RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


two contrasting styles...(12 posts)

two contrasting styles...Marcocyclo
Aug 20, 2002 9:21 AM
While in my car for lunch today I passed what looked to be a very fit gal cranking it down the road wearing a tight fitting mid-cut type jersy and matching shorts, with blonde hair flowing from under the helmet. As I pass with anticipation, she becomes a very fit HE with shaved legs ..darnit!

Next rider today was in more normal team jersy and shorts, bearded, hairy, but with his belly almost riding on the top tube...

marco
I hate those androgenous types...makes life confusing. nmeschelon
Aug 20, 2002 9:50 AM
There's a dude here who rides the local MUT...Gregory Taylor
Aug 20, 2002 10:00 AM
...sans shirt. This gentleman has very long (almost middle of the back) flowing brown hair, and rides a rigid mountain bike. From the back, perched up on that upright mountain bike, he looks decidedly feminine. More than once I've picked up my pace to come around and see if we really did have the rebirth of Lady Godiva out on the bike trail. It's a nasty shock when Lady Godiva turns into Lord Gus, complete with mustache and beard.
Hey, chicks with d**s...that's how some rationalize it! nmeschelon
Aug 20, 2002 10:05 AM
guys, this thread is a little ouf ot lineDougSloan
Aug 20, 2002 10:27 AM
Why is this thread here? What's the point, other than to be a little juvenile?

I hate being seen as the censor, and I'm certainly not suggesting censorship take place, but a decent sense of propriety might be in order. I think this topic is a bit over the line. Of course, that's just my opinion. I could be wrong.

Doug
Hey Doug....ClydeTri
Aug 20, 2002 12:10 PM
wrong side of the bed this morning? He didnt slander,libel or use profane language, no porno pictures posted...just recanting a recent riding experience..... LIGHTEN UP!
guys, this thread is a little ouf ot lineMarcocyclo
Aug 20, 2002 12:27 PM
my first lead post here and i am out of line... please accept my apology.

i will resist any further "juvenile" posts and attempt to be serious and not poke fun at other's riding attire, shapes and other's gender bending styles. There was no point in my post except i passed two very differnet riders at lunch the "freddie type" and the really fast tri-athletic attired girl that was really a guy..just funny at the time.

i really need to ride,
marco
I think Doug was refering to my chicks with **** post. nmeschelon
Aug 20, 2002 12:59 PM
more how it developedDougSloan
Aug 20, 2002 1:02 PM
Sorry to be a crank. That last post above mine was what prompted me, the "chicks with..."

Doug
For whatever it's worth,Spoke Wrench
Aug 20, 2002 1:13 PM
I agree with Doug. There wasn't anything in any of the posts that offended me, but the development was clearly running downhill. I'm glad that you all cut it off when you did.
Dittojtolleson
Aug 20, 2002 1:58 PM
the phrased used is tired and obnoxious, and Doug's reasonably-worded request for everyone to grow up seems fair to me.

Especially in light of the numerous attacks on, um, butch women in recent threads, the "c with d" phrase just struck me as more buried anti-gay something... or at least risks feeding into it.

I was going to remain quiet lest I appear thin skinned, but I did want to weigh in and say that Doug is not alone in his sentiment.
You're right; your opinion is wrong. I thought you were leaving?128
Aug 20, 2002 1:11 PM
Wasn't it you who said the board was tired and below your standards and you were leaving for greener pastures?
I'm tellin' Gregg you broke your word!