RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Watching mountain bike racing is so boring!(18 posts)

Watching mountain bike racing is so boring!Fignons_ponytail
Aug 21, 2002 4:57 AM
I watched some of the mtb races that OLN was broadcasting over the weekend. So boring. I enjoy riding/racing both road and mountain bikes equally, I love watching the TDF coverage (even when Lance is clearly dominating), but watching the mtb races is like watching the grass grow! Absolutely zero tactics involved...oh wait, no, there is the initial sprint from the line to get position. The finishes are pathetic, with riders trickling in one by one. I'm glad OLN is airing so much cycling related events, but from now on I will be sure to skip the mtb races.
re: Watching mountain bike racing is so boring!pa rider
Aug 21, 2002 5:26 AM
I would have to agre with you. Back in the early 90's, when John Tomac was national champ, ESPN would do the broadcasting. Ned Overend and Tinker would keep the race close, so the thrill was there for the broadcasting.

I think the woods and root shots kept in check with how hard the courses were for the riders. I saw Snowshoe race last thursday night and wasn't too thrilled with the woman race coverage.

I went to a few national races and 1997 seven springs was the last one I attended. The downhill races seem more fun to watch live, not on TV. You at least get into the woods and watch them fly through the rock gardens.

Pro MTB racers are babies. They cry about alot of courses that get real technical. At seven spring, in 1997, they had the rocky section move for the pro cross county, but the expert had to race the original course.

That's why the ameriican pro's don't do too well racing world cup events overseas. You notice we never won a world championship race, iunless it was in vail or durango colorado.

When I attended that race, in 1997 at seven spring, the pro downhillers raced the worst course we had on the east coast for technical. Shawn Palmer could only say f%*k the whole way downhill. If you only crashed three times you had a good run. That's why I liked watching the downhill race.

If you want to watch some cool riding than watch extreme X or trails races. Hans Ray used to be cool to watch at events, but I think trails isn't that big anymore.

Just my 2 cents

Emory
totally obliviousk2biker
Aug 21, 2002 6:50 AM
My friends, it is clear to see that you have no appreciation for the sport of mtn biking. I used to think road racing was a crock until I threw a leg over the saddle of a road bike that I built up from the frame. When was the last time YOU were on a mtn bike? When was the last time you felt the excitement of wind and branches rushing by your head as you body check a tree that was in the way?

Why do the American mtn bike pro's get beat regularly? Simple: Euro-roadies turned mtn bikers. Your top pro Euro mtn bikers have all paid their dues as Cat 2 / 3 roadies but for whatever reason see that they may not make in the Cat 1 or have a shot at a world title or grand tour. SO, they grab a mtn bike. Congrats for them! I'm stoked to see the competition. Do you remember seeing Cadel Evans and Miguel Martinez in the TDF this year? Here's a little insight.... they were both roadies, turned to mtn biking, kicked A#@ then went back to the road. Guess what? They're still kicking A#@!!

Ever heard an interview with Lance about his mtn biking experience right after his first TDF victory? Check out this months issue of Mountain Bike mag for George Hincapie's take on mtn biking.

You want cry babies? Listen to a group of roadies sometime. The groups I ride with whine more than anyone I know about the dumbest things. Shut up and ride!! Remember the little kid in you wanting to get out. Appease him for a change. Go borrow a friend's mtn bike and feel the burn in your thighs on a climb and the rush of a 3' terrace drop on a downhill switchback at 20 mph. Then look up and catch the sunset through the trees as you sprint towards the parking lot to make it home before dark.

Shut up and ride.
You missed the point...pa rider
Aug 21, 2002 9:30 AM
I've been racing MTB when you had pimples on your face. I race 5 to 10 races a year and been doing this for over 10 years. At least I do some 3 to 4 hour races that are 20+ mile race. I only race sport, not expert; which you must be. Sorry I don't keep up with everybody in the sport because I don't agree with norba.

The racers you mention (Cadel Evans and Miguel Martinez) aren't american to make my point. They aren't the ones bitching at the promoter about the course. Ever wonder why the pro's don't like to do Mt snow or snowshoe. I had a racer this weekend who informed me that the pro's didn't even do the same hard course as them (expert, and sport racer), in West virginia snowshoe, because they didn't like all the roots and rocks.

