RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


custom paint?...and, report on purchase from chucksbikes.com(14 posts)

custom paint?...and, report on purchase from chucksbikes.comJS Haiku Shop
Aug 22, 2002 5:47 AM
became aware of these schweet frames from chucksbikes.com through a post on the mtbr ss forum:

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef638ef

wonderdog and i just bought the same frames from chuck (www.chucksbikes.com) for 45 clams apiece plus shipping (70 clams, total). tha dog's is a 60 cm, mine is a 57 cm. tha dog is opting for gears and a classic paint job, whereas i'm going the ss route, with tensioner, and bullhorn bars.

the review: e-mailed chuck with a few questions, then sent him my contact/shipping info, called him on the phazzone and charged it. bike arrived less than 5 business days later via UPS (i think it was UPS). there are a few scratches on the frame, the decal on the seattube appears to have been scratched at (on purpose) but not totally removed, and there is a light film of rust inside the head and seat tubes. overall, a good deal for $70. with a little elbow grease and frame saver, it'll be good to go. chain hanger, pump peg, and pseudo-Ti look. ;) i'd do bidness with chuck again.

here's my question: i'd like to get a kickin' full-frame flame-job and a headshot of Yoda (honor him i must) where the badge would go. what are my paint options, and how much am i looking at spending? any recommended painters? is airbrushing an alternative? if so, what about a protective coating over the airbrush job?

i'm in southwest tennessee if that makes a difference. i'm also thinking there might be a harley customizing shop 'round here that can hook me up with a custom painter. just a shot in the dark, tho.

TIA!

J
http://spectrumpowderworks.com/spwfaq.htmJohnG
Aug 22, 2002 6:01 AM
re: custom paint?tarwheel
Aug 22, 2002 6:02 AM
I looked into custom paint shops earlier this year, and Air Glow outside Atlanta had some of the best prices for quality work. Check their website (www.airglowpainting.com) for photos of their work. I was impressed. Another option is www.spectrumpowderworks.com, if you want powder coated paint.
Why bother to pay $200 to paint a $45 frame? nmelviento
Aug 22, 2002 6:19 AM
what difference does it make?wonderdog
Aug 22, 2002 6:41 AM

As long as you like what you're riding, does it matter how much it cost? What's J gonna do....buy a $2000 litespeed frame and put a flame paint job on it? Seems to me like a blank $45 frame is the perfect opportunity for custom paint. my .$02.

The Dog

I suppose people are free to spend their money the way they likeelviento
Aug 22, 2002 9:28 AM
but if I were the guy, I wouldn't do it. A $45 frame with a $200 paintjob is not a $245 frame. Same reason why a Huffy with Record 10 won't be a top shelf bike.
thanks for your input. nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 22, 2002 9:37 AM
dittowonderdog
Aug 22, 2002 6:38 AM

Just wanted to get the word out that chuck at chucksbikes.com is a good person to do business with. my experience was the same as J's. Now, I have this nice frame sitting in my apt staring at me. It's a blank canvas!

I don't know about flames....Gregory Taylor
Aug 22, 2002 9:53 AM
...but you could do some neat things yourself cheaply with rattle-can aerosol paints and some masking tape. I saw a very neat, very simple tri-color design patterned after the Belgian flag (black, yellow, red) recently.

I looked into flames when I bought my first Dean -- Dean wanted about $150 (I think) for the flames.
re: custom paint?...and, report on purchase from chucksbikes.comBike Fool
Aug 22, 2002 10:19 AM
Hey, JS, check out Simonetti in CA. http://www.simocycles.com/html/frames.html
no pics. seems they're under construction. nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 22, 2002 10:34 AM
re: custom paint?...and, report on purchase from chucksbikes.comLC
Aug 22, 2002 12:27 PM
That's a sweet deal. What does top tube on the 57cm frame measure(c-c)?
...top tube...JS Haiku Shop
Aug 23, 2002 4:39 AM
I think it's just under 57 cm, but i'll check at lunch and reply back this afternoon.
...top tube...LC
Aug 23, 2002 8:47 PM
Thanks for checking, but I need about 55 cm so the search continues.