RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friend exaggerates about his solo rides...(37 posts)

Friend exaggerates about his solo rides...cabinfever
Aug 22, 2002 9:40 AM
I have a friend who will go for a ride by himself, and exaggerate about the distance and avg. speed. I know all about the reliability of using avg. speed as a performance measurement (hills, wind, etc), but this is funny. He'll say he rode 35 miles at 19.5mph, but then can't keep up on rides with others, and noticeably tires out after 25 miles. I was thinking of secretly putting a second magnet on his wheel after our next ride, and see if he calls me the next day to tell me he averaged 35mph and went 70 miles on his next ride! It's cruel, but it would be funny.
God forbid! That's certainly a new & frightening concept here!scottfree
Aug 22, 2002 9:43 AM
Figures lie and liers figure...eschelon
Aug 22, 2002 9:44 AM
I totally understand where you are coming from. My bro does that same crap...makes you feel sorry for these suckers...they really do believe the crap they are spewing...yet they are at a loss for words to explain why they can't keep up on a simple and short high mph hammerfest...that's why I only care to listen to people's prowess as fast riders based on their cat level.
On the average speed raponespeed
Aug 22, 2002 9:48 AM
I havent zeroed out my ride mileage in a while and just for fun checked my average speed. For the last 850 miles I have an average speed of 15.9mph.

It means nothing really, but it was all on my fixed.

Love that fixed.
Nice bike! Is that an Aegis carbon fiber?cabinfever
Aug 22, 2002 9:55 AM
Sweet ride! I know nothing about fixies. Are they hard to get used to? Can you climb with the fixed gear? It would seem to me like riding a BMX bike, no?
It is an Aegis Carbononespeed
Aug 22, 2002 10:00 AM
It is the funnest bike in my stable. The thing climbs, soaks road and cruises very nicely.

A fixed is a little tough to learn at first. Now I can go from fixed to my other bikes with no lag time. It is easier than riding a BMX because you are able to travel faster and farther more comfortably.

Try it, get one, ride it.
PHOTO PROTOCOL VIOLATION!NJRoad
Aug 22, 2002 11:01 AM
I think it's in the Cycling Photographers handbook that all bike photos are to be taken from the drive train side. Granted yours is a pared down version but it has a drivetrain none the less.

Great fixie BTW!
i love to look at your fixie butpukka
Aug 22, 2002 11:10 AM
i have to scroll around the screen so much to see it and also to read the posts
I cant figure out how to make it smaller. Need help here. (nm)onespeed
Aug 22, 2002 11:35 AM
Try downloading this graphic viewer freewareTig
Aug 22, 2002 1:37 PM
This free utility called IrfanView can open and edit or resize any graphic file. It is easy to use and allows you to convert a file to a different type (example: open a .BMP file and save as a .JPG). The download executable is only 800 KB large.

http://www.irfanview.com/
I made it smaller for you. MS Paint > Stretch.off roadie
Aug 23, 2002 5:15 AM
With a MS computer, you can "left click" on the image below and select "save as". Use the new image instead of the huge one.

If you've got a Mac, well, those are all super easy to use, right? ;-)
On the average speed rapThaddeus
Aug 22, 2002 12:59 PM
two problems.

#1 Your picture is too big. please make it smaller.

#2 We all know you have that bike, you insist on posting it with nearly all of your opinions. Give it a rest, give us a rest.