Your mountain bike riders and lower level racers look at these courses as a challege, but the pro racer looks at it as a job. That's why the other nations do better than us when we race on non US world cup races.

I know roades bitch, but on a mtb level, the pro's feel they can get more their way than any other racer. I thought I heard some winers at our local races, but when you go to a NORBA national race its worst. Ride the damn course that's what you get paid for is my opinion.

Some of us get turned off by the pro racers and rather ride our bikes. I rather do any fat tire festival anyday over a mtb race. Why? Because I raced for 10 years and the fun part isn't there at races. We don't get half the people we use to get for races.

I hope you feel your a man paying that $45+ NORBA license and paying some $30 to $60 entry fee to race at lake Tahoe. I'll stick to these $20 to $25 non norba races if I want to race.

My bitching over.
My point to the poster was OLN doesn't present mountain bike races like the way ESPN did in the early 90's.
Not that youngk2biker
Aug 21, 2002 11:18 AM
"when I had pimples" eh? I've been riding for about 12 years myself and racing local races from WI to GA for 7. I am NOT a NORBA member anymore because I have similar feelings as you. I do race state championship races and am embarking on 12 and 24 hour races this year. I am not an expert class racer, I race sport as well. I ride because I love the sport. I love challenging singletrack with rock gardens and roots because my 5" travel bike sucks it up and keeps going without a problem.

Although I don't agree with NORBA, I still follow the sport because I love the sport...both on and off road.

Admittedly, I've seen some road races that were commentated by guys other than Phil and Paul and they were boring. Were it for those 2 guys, the grand tours would put an insomniac to bed. OLN may not do the best job, but at least were getting airplay. I can hit mute and crank up some Mozart and enjoy it just as much.

Why the hell aren't we riding? (oh yea, work) HAPPY TRAILS my friend!
I'll admit...pa rider
Aug 21, 2002 12:38 PM
I rather see Garcia do the coverage than any of the other guys. I herre she use to do the naked crit. At least OLN gives air coverage during the day, not at 3am like espn use to broadcast.

Did you ever get over to Atlanta to see the national races? Now that some technical riding.

Emory

P.S I just got a jekyll becuase those full suspension cross bikes don't give enough rebound for me. Hope you get another 24 hour race in before the end of season.
Hold on now...Fignons_ponytail
Aug 21, 2002 12:20 PM
Hold on now... I'm NOT bashing mountain biking as a sport. When was I last on my mountain bike, uh yesterday. Riding when I had pimples on my face, doubt it. I was racing MTB's and road bikes long before the first suspension forks were introduced. You missed my point. I love riding/racing my mountain bike. It's just that because absolutely no tactics or intelligence are required to race a mountain bike, it makes for boring coverage. Mountain biking is basically hammer from the gun. Period. I like that a few times a week, which is why I ride my mountain bike. That said, I won't waste my time and watch any more mtb races because they are so freakin' boring.
They're only fun to watch......pa rider
Aug 21, 2002 1:00 PM
If the point leaders are close and the coverage is good. John Tomac use to break seatpost, chains, front derailers and still work his way back to the front to win back in 1991 and 1992. This made the race seem exciting for me.

I watched the Snowshoe race last thursday (OLN was replaying it) and the trek racer was leading the race had to adjust his seatpost. He stopped and fix it, with five guys passing him. He then proceeded to pass everybody to win the race (OLN didn't show this part). The race coverage was like 10 minutes.

In the 90's you would see one hour race coverage for both men and women. They have some short track racing now, which I would get bored if I had to race it (15 laps).

Now downhilling has tactics because you have to preride the course to see every angle and obstacle to get the best time. Every racer has his day in those events and sometimes the best rider doesn't always win.

Your right there isn't any team work in the race because of the rules. One guy for trek broke his chain this year and his teammate drop his chain tool as he rode by him. The Trek rider fixed his chain and won. Since nobody protested, except for the annoucer, he was allowed to keep the win. Norba rule is no outside help.

