RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


eBay success stories... Bikes only...(18 posts)

eBay success stories... Bikes only...spyderman
Aug 24, 2002 11:13 AM
Please post any success stories you may have had while purchasing a bike on eBay.

Thanks
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...dirthead
Aug 24, 2002 11:24 AM
I purchased a Cannondale F5000 mountain bike earlier this year on eBay. I also got a Cannondale F700 bike for my wife for "free" with the F5000. The price I paid for both was in line with what the F5000 was worth. It was a great deal, and both bikes were in great condition. I was very happy with the purchase.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...jtolleson
Aug 24, 2002 1:11 PM
Sampson Kalispell ti, Campy chorus, $800. 'Nuff said.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...filtersweep
Aug 24, 2002 11:26 AM
I just sold a bike on ebay: I posted a bunch of hi-res pics that I hosted myself (none of those tiny "ebay pics"), every scratch/imperfection was photographed so there will be no surprises, I left my full name and phone number with all email correspondence inquiring about the bike, and before the buyer paid, I gave him my cell phone number, work phone, home phone, address, business name, etc. to make him more comfortable. Also, in my ad copy, I wrote that any prospective bidder could inspect in person and pick up in person.

I had nothing to hide, and my description was brutally honest. I was afraid it was too honest, but most people wait until the last minute to bid... everyone just sits back and "watches" the auction. It is high theater!

The dark side is that buyer/winning bidder was very concerned about buying this bike because he had been recently burned: her purchased a bike that ended up being a different year, size, and model than described! The seller of that bike disappeared.

It should be noted that I received $200 more than I expected, and frankly, I feel the price was too high... it ended up being close to the price of a new close-out price of the same model... but who am I to complain. This bike was a Trek, and they sell high on ebay. No one even knows what a Kestrel or Aegis is... and they always end up being relisted. Go figure?

I wouldn't touch a bike that had stock web pics for photos, or where the owner appears to know nothing about bikes, or there is one "far away" photo, or the seller is evasive in answering questions...
Good info filter...spyderman
Aug 24, 2002 9:52 PM
eBay is such a sellers market that I'm VERY reluctant to buying something there. Trust is another issue. As you said, the buyer paid $200 more than you thought it was worth.

I'm trying to find an inexpensive large bike for a friend who is 6' 1". She doesn't have a lot of cash so I'm putting feelers out.

If you know of something in the $500 range my email is spy_derman@hotmail.com

Thanks again,
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...gs6769
Aug 24, 2002 1:15 PM
I think I did quite well this spring. Scored a 2000 Klein Quantum w/ approx. 600 miles from a guy in Indiana. I think he had bought a bike well above his commitment to use it. He wasn't the most well versed guy but wasn't clueless either. Good feedbacks, no negatives. The listing had five very high resolution photos, taken in bright sunlight including a couple of good drivetrain closeups. He threw in a bunch of accessories, including a Flight Deck computer, seat bag and some other stuff. He even split the shipping with me. His LBS did a great job of packing, no damage whatsoever and even my semi-skilled hands were able to get it back together and on the road within a couple of hours. Long story longer, it's just awesome.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...Dave Hickey
Aug 24, 2002 1:18 PM
Dura Ace 7700 brake calipers. I pays to use the "New Today" feature. This guy had them listed with "Buy It Now" for $49.00. The pads looked like they were never used.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...DaveG
Aug 24, 2002 3:02 PM
I've only done one major purchase on Ebay, but it turned out fine and the price was right. Picked up a Torelli frame for $200. Frame was for sale from a shop so I was able to call the store and get info, as well as use a credit card for payment. I would recommend staying with sellers with a good rating and ask as many questions as needed. Back off if you have any doubts.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...gtx
Aug 24, 2002 3:14 PM
I pick up 7402 series DA parts from time to time if the seller has a good rating and they haven't been bid up too high. Never had any problems. I just use the saved search feature for very specific stuff and am patient.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...LAT
Aug 24, 2002 6:26 PM
I purchased my wife's Small Cannondale F500 through ebay. It was a late current year and it was being sold by a bike shop in Moab Utah. I purchased it for $550.00 including shipping. It was supposed to be a demo, but it was obvious that no one ever rode it. The bike was delivered with all of the documentation (including the video). The LBS that carries Cannondale was selling the exact same bicycle for $999.00 + tax and they did not have one available at the time. I am hoping to buy my wife a closeout Y2K2 Klein Attitude and I am selling the Cannondale. It is very likely that I will get more then I paid for it :D .
Thanks everyone. I'm off to shop.As they say 'Buyer beware".spyderman
Aug 24, 2002 9:55 PM
frames count?weiwentg
Aug 24, 2002 10:16 PM
my TCR frame. '01 model, with handlebar and stem. $550. I could not resist.
Another frame storyDMoore
Aug 24, 2002 11:23 PM
I bought a used Bill Holland lugged steel frame for a little over $200. The frame was perfect, with a few minor scratches in the Joe Bell paint job. Built up the bike to live at my ski condo. It rides the trainer in the winter, and is my vacation road bike in the summer.

