RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this a good deal for a NEW monocoque bike?(24 posts)

Is this a good deal for a NEW monocoque bike?lanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 11:00 AM
Frame: MARTEC Model:RA (Monocoque) +M7
Type: 700c racing frameset plus carbon fork of low resistance design
Size:56cm (C to T)
Material: carbon UD/3K woven
Painted: ofr 3K woven carbon outlooking

gruppo: Ultegra
wheels: Velocity Sparticus
carbon post
bars: Modolo AE 2098 anatomic
stem: 3t Mutant
saddle: sdg bel air seat
tires: pannaracer

Price: $1250. US plus $40. shipping

What are the pros/cons of this frame?

Thanks for your help.
re: Is this a good deal for a NEW monocoque bike?cycleforever
Aug 22, 2002 11:12 AM
I've heard this bikes can be a little flexy out of the saddle. Triathlete Mag did a review on this bike but under a different name BikeParts.net, the review was so so...
Are you sure bp & Martec are the same?lanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 12:12 PM
The BP frame looks different from the Martec. The Martec is more of a racing frame while the BP seems to be more for Triathletes...

Even if they are the same frames, and even if it is "flexy," would $1250 be a good price?
re: Is this a good deal for a NEW monocoque bike?pmf1
Aug 22, 2002 11:14 AM
Sure is one ugly spud.
Agreed. seriously ugly. nmNo_sprint
Aug 22, 2002 12:20 PM
ehh, heh, heh, heh he said coque.peloton fodder
Aug 22, 2002 11:55 AM
cool
That yellow screams out.....tronracer
Aug 22, 2002 12:25 PM
HEY, LOOK AT ME...I'M UGLY!!! Sorry man, but that thing is got beat with the ugly stick.
if i put on an easter bunny suit...lanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 12:33 PM
ok, so it looks ugly. what do i care. but can anyone tell me if this is a good deal or a bad deal for $1250.

(it can always be repainted -- maybe dayglo pink)
yes it's a bad deal.elviento
Aug 22, 2002 12:42 PM
Pretty sure this comes out of east asia, most likely Taiwan. I wouldn't pay over $900 for that thing. Probably wouldn't even pay over $700 for it.
yes it's a bad deal.lanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 1:24 PM
Clearly Martec is from asia (somewhere), check the web-site:

http://www.martec-cn.com/

It seems they OEM - so maybe BikeParts does OEM from them.

Are you saying you wouldn't pay over $700 for a complete ultegra equipped bike with this frame? I thought that any ultegra equipped bike would be worth $1250. What gives?

I would just like to hear your rationale.
I'm quite sure the color washes out in the rain-filtersweep
Aug 22, 2002 12:51 PM
Seriously, my first thought was to get rid of the seat post and put tricycle wheels on it... the you'd really have a "tri- bike" ;)
If you're not fast enough, you'll be accused of being a poser :)tz
Aug 22, 2002 12:38 PM
I disagree with most of the others.MXL02
Aug 22, 2002 12:50 PM
The others don't like the looks or the origin of the frameset...but they don't answer your original question. I believe that $1250 for any Ultegra equipped bike is a pretty good deal, much less one with a carbon frame. Other people on this board who actually own Martec frames have given them a pretty good review. If you like it, buy it, and forget about what other people think.
I disagree with most of the others.lanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 1:28 PM
It looked to me that a carbon frame w/ultegra for $1250 was a good price too. If it is a good deal, I couldn't care less about the color. I am not going to set it up as a tri.

I couldn't find any reviews on Martec -- do you know how long ago this may have been?

thx for your post.
Check out the gallary, 2 reviews/Pics (nm)sctri
Aug 22, 2002 1:39 PM
Pic from gallery - posted 5/27 by Francolanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 2:04 PM
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/TTBike2(1).asp?#comments
re: Is this a good deal for a NEW monocoque bike?RayBan
Aug 22, 2002 12:56 PM
For a time trial MAYBE but for regular road riding I wouldn't bother with it. Your local triathletes would be gaga over it, but forget it for your group road rides!
May 24 post from a Martec owner...lanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 1:37 PM
Carbon fiber fanatik "Scattante CFR" 5/24/02 3:12am

...so it looks like Martec OEMs to Look, Scattante, BP Stealth and several others...
Nothing they won't makeTJeanloz
Aug 22, 2002 1:44 PM
Martec makes all kinds of carbon crap. See:

http://www.wheelgiant.com.tw/script/TBS/QueryPartList.asp?cCs_No=0000004927&cPd_No=000008

It would help if you could read Chinese, but you catch their drift. Most of their "carbon" stuff appears to be rather rudimentary carbon wrap over a metal shell.
To answer your questions....No_sprint
Aug 22, 2002 1:42 PM
You had two questions, one, is it a good deal, and secondly the pros/cons.

I don't think it's a good deal. Around this time of year, stores like Supergo are clearing out stock. I've seen several Ultegra bikes for nearly that exact price. Specialized, Trek, heck, sometimes even a Klein, Cannondale.

Pros/Cons? That frame is similar to the old Y-Foil. It is likely heavier than another of the bikes I've mentioned above. If you're not doing tris and you start to get in with a real group of riders, you'll be somewhat outcasted. Another con is that thing is really ugly and will be even with different paint. I see no pros to owning that thing at all.

If you want a deal on a carbon with ultegra, get the EPX.
thx! nmlanternrouge
Aug 22, 2002 1:45 PM
forget those double triangle fools...Carbon fiber fanatik
Aug 22, 2002 5:45 PM
Hows that for some follow up sarcasm? Here is some more for ya. I have over 3000 miles on that exact frame? Ugly? not...It draws a lot of attention. Flexy? nope..stiffest bike laterally I have ever owned. I have owned cannondale, specialized, klein..blah..blah.. This bike, for the money rocks. I have done it all. Including centuries on mine. I dont think the mango yellow and stupid decals have slowed me down. Country of orgion? better take another "look" at most of the components making up your oh so special double triangle blah, blah frame. Martec even makes your litespeeds oh so special carbon forks. Yes, the bp stealth and the martec are the same frame... Frankly, I dont care what anyone else thinks of this bike. I'm a 37 y/o middle class guy with an over 20 mph average no matter what the ride length or terrain. For the guy interested in the frame? If it suits your style, go for the martec and build it up, you will not be disapointed.. I know i'm not. Anyone care to ride with me, c'mon, see if ya can drop me...
Well, I'm interested.Leisure
Aug 23, 2002 1:59 AM
So let's ride now so I can kick yer ass!!!

Just kidding, of course...you'd probably stomp all over me. I would however want to demo your bike to see what it feels like first hand.

I actually am open-minded to different types of frames, and think that some of the loyalty to double triangle bikes is just roadie conservativism in the interests of "playing it safe". Hey I admit, I'm not going to drop piles of money into a frame that I can't be absolutely sure of. Double triangles have been proven over several decades. On the other hand, the advent of suspension in mtbs has opened a lot of minds in that arena to alternatives to the double triangle, even on hardtails. Shouldn't be any reason to think such things can't happen on road bikes.

For me to seriously consider investing in a design like this, I'd need two things: First, more reviews singing praise like yours, preferably from numbers of people each riding it over several thousands of miles. That's just so I know it'll be reliable. Second, a good amount of test-riding to make sure it doesn't give up anything I happen to like on more classically-designed bikes.

So, I guess what I'm saying to the original poster is what I always say. Don't buy anything without an informative test-ride.
Well, I'm interested.Carbon fiber fanatik
Aug 23, 2002 2:50 PM
*laughing*

Anytime..! Kidding. Come on over and take her for a spin. I'll just need your drivers licence and a major credit card incase you decide not to come back.

I have owned all kinds of bikes. In fact, my mountain bike is a Kestrel cs-x (hard tail). I appreciate the art and craftsmanship that goes into anything to do with cycling. I just don't like snobbish, elitist, look at me people. Buy what you can afford, buy what suits you, buy what fits and ride. Simple as that. Don't buy a litespeed because "fred the 500 miles a year poser" says litespeed is the only bike that matters. Don't buy assos bibs because they cost more than voler.

IMHO? name brandishing is little more than a self-indulgent infection that prevents people from appreciating the true nature of cycling. Now that I'm done ranting, I'm going riding....