RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New Bike - Merckx Team SC!!!!!!!!!!(11 posts)

New Bike - Merckx Team SC!!!!!!!!!!dirthead
Aug 24, 2002 10:35 AM
A couple of months ago, I posted a question about whether to purchase a Merckx Team SC or a Trek 5200. I could not decide which frame to go with, and all of your comments and suggestions really helped me make a decision. The almost unanimous opinion was to go with the Merckx, which I did. I have about 500 miles on it now, so I decided to post my opinion of the bike, along with a picture.

The Merckx Team SC is an incredible bike. It is very light, very fast, but also quite comfortable for long rides. My previous bike was a Cannondale Caad 4, and this bike is a HUGE improvement in ride quality. I cannot stress enough how impressed I am with this bike. If you are in the market for a new bike, and have considered the Merckx, you will not be disappointed with it. It is a wonderful bike.

I outfitted it with full Dura-Ace, Deda Magic bar and stem, Thompson post, Prolink saddle, Campy Neutron wheels (got a great deal on them), Look pedals, and a Vetta V100 computer. I am in love with this bike, but like most, will probably start dreaming about another within a couple of years.
a beauty!Jekyll
Aug 24, 2002 11:00 AM
I'm in the same boat as you were, I have a CAAD4 and I've been thinking about getting the Merckx SC. I really love the way the compact version looks but I have no idea how it rides. Did you ride the compact vs the traditional version? How does this bike compare to the "efficient" feel of the Canny (the no-give acceleration, etc Cannondale does so well)? Do you think the ride quality was effected most by the frame or by different wheels, etc? Sorry for all the questions. Contgrats on a beautiful machine!
a beauty!dirthead
Aug 24, 2002 11:20 AM
I think the frame made all the difference in ride quality. The wheels are quite a bit lighter than the ones on my Cannondale, and probably contribute to the "light" feel of the bike, but the frame is incredible. This bike fits me a lot better too. I had a 54cm caad4 (c-t), this bike is a 52cm (c-c). I am much more comfortable on the Merckx than I ever was on the Cannondale. I am more of a climber than a sprinter, so I can't say for sure that the Merckx will accelerate as quickly as a Cannondale, but it climbs just as good, if not better, and the Merckx is MUCH more comforatble on long rides. On the Cannondale, I could feel every pebble, ripple, spec of dust, on the road, the Merckx absorbs a lot of that road feedback, so after 50 - 60 miles my body still feels fresh. On the Cannondale, after 30 miles I felt like I had been run though a bone crusher.

I did not have a chance to ride the compact version before buying mine.
where to get a deal?Jekyll
Aug 24, 2002 11:35 AM
I know cbike has the frames on sale ($1650) but is there anywhere (possibly outside the US as it is a Euro frame) to get a deal on it like you can on Colnago, DeRosa, etc?
Gooood stuffTig
Aug 24, 2002 12:22 PM
Congratulations on the excellent choice. The Team SC is hard to beat in many ways. I really love the Merckx century geometry. I enjoy how well it handles and rides with the longer chain stays and lower bottom bracket vs. standard American criterium geometries. Merckx also slightly over builds their frames for more durability than some of the "stupid-light" beer can thick aluminum bikes out there. Once you like the geometry, its just a matter of which style and frame material from Eddy's lineup. Quality is never a question, and pricing is competitive.

Even if I went with a custom frame, I'd base it closely on my Merckx Fuga's geometry (I'd just lower the top tube slightly on my current size).

Through my team I could have bought a Cannondale 2000 Si this year for a deep discount, and possibly a 2003 Specialized S-Works E5 for about $2700 next year (vs. MSRP of $4120, I must admit it is tempting). I'll stick with the Merckx, thanks! Maybe I'll go with a Team SC in a few years...
Sweet Merckx Team SC!Leisure
Aug 24, 2002 1:00 PM
I've gotten to test-ride that thing, and it IS sweet. It's weird the way it's stiff like most aluminum road bikes but has this forgiving quality at the same time. Very racey feeling frame, and I like the fork, too. Good choice!
nice!gtx
Aug 24, 2002 3:06 PM
I've got an old steel one and love it. If I had the money I'd get one of those in a heartbeat.
re: New Bike - Merckx Team SC!!!!!!!!!!Rik
Aug 24, 2002 9:45 PM
Congrats. I just received mine several weeks ago, also the result of assistance and positive feedback from the group. I have the compact frame in a 48cm and have been very happy with the bike. Thanks to all!
re: Yum yumthesleeper
Aug 24, 2002 11:01 PM
It is an absolute beaut! Possibly one of my dream bikes (with Campag).
Wouldn't be real hard to top a 'dale though.
Cool looking bike.Sintesi
Aug 26, 2002 7:31 AM
Might be the picture but those look like monster sized cranks. How big are they? Not knocking your sweet rig, just curious.
Cranks - 172.5mm arms, 53x39 rings (nm)dirthead
Aug 26, 2002 12:58 PM