RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Has anyone used the Wheels Mfg. 9 speed cassette for Campy?(12 posts)

Has anyone used the Wheels Mfg. 9 speed cassette for Campy?High Gear
Aug 16, 2002 12:24 PM
I'm thinking about using my Shimano (Velomax) wheels with my Campy 9 speed. It shifts now but some times I have problems getting into certain gears and have to shift past then come back down on it. The Wheels Mfg. cassette should make shifting better. Anyone have any experience with them?
10 spdSnyderman
Aug 16, 2002 1:01 PM
I'm using the 10 speed cassette with my Campy Chorus group without any problems.
not the 9 but...lonefrontranger
Aug 16, 2002 1:43 PM
We have a whole stable of wheels / bikes running Campy 10 with the Wheels cassettes in our household. They shift wonderfully. IMO you can't go wrong by trying.
10 speed, shifts great but sure is wobbly...n.m.koala
Aug 16, 2002 2:23 PM
yo! lonefrontranger!!seyboro
Aug 16, 2002 6:00 PM
I'm back with some news on the Chris King hub compatiblity issue. (BTW, if anyone has an opinion on this, please pipe in!!) CK says they are waiting on customer feedback from use of the Wheel 10 speed cassette and acknowledge that there might be a problem with the lowest gear being too close to the spokes. Wheelsmith emailed back saying that they do not feel that their stuff is compatible at all, citing CK hub design (rather vague, I thought). I am waiting on Sheldon Brown's opinion. Lastly, I will try to talk a friend into trying my CK wheel with his 10-speed Wheel Mfg. and see what the deal is. Just thought I'd keep you posted, thanks again for your help earlier...
hmmmlonefrontranger
Aug 17, 2002 7:20 PM
Yeah, let me know what you find out. After I posted the link, I went back and saw where Wheels disallows the CK stuff. D'oh!

FWIW, if I don't shim my Zipp wheels correctly, the cassette will hit the spoke