator, Alpinestars II and III
2 - one for summer & larger pair for wool sox in the winter. nmdzrider
Aug 26, 2002 8:58 AM
re: Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?alansutton
Aug 26, 2002 9:33 AM
Sidi G2 yellow road
Sidi G4 black Mega Mtb
Sidi G3 silver MTb
Sidi Techofire black Mtb
Sidi Storm black Mtb
Lake sneakers
John Fluevog RaceVoog SPD
Shimano SPD sandels
re: Quick Poll - How many pairs of cycling shoes do you have?pina
Aug 26, 2002 10:38 AM
I have four.
1 carnac blue lemond in mint
2 white time equippe
1 sidi worlds white energy
4 pairs of Shimanos :)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Aug 26, 2002 6:02 PM
I love Shimano shoes. Heres my list:

1 pair of lower end Shimano mountain bike shoes.
2 pairs of Ultegra level Shimano road shoes
1 pair of Dura-ace level Shimano shoes

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
FiveACE-
Aug 26, 2002 11:39 PM
Northwave road, 2 pair
Adidas road, 1 pair
Specialized MTB, 2 pair