RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


which/where torque wrench do I get?(8 posts)

which/where torque wrench do I get?Slick21
Aug 23, 2002 2:30 PM
I went to Home Depot today and they only had ones that were designed for cars. I don't need such a huge thing for my little bolts. Which one and where did u get yours? How much is it?

Thanks in advance
re: which/where torque wrench do I get?gogene
Aug 23, 2002 2:44 PM
I bought my 'beam style' torgue wrench at Sears, about $20.00. It measures both 0/75 foot/pounds and 0/95 metric newton/meters. I prefer the beam style because it can be used with left and right handed threads.
re: which/where torque wrench do I get?fretking
Aug 23, 2002 3:28 PM
As a lifelong mechanic I heartily recommend a click-type, 1/4" torque wrench. Almost any brand will do, other than the absolute cheapest imports. (In the tool business one REALLY gets what one pays for.) A click-type is in every way superior to a beam-deflection wrench. It can be used at any angle without having to have one's face directly over the beam to read it, and most importantly, there is no uncertainty as to reaching the desired torque. Beam types are much too touchy in this respect. There is simply no way to calibrate a beam type either. This is important, because a good torque wrench will usually be factory calibrated to within a quarter pound or so. This level of accuracy is perfectly acceptable for bikes. Click-types are a few bucks more than beam types but if one purchases a good one, there is never any question whether or not the torque is correct, and a good one will last a lifetime:)
Click vs. BeamNessism
Aug 24, 2002 5:19 AM
Just a few pros vs. cons:

Clicker type
Pro:
- Easy to use - just set the wrench and listen for click
- No need to watch dial
Con:
- Sensitive to damage. No way to check calibration
- Expensive

Beam type
Pro:
- Low purchase cost
- Does not go out of calibration easily
Con:
- Need to watch dial

For home use I recommend beam type. They are more than accurate enough, are cheap, and reliable (will not go out of calibration even if droped on the floor). Make sure to get two, low range and high range.

Ed
Click vs. Beamfretking
Aug 24, 2002 1:40 PM
The statement about not being able to calibrate a click-type wrench is nonsense. Ask any A&P mechanic or Snap-On rep. It is easily done, and in many industries and government work, it's required once a year. I've abused one of my click-type torque wrenches (dropped etc.) since 1982 and though it has been checked many times, it has never NEEDED re-calibrating. So much for it's sensitivity. As to the calibration of a beam-type, to say that it never needs calibrating is silly, as there is nothing on this type of wrench to calibrate. I hate to disagree with you, Nessism, but I feel obligated to dispel misinformation when it is put on a web page for all to see. The cost of a good tool is worth the peace of mind it brings. You may save a little by purchasing a cheap tool, but it won't be worth the dissatisfaction that comes when you realize that the cheap tool may not adequately do what you wanted it to do.
OK, I should have said...Nessism
Aug 24, 2002 2:53 PM
...no way to check calibration without sending the wrench out to some company and paying them money to check it for you.

The nice thing about a beam torque wrench is that they almost never go sigificantly out of calibration. If the pointer is not pointing at zero, just bend it back and you are good to go. Not as accurate as a properly calibrated click wrench bit much more reliable in the end.

Ed
You may well need twoKerry
Aug 23, 2002 3:28 PM
You need a big wrench to do your BB and cassette (50-70 nm torque) and then a littlee one to do your small stuff (stems primarily). Experienced wrenches prefer the "clicker" type of wrench over the beam wrench. Beams are less accurate and easily bent. I'm not sure what the other poster is talking about on LH and RH threads. A clicker torque wrench works just like a regular ratchet and can therefore tighten or loosen either thread type. I only need a large wrench (no sensitive small bolts) and have been very satisfied with Sears Craftsman.
Snap On or Craftsman - 1/4" drive, the one that clicksjose_Tex_mex
Aug 24, 2002 10:43 AM
They might be a bit more than the lever arms but in the long run they are much more accurate and come with an absolute guarantee for life.