RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Take A Look Review(15 posts)

Take A Look ReviewPatM
Aug 19, 2002 7:03 AM
After reading much of the debate on this board about mirrors I decided to give one a try. I wanted to try the take a look, but happened to be ordering something from performance and decided to try what looked to be the same from them
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=295
I would not recomend this product to anybody ! Constant adjustment, limited view, just plain sucks ! I found that REI sells the take a look and ordered it from them and could not be more happy with the mirror. Much better view, and easily adjustable. Tried it for the first time last Friday, and on my weekend rides 62 and 40 miles. Both weekend rides I switched glasses and was back on the road in less than 1 minute. Although I don't want to start another debate about mirrors, if your in the market for one don't waste your time with the copy cat versions get the original one, well worth the $15, best cycling purchase I have made in a long time.
http://www.rei.com/online/store/ProductDisplay?storeId=8000&catalogId=40000008000&productId=1842331&parent_category_rn=4500871
re: Take A Look Reviewgregario
Aug 19, 2002 7:24 AM
I don't really want to open this can of worms again but I was thinking about this debate over the weekend while riding the tandem. I just cannot for the life of me understand why anyone would reject mirrors out of hand. I figure there are three types of people when it comes to mirrors: 1. Those that have never thought about using them and are just unaware, 2. Those that tried them and wondered how they ever got along without them and 3. Those that won't use them because they are afraid of looking like a "Fred".

You're right, the Third Eye mirror is worthless. I can't believe they still make it. It's junk. Maybe that's the one that people try and think all mirrors are like that.

I value my mirror, especially on the tandem where I'm responsible for two lives, not just mine.
right onDougSloan
Aug 19, 2002 7:51 AM
The Take a Look is the only way to go. I rejected mirrors as useless when I tried others, too.

A couple more mirror points:

1. Fred factor: some of the strongest, most experienced riders in the history of this country use them; Seana Hogan, the women's transcontinental record holder, uses one; there are lots of others.

2. I don't believe this factor has been discussed here before, but a couple rides last week reminded me of it; when a woman rider is drafting you, guess how you can discreetly, but fully, check them out? Want to know how to make a ride go by much more quickly? -- stare at cleavage while motoring along! With the Take a Look, you can see behind you while keeping you eyes on what's ahead, too. You guys not using mirrors are missing out.

Doug
you convinced me...i'm buying a mirror today! :) (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 19, 2002 8:02 AM
And this is supposed to be a *safety* feature?! :) (nm)Stampertje
Aug 19, 2002 10:30 AM
sex sells; safety follows :-) nmDougSloan
Aug 19, 2002 12:29 PM
re: Take A Look ReviewLC
Aug 19, 2002 7:33 AM
If you like that one, try this one!

http://www.westfleet.com/mirrors/grote-26021-5.html
Mirrors...DINOSAUR
Aug 19, 2002 8:30 AM
I felt the same way about mirrors and was reluctant to use one until I stumbled on the Take-A-Look. Funny, the same guys we reject the idea of using a mirror have no qualms about shaving their legs and getting funny looks in while out in public view off of their bikes.

One of the first thing I noticed about using a mirror is how different the road looks behind me. It's sort of neat to see where you have been instead of where you are going.

I noticed also that my average speed has increased by .2MPH. I'm not forced to slow down to look behind me while descending and turning left at a intersection. Nice also when you are zipping along and you can dodge the potholes without first glancing to see what is behind you.
you sure that wasn't a .3 MPH increase?ColnagoFE
Aug 19, 2002 9:01 AM
just kiddin ya. i get your point.
Eyeglass or helmet mount?Spoke Wrench
Aug 19, 2002 11:56 AM
I really think I'd feel safer with a mirror, but have never found one that I was satisfied with. I've had a lot of difficulty focusing on the eyeglass morrors that I have tried. Has anybody else had that problem? Did you just get over it or did you find a way around it?
Eyeglass mount...DINOSAUR
Aug 19, 2002 1:37 PM
This is the third mirror I have tried, Take-A-Look eyeglass mount. It attaches to your helment or riding glasses. They are rectangle shaped that offer a wide view and can be easily adjusted while you are riding. I purchased mine at a REI store, but you can buy them over the internet at Colorado Cyclist (around $15.00)..I used to dread that feeling of having a logging or concrete truck coming up behind me on a narrow mountain road, now I can see them and if possible I pick a spot to pull over and let them go by me...I wouldn't ride without one...
Thanks, I'll give one a try. (nm)Spoke Wrench
Aug 19, 2002 2:04 PM
FocusDCP
Aug 19, 2002 3:17 PM
It took me a bit longer than most (apparently) to get the Take A Look mirror to work well. I almost threw it away thinking I could never see anything in it and wishing I could get it in a different position. After about a month's worth of messing with it, I came to peace with what I could see and how to position it.

Moral of the story is that you might have to struggle a bit with it, but it is worth it.
Take a look will mount to your helmetLone Gunman
Aug 19, 2002 4:42 PM
And not in the geeky mount to the outside of your helmet style. I started using a mirror this season and was using it on my Bolle glasses. The mirror began cracking the nylon on the temple, the glasses were not fitting like they had before and were not staying in position on my face. From reviewing the Take a look website I found out you can mount it to your helmet and saw a brief description of how to do it. I removed a piece of the velcro attacment system in the temple area of the helmet, attached the mirror with some dark duct tape, reattached the velcro to the tape and tried it. I tested the mirror position a few times before attaching it to make sure it was usable and discovered that the pressure of my head pushing against the mirror helps to keep it and the adhesion in place. And my glasses fit perfect again.
Whatever happened to the Reevu?Me Dot Org
Aug 19, 2002 10:12 AM
First of all, thanks for the post. I tried one of the performance mirrors and I could never get a good view. I'll try the REI one.

The Reevu is a helmet with an intgrated review mirror. Seems like a great idea, but I've never seen a consumer review of one.

Does anyone know anyone who has tried one of these?

http://www.reevu.com/product_design.htm#rear