RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?(26 posts)

Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?Juanmoretime
Aug 23, 2002 6:10 AM
Livng in a smaller city in the Midwest, my family will attend our local Sweet Corn Fest which has a great car show that goes along with it. Then it's off to Lafayette, Indiana for a 50 mile ride of hills with one of my cycling friend. I'm looking forward to this since it's pancake flat where I live but get some sick pleasure out of climbing. Plus I get to check out my new altimeter watch and see how many feet I actually climbed. Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?
Alas....No wherePaulCL
Aug 23, 2002 6:30 AM
My wife is leaving town and leaving me with our three small children. So, no cycling for me. Bummer.
No where-I have a terrible cold/virus/crud,STEELYeyed
Aug 23, 2002 6:38 AM
and I feel like crap. I'm going to bag a MTB race on Sun. that I already paid entry fees on. It sucks not being able to go,but I just need the rest.
You know, a good ride will clear the crud. Just warn the riders behind you first. (nm)Kristin
Aug 23, 2002 6:52 AM
Back to emotional well-being. nmMXL02
Aug 23, 2002 6:42 AM
Two ridesMel Erickson
Aug 23, 2002 6:44 AM
A kick a$$ mountain bike ride with the guys on Saturday at one of the best trail sites in all of Wisconsin and a nice long road ride from the house on Sunday.
re: Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?mlbd
Aug 23, 2002 6:49 AM
Cunningham Falls State Park for some camping with my wife. We plan to do some nice road riding from there in the hills of western Maryland.
Hmmm...Busse Woods. Next week though!Kristin
Aug 23, 2002 6:50 AM
Next week Bernardo will be taking me to Devil's Lake in Baraboo Wisconsin where it can show off its brand new shiny cassette and stem. My first responsiblity this weekend is to clean the bike up proper before it goes in for work.
re: Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?netso
Aug 23, 2002 7:01 AM
It is out and back, however it is my favorite. Antioch, Florida ride approximately 30 miles.
re: Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?Texas Spinner
Aug 23, 2002 7:06 AM
HOTTER N' HELL 100 Wichita Falls, TX
climbing in Greenville, SC, areatarwheel
Aug 23, 2002 7:18 AM
Traveling this weekend from NC to Greenville, SC, to visit the in-laws. There are some great climbs in the area, and I'm tentatively planning to ride on Saturday from Greenville to Saluda, NC, which is almost all uphill for the first 18-30 miles (depending on where I start) and mostly downhill on the return. I will probably be riding solo unless I get lucky and pick up with some other cyclists. Depending on how my legs feel Sunday morning, I either take an easy spin around town or do another local climb that's steeper than the ride to Saluda but only 15-20 miles long.

I'm training for the Bridge to Bridge century ride in Caldwell County, NC, on September 15 -- so I'm working on my climbing lately. It's not my strength but I am improving. The BtoB ride is 102 miles, ending on the top of 5,964' Grandfather Mtn, so I've got my work cut out for me.
Sticky Buns!soup
Aug 23, 2002 9:38 AM
No luck needed. If you get to the parking lot next to the chapel at Furman anywhere bewteen 7 and say 9 am, you'll likely find folks heading up to Saluda. Be sure to get a a warm sticky bun at the bakery. It's 60+ miles round trip from Furman.

I'm heading to the beach, otherwise I'd be there. Have fun. We've got some great riding around here.

soup
can you be more specific on the time?tarwheel
Aug 23, 2002 10:11 AM
Two hours is a long time to hang around ... And where exactly would this bakery be?
Back to emotional well-being. nmMXL02
Aug 23, 2002 7:18 AM
200K Saturday, 100K Sunday.MB1
Aug 23, 2002 7:28 AM
We just might be on our bikes by 4am tomorrow, don't know where we will go though-we will include some climbing, dirt and a nice dinner.

Sunday "Three Covered Bridges" near Frederick, MD on the fixtes-a club ride.
Racing...FlyByWire
Aug 23, 2002 8:14 AM
...at the Sherman Park Crit on the south side of Chicago.
Down various roads like Heat Exhaustion Blvd. & Elation Lane -nmTig
Aug 23, 2002 8:22 AM
Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?t-bill
Aug 23, 2002 8:40 AM
Given the weather in Chicago the last few days, and impending final exams next week... probably no where!!! But maybe the weather will clear and I'll be able to fit in a "study-break"!
Around a 3/4 mile loop...LC
Aug 23, 2002 9:21 AM
for nearly an hour, real fast! Scenery is ok, but won't really see much of it. I have done it many times before, but it is always an adventure each time around. You would think I would get tired of it, but since it takes 100% concentration to not crash into one of the other 50 riders, definitly not!
taper city, baby! short ride this weekend, long ride next. nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 23, 2002 9:32 AM
Up, up and away.dirtpoor
Aug 23, 2002 9:38 AM
Until I come back down for work.
Up the Angeles Crest Highway...PeterRider
Aug 23, 2002 11:22 AM
I'll try to do as much as possible of the road covered by the Angeles Crest Century next month, since unfortunately I will miss this ride.

Lots of climbing, 11000 feet elevation gain ! I doubt I will make it tomorrow, especially if it's hot. But you never know, maybe I'll succeed !

Pierre
Central Oregon for a century (+/-) in the mnts with friends nmPdxMark
Aug 23, 2002 12:58 PM
re: Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?trimble
Aug 24, 2002 2:41 AM
We're talking Central Texas here...

Sat: my regular training/group ride in eastern Travis county. 100k of attacking and counter-attacking.

Sun: Might do some hills in the Hill Country.

weather: mid-upper 90s wind light
Regular routinetrimble
Aug 24, 2002 2:45 AM
We're talking Central Texas here...

Sat: my regular training/group ride in eastern Travis county. 100k of attacking and counter-attacking.

Sun: Might do some hills in the Hill Country.

weather: mid-upper 90s, light wind, sunny (lots o' sunscreen)
re: Friday Poll: Where will your bicycle take you this weekend?BikeViking at home
Aug 24, 2002 4:19 AM
There is a superb 50 mile group ride here in Newport News. It's fast but there are points where everyone groups back together. I am getting stronger, but it is alwyas a HUGE amount of work for me, especially at the end, to stay with the main pack.

I LOVE this ride!!!!