RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Serious rider?(13 posts)

Serious rider?seejoy
Aug 25, 2002 2:22 AM
What do you consider a serious rider? 60-100 miles a week? More?
Complicated.Leisure
Aug 25, 2002 4:57 AM
I'd say I'd have to ride about 200-300 road miles per week and pick up routine intervals and quite a bit of intensity for at least one ride per week before I'd call myself a decidedly "serious" road rider. Right now, my road riding is mostly to supplement my mountainbiking. Though I most definitely enjoy it, at this time of the year I probably do a good road ride only every other week or so, so I qualify myself as "leisure". A professional racer would look at my idea of serious as Sunday stroll material. The coworkers who ride with me think I'm a powerhouse. I guess it depends on your frame of reference, but that's where mine is, and there's obviously a lot of gray area.
Not based on mileage in my opinionspookyload
Aug 25, 2002 6:58 AM
Here is my criteria:
1. Do you come to this site when first logging onto the internet?
2. Does your wife/significant other complain you spend too much time on your bike?
3. Do you hope every Christmas present under the tree is a new bike part or jersey.
4. Do you find peace and tranquility while alone on the road?
5. Do you wake up and figure you schedule around how you are going to get the ride you need/want that day.

Things that have no bearing:
1. Weekly mileage
2. The type/brand of bike you ride
3. Wether or not you shave your legs
4. Wether or not you have ever or will ever enter a race

Since you found the drive and ambition to post a question here, I would assume you are well on your way. Now log off the internet so your wife will quit bit&hing.
Not based on mileage in my opinionseejoy
Aug 25, 2002 10:20 AM
Hey I'm ok!! LOL!
I answered yes to the first five and being an american woman I've been shaving my legs for more years than I care to count!
Also, after posting my question this morning I left for a ride that ended up a 42 miler. What a great day weather wise to be on the road!!
I am lucky that my 12 yr. old son thinks that I am "way cool" to be riding longer than he can imagine doing him self so I never get grief from him.
Journey well!
Not based on mileage in my opinionRich_Racer
Aug 25, 2002 10:43 AM
It's all in your mind - if you think you're a serious rider, then you are.

Rich.
Well said (nm)steve-z
Aug 26, 2002 6:17 AM
re: Serious rider?Carbon fiber fanatik
Aug 25, 2002 12:58 PM
I go bonkers when I cant ride. I love both the road and off road riding. Since I cant ride in the snow, I ride on a trainer all winter.. My milage always varies and i'm a fanatik about my equipment. I dont shave my legs cuz I get enough grief about the lycra thing anyway. I spend too much time surfin the net for the next best deal, or checking out this forum, often on a recumbent trainer.

To make a long story short? To consider yourself a serious rider? Ride when your time permits and in accordance with your own lifestyle. Pro cyclist are that way for a reason, recreational cyclist are that way for a reason. IMHO? A serious cyclist is one who looks foward to the next ride, no matter how long or how fast it is. A serious cyclist just cares about riding.

Ride well...
Reality check time...Uncle Tim
Aug 25, 2002 3:36 PM
From where I stand, the most "serious" of all cyclists are the ones who use their bikes as legitimate vehicles for transportation to and from the workplace and the marketplace. The most serious cyclists are the ones riding their bikes not because they want to, but because they need to.

I could very easily brag about my annual mileage total but my efforts pale in comparision to the man or woman who makes a murderous bicycle commute each and everyday because the family depends upon it.

I always get testy when I hear people say things like "serious cyclists do this" or "real cyclists do that". You are either a cyclist or you aren't. The nuances in between are meaningless.
sillyJekyll
Aug 25, 2002 4:44 PM
Previous to starting my own company I had to drive 47 miles each way to get to work. I did not do this because I felt like spending an hour in my car each way but because I had to pay my bills and feed my family. I would have loved to do it by bike but a 94 miles through central PA in the middle of winter was not a viable option. Did this make me a serious driver? Hardly. It just made me a pissed off commuter....
Those humble masses earning to be free who "have" to ride a bike until the dictatorship of the proletariat sets them free are not "serious" cyclists just because they ride to work. Just because you have to do something to make a living does not make you "serious" about it. Surely the tremendous number of North Americans who have to drive to work are not serious drivers (if they are, I'd hate to see a non-serious one).
You could probably make the case that those who have to use a tool as part of their job function (couriers, taxi drivers, pilots) are serious about the tools of their trade but lets not consider every North Korean a serious cyclist just because they happen to live under a regime that is so f@cked that they have to ride a bike to work (and still starve anyway).....
Personally I have no idea how one would define a serious cyclist. In my club there are guys in their 70's who probably ride a quarter of the miles I do, I would never be so cavalier as to assert that they are any less serious then I am about the sport, and so on and on and on and on...
What a crockgrzy
Aug 26, 2002 11:33 AM
They only "need" to use their bikes for commuting because they want to - unless they got a DUI and lost their driving privaledges or have such a low paying job that they can't afford a used Yugo. If you telecommute then, by your definition, it is impossible to be a serious cyclist.

I guess your second paragraph is lucky enough to barely include Lance Armstrong as a serious cyclist - after all his family depends on his murderous bicycle commutes. You realize of course that this makes just about everyone in China a "serious cyclist" and no one in the USA. Of course you must be married and have a family - gays and single people can not be serious.

How about a serious cyclist is some one who devotes a significant amount of their *time* to bicycling regardless of the miles, speed, distance or anything else.
Read more carefully...Uncle Tim
Aug 26, 2002 7:24 PM
You need to read posts more carefully before going off on a tangent.

My comment was - and I still stand by it! - that the "most serious" cyclists are the ones who use their bikes to commute out of their basic necessity to get to the workplace on them. That is not to say that other types of cyclists (recreational, professional, commuting by choice, MTB'ers, etc.) are not "serious".

Perhaps it would shock you at the number of workers in America who actually fit into this category. There are lots of people in the USA who simply cannot afford to pay all of the costs inherent in automobile ownership (insurance, licensing, maintenance, etc.).

My point was this: if you are on a bike, you are "serious" enough.
One who does not smile (nm)Crankist
Aug 26, 2002 7:34 AM
that's what I thought, too. what else could it mean? nmbill
Aug 26, 2002 1:34 PM
nm