RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone doing Mt. Washington Hill Climb?(10 posts)

Anyone doing Mt. Washington Hill Climb?rtyszko
Aug 21, 2002 1:16 PM
If so, perhaps we can share a few stories after the race. Let me know.

Bob Tyszko
Couldn't get a loan for the entry fee. ;-0grzy
Aug 21, 2002 2:26 PM
Honestly can't understand the East Coast mentality - and I grew up there. Out west we have all sorts of twisted heinous mountain climbs and gee whiz they let you climb them on a bike whenever you want! I find it increadible that you have to cough up a huge entry fee to climb this road in a race on a bike or go through the hurdle of having to sign up for the one practice day under the guise that you're training for the race. Like Mt. Washington is actually something that special. It's not other than being the highest paved point in New England that you can't normally ride on a bike. Gotta love those bumber stickers on rusty sh!tboxes driven by fat people claiming "This car climbed Mt. Washington". I checked out the Mt. Washington Century figuring that surely this would be a legitimate way to ride it, but nope, it only takes you around, not up.

Frankly I think that cyclists should NOT participate in the event in protest. Sure, many will say that we should participate to show that we can do it and it's really OK. But we're playing by their stupid rules and paying a pretty stiff fee to do it. It's like saying to the orgainizers "Gee thanks so much for taking my money, may I kiss you butt now? It's a most beautiful butt."
I'll be there.firstrax
Aug 21, 2002 3:09 PM
I'll be there.rtyszko
Aug 21, 2002 3:18 PM
If you need a ride back down, the gal friend will be driving the SUV up so there's room for a few.

Bob Tyszko
thanks for the offerfirstrax
Aug 21, 2002 5:09 PM
Got a ride. But thanks for the offer. My girlfriend will be at the top to bring me down. She will be taking pictures of all the racers as they go up the final 22%. When a see a pregnant chick with a camera, smile that's her. My son will be video tapping everyone, check the tin mountain forum after the race for details on where to down load.
thanks for the offerbic
Aug 21, 2002 7:44 PM
"When a see a pregnant chick with a camera, smile that's her. My son will be video tapping everyone"

Gees, I don't think I want to know how that will look. :)
The fee is justifiedbcm119
Aug 21, 2002 3:33 PM
The fee goes toward the Tin Mountain Conservation Center, which is an environmental education/conservation organization that teaches kids about the environment. The fee effectively is a donation to help promote environmental protection in the best way possible- teaching our kids to appreciate the outdoors. It is even tax deductible as a charity donation if you are not in the "top notch" category.

As for Mt. Washington not being anything special, thats simply one opinion. I grew up back east and now live in California, and I still think New England is the most beautiful place in the country. Sure, the mountains are higher out west, and theres more open space. But the people are moving west and building parking lots as fast as they can, and without programs like the Tin Mountain Conservation center, nobodys going to care in 50 years.

If you want to talk about annoying road closures, try getting anywhere out west when its snowing. They'll make you put chains on if theres 2" of snow on the road. And if you don't have them- hey, how convenient, they're selling them right by the road block for $45.
right on... entry fee. 8-0cyclopathic
Aug 21, 2002 4:28 PM
conservation shmonservation 200$ is a rip off. If they need money there's enough people to send 20$ donation.

With respect to East coast vs West, yeah hills aren't that high on east; still some of them hard to climb. Next time you go Syracuse try Case hill real assbiter, and it is almost a mile lower then Denver.
600 people every year disagreefirstrax
Aug 21, 2002 5:31 PM
If you don't like the price that's fine. Its your opinion and your are welcome to it. Have you ever ridden it?
Not Special? Its not just the grade its also the weather. I drive it, ride it, hike it and snowboard it. To me and many others its special. Where else can you see 3 other states,one other country and the ocean from one spot.

Here's how it compares to a more famous climb. Not special?
Couldn't get a loan for the entry fee. ;-0urwhaturide
Aug 21, 2002 6:03 PM
Man oh man .... all I can say about that initial rant is that it's just another example of the the man trying to keep you down brother .... and just because you are paranoid doesn't mean everyone isn't out to get you.
Really as long as the road goes up, all us crazies are going to try and ride up it.
Love that Alpe graphic ..... peace