I found an aluminum Simo frameset for $250, and built it up as a present for my g/f's 15 year old nephew. He had started racing but was on an old beater, so for the price of a frame I cleared out some of my spare parts and built him a bike with ergo 8 speed and all.

Neither frame was a "big" name like a Colnago, but the quality on both was excellent. (Not to start any wars, but people familiar with Holland's work would take his bike any day of the week over a Colnago.)

So if you know what you're looking for, and recognize the lesser-known names that are good bikes, you can score a knockout on e-bay. Then there was the polished Ibis Ti stem for $60...
Another frame storyJuanmoretime
Aug 25, 2002 3:43 AM
Bought my Dean El Diente with a Reynolds Ouzo carbon Pro fork, a King headset and a profile h20 stem for $800, Everything was in perfect condition.
Bought my Santa Cruz Superlight...js5280
Aug 25, 2002 6:36 AM
Very happy, paid about $725 which is a good price. There was damage to one of the cable bosses but it was pointed out by the seller and there were photographs. The damage didn't affect performance. I'd say just make sure the seller is responsive and stands behind the purchase. If you have any doubt, look into an escrow if you can't pass the deal up.
success after a headache!qp-rider
Aug 25, 2002 8:37 PM
about 2 years ago I bid on a Klien Quantum Pro...my size, outfitted w/ '99 chorus...on a '98 frameset (so he claimed). turns out it was a '94 or '95 because the bottom bracket bearings were pressed in...only done during those years...

It looks good, price was good, but reserve wasn't met, and I assumed his price was WAY higher...I bid slightly higher, and wouldn't you know it, I was the 'winner'.

Then I look...ZERO reviews...SHOOT!

We make contact, arrange to pay and ship the bike...finally it arrives. He promised 'professional packing'...I don't think so, nevertheless, the bike made it, the internal cable routing wasn't used...(it was tie wrapped to the tubes!) and the worst part, the seat tube was corroded to the frame. My LBS had to cut the thompson elite, file it vertically and then crush it to remove it...

after new cables, seat post, labor, etc...and $265 extra, the bike was great...

the seller disappeared...

2 years later, riding around Lake Tahoe, I get hit from the side by a guy in a pick up truck...and now I have a new Q pro carbon...

anyway, long story to say...always check feedback...and NEVER EVER drink wine and go online looking for a bike on ebay!

john
My storyvitusdude
Aug 26, 2002 4:24 AM
I've bought a few low cost parts--no problem. One day I see an aluminum Macalu with Time fork. This was sold a few years ago by Excel Sports, their house brand. Easton taperwall main tubes. The opening bid is $90 bucks. No takers. I watch it...time ticks buy...no bids. A day before it closes I crack and send in the $90 opener and forget about it. I figure I'll get out bid when the action starts in the last hours. No other bikds..I take it for $90. Arrives a few days later nicely packed. I figure to use it as a commuter. I strip down my old commuter and move parts over, raid my parts stash, and bum a few goodies from friends. Put it on the road last week and....I really like it. Did a 60 miler yesterday...fast, light, comfy. Now I'm thinking of investing in a good gruppo and wheelset. The moral is...Ebay is a crap shoot. Don't risk more than you can write off. But it can be a good source of bargains. Would I buy a $3000 bike on ebay? No way.
re: eBay success stories... Bikes only...Barton
Aug 26, 2002 7:21 AM
Got a Trek mountain bike and a Gary Fisher hybrid for my wife on e-bay. Great prices and no problems.