Just my 2 cents.

Emory

P.S. I start racing in 1991 with a 2.3 ritchey tire for my first front shock. Boy did those tires bounce. Thank god Rockshox started in 1992. Too bad they have been bought out now.
Ideas to make it more exciting.mr_spin
Aug 21, 2002 6:44 AM
I wonder if these races really are as boring as they appear to be, or if that is the result of reducing a 2 hour race to 10 minutes plus commercials. I think they are boring on their own, and the TV filtering just makes it worse.

What would make it more exciting is if they had minature golf style obstacles. Ride through the vanes of a moving windmill. Riding over the log bridge or take the long way around. Big swinging poles.

The UCI came up with new rules a few years ago to ensure that racing bikes look like the bikes people actually buy. Why not apply this same idea to MTB racing? Race the bikes in the same conditions as most people actually ride them. Every race should have an "bike path" section where the riders have to negotiate a path filled with roller bladers, dogs off leash, dogs on 40-foot leashes, stroller moms, clueless people moving randomly, and idiot bikers. Maybe even be a guy riding no hands and shadow boxing. Colliding with anyone on the bike path results in a DQ. Riders must call out "on your left" or face DQ.
Boring! two words: water cannon! -nmSnowBlind
Aug 21, 2002 6:46 AM
Ideas to make it more exciting.Sintesi
Aug 21, 2002 7:00 AM
This is a great idea. Some more suggestions:

Jumps over a mudpit filled with starving crocodiles.

Special "avalanche" section.

Rabid dogs set loose on course.

"Gauntlet of Death" lined with spectators holding baseball bats.

landmines.
XC on TV is boring, but DH and 4Cross can be fun sometimesTig
Aug 21, 2002 7:30 AM
First I have to say that I LOVE racing XC MTB. It is something that can only be enjoyed from a 1st person point of view though. Watching XC or a criterium on TV can get really boring. At least a crit or short circuit race is fun when seen in person!

DH and 4Cross can even get old after watching a few runs, but at least it can get exciting (no, not just the crashes).

It can also depend on the announcers. Some could put you to sleep no matter what's going on. If the pro's had to ride on open roads like us amateurs do, it could spice things up a little!
re: Watching mountain bike racing is so boring!divve
Aug 21, 2002 7:46 AM
I don't think XC racing is inherently boring. In my opinion it has all to do with the general quality of the contenders field and the method of reporting and camera work. I watched cyclocross in the winter on Belgium TV. It's very exciting and entertaining. If they can make that work surely it would be possible for XC as well.
There's always golf to make it look exciting!! -nmgrzy
Aug 21, 2002 7:53 AM
It's all about perspectiveBreakfast
Aug 21, 2002 8:10 AM
It would be better if MTB racing was filmed with the same regard to cameras and angles that the TdF uses.

Helicopter shots, and motorcycle cameras would improve coverage.
re: it's all about $$$cyclopathic
Aug 21, 2002 8:51 AM
to make a good show out of XC race would require $$$ which OLN isn't gonna waste. Comparing to road race coverage it'll take way more effort, talk about getting cameras in woods. If TdF stages had only 3-4 static cameras at start and finish, no motorcycles/copters, do you think you'd watch it?

I wish they'd use miniature cameras attached to handlebars or something, look how they can make inherently boring NASCAR look with live shots.

Agree mnb racing is less about tactics and more about handling and passing; either is improbable to make the cut.
Moto CamerasW6UV
Aug 21, 2002 10:14 AM
The race OLN covered last Thursday did have moto coverage by a guy on a dirt bike with a camera.
re: it's all about $$$k2biker
Aug 21, 2002 11:23 AM
You think the camara's following the TDF are OLN's? Wrong, try again. It's French TV and OLN buys the rights to broadcast it.

XC racing is difficult to get with helo shots but it would help with the DH and 4-cross. I have old video from Snow Summit and Mammoth races that had a helo cam and it was good stuff, minus Peter Graves.

What if all pitched a buck or three to help OLN have better coverage? Would you do it?