Thaddeus
Maybe his computer is set up for 650c wheels...Dave Hickey
Aug 22, 2002 9:48 AM
You really want to mess with someone, change his computer setting to smaller wheels. Average speeds of 50mph+ are possible.
The truth is, he wouldn't know the difference...cabinfever
Aug 22, 2002 9:53 AM
And then he would really tell me, "Yup...went for a ride last night. Averaged 30mph."
The truth is, he wouldn't know the difference...capnjim01
Aug 22, 2002 12:26 PM
ok so set his computer the other way and he'll kill himself trying to get his average speed up.
average speeds and distances -- cyclists' version of fish talestarwheel
Aug 22, 2002 9:54 AM
I take claims about average speeds and distances the same way fishermen feel about stories regarding "the one that got away." In cyclists' defense, however, I do notice quite a bit of variability among different computers on group rides. On the regular 30 mile group ride I do every Wednesday, we often compare average speeds at the end of the ride. Even though we all start and end about the same time, averages often vary by 1 mph or more.
I hear ya, but these stories aren't even close. nm.cabinfever
Aug 22, 2002 9:56 AM
A lot of the variation can be accounted for by...Ray Sachs
Aug 22, 2002 11:13 AM
the faster riders stopping at the top of hills to wait for the slower riders. You begin and end at the same point at the same times, but some of you spend more time RIDING than others.
ya, that's the ticketDougSloan
Aug 22, 2002 9:55 AM
Ya, I once rode 134 miles at 28 mph solo. A week later, I did a 25 mile time trial at 31.4 mph. When I was in France last spring, I saw Lance and beat him up Ventoux mano-a-mano. Without his team, he's nothing. When I got to the top, I got a great big kiss from Morgan Fairchild...
I Lovett!!!cabinfever
Aug 22, 2002 9:56 AM
That wasn't Morgan Fairchild, Baby...that was a MAN!!!!!ColnagoFE
Aug 22, 2002 9:59 AM
with apologies to Austin Powers.
no fair, you're a lawyer, ; )tarwheel
Aug 22, 2002 10:00 AM
They teach you that stuff in law school, right? Or was it just watching SNL?
that's embarrassing...mr_spin
Aug 22, 2002 10:01 AM
Morgan Fairchild beat you and Lance up Ventoux???
Morgan Fairchild?!? funny! (nm)velocity
Aug 22, 2002 10:12 AM
glad to hear I'm not the only one who can do that (nm)yeah right
Aug 22, 2002 10:31 AM
ya, that's the ticketcapnjim01
Aug 22, 2002 12:27 PM
lol. me too but then i woke up.
No, sorry, that was Morgan Freeman......Skip
Aug 23, 2002 10:43 AM
No, really! I've got the picture, .........., yeah, that's it.
You see a problem, I see opportunity.Spoke Wrench
Aug 22, 2002 10:04 AM
Listen very intently the next time he makes such a claim. Double check to be sure you have the numbers right. Then offer to make a substantial bet on the outcome of your next joint ride based upon his claim.
Not a problem for me. I actually prefer to keep my mouth...cabinfever
Aug 22, 2002 10:09 AM
Shut. It makes it that much more fun on the ride. I have to admit, we are both a bit competitive, so it's fun to push one another. I just thought it would be fun to add the second magnet.
But you're stronger, right?TypeOne
Aug 22, 2002 11:37 AM
I don't know what's worse, a guy exaggerating despite being better than you, or a guy who is not as strong exaggerating because he's ultra-competitive. Either he's a showoff rubbing it in, or he's a pathetic little-brother type.
I have a friend who is the second type. He talks and talks, but everytime we get on a ride together I drop him (I'll admit, his exaggerating gets me more competitive than I would normally be). Last time we rode, I held up atop a hill and waited for him for 5 minutes. He struggled up and complained that he was "bonking a few miles back." I nearly snorted in disgust. Dude, if the cure for your "bonking" is to simply take it easy for 1/2 mile, then it isn't bonking, it's called getting your dress caught in your chain. Lame excuse. I am learning to live with this crap, because otherwise he's an ok guy.
If he was full of talk and could drop me, I wouldn't put up with it.
we all know people like thispukka
Aug 22, 2002 12:14 PM
a good friend of mine i used to ride with (he moved back to england)was a bit like this if i went out with him he go backwards on hills but if i was away he would go out with a guy who rode triathlons and he tell me how fast they were going and how he felt great last week(maybe he hadn't snorted a bag of columbian marching powder and sipped 15 bottles of becks the weeks i didn't ride),and a few years ago we did the 5bbc ride that goes out to montauk but we only did the 65mile option but he told all or friends "oh yeah we road out to montauk sunday" which would be 130 miles
hes a great guy and i loved our chats so to me it was worth riding with him.
Do It!!grzy
Aug 22, 2002 1:15 PM
Or else fill his tubes with water for his next solo ride. When he starts into his monologue you can all start to noticably snicker. Ultimately you're dealing with a small and insecure person - might as well have some fun with it. Sure it's a bit on the cruel side, but it's annoying to put up with the BS also. Of course you could just straight up call his bluff and ask him why he can'tever hang with the group, but we know he'd use his "grueling" solo performance as an excuse. Guess he's never heard the phrase "Put up or shut up."
Just ignorance?Kristin
Aug 22, 2002 1:23 PM
Last year I told a certain rider on this board that I'd achieved 24-25 MPH. Of course, he was all nervous about riding with me--obviously I was a stellar cyclist. Really what I meant was that I had reached and sustained 24 MPH for .75 miles on a 1% decline. I just didn't know how to say it that way. So simply stated that I did 24-25 MPH. It wasn't really a lie.

Regarding averages. Don't you think it sucks that we always start with a zero MPH average. I have to keep up 20+ MPH for while before my average gets to 15 MPH. SUCK!
I've thought the same thing...Scot_Gore
Aug 22, 2002 2:22 PM
Everytime I see one of those posts with high average speeds like, I wonder. Are they getting a running start...not turning the computer on until the reach cruising velocity and turning the computer off prior to stops and breaks ? I have the same experience as you, There's alot of ride time spent watching my avg. speed climb up to approach my cruising speed and also watch it whither (sp) away at stop lights or even turns. But like someone else said above, it's the same thing as the size of that fish that got away.
Autostart computer?fracisco
Aug 22, 2002 2:11 PM
Once I flipped my computer to 'autostart' mode, my averages went up, but a 19.5 mph average over 35 miles solo is FAST. I can see where you have a bit of fun when he joins your group for some riding.

My only comparison is our Tuesday/Thursday morning group rides where I cover 28 miles door to door, usually average 19.5 - 20 mph, and have about 10 - 12 of those miles be warm up/cool down easy riding. I'm pretty tired after all of that work, I'm hanging on the back (if I make it to the final sprint), and I know I have a ways to go because I don't yet have the endurance to go hard the entire time once the group starts rolling (I like getting red lights near the end). So a 19.5 mph average over 35 miles...wow, that guy is strong.
What about the wind direction?TypeOne
Aug 22, 2002 2:54 PM
The X factor in all of this is the wind direction and speed. I think many people on RbR could sustain a 19.5 mph solo effort for 35 miles in one direction with a decent tailwind.
Maybe the guy is leaving that part out. 'Course, if he turned around to come home he might average closer to 14 mph with the wind in his face.
One day...Leisure
Aug 23, 2002 3:06 AM
I'll tell a really good story about one guy I used to ride with.

But I'll wait for when I know people won't have to scroll like nuts to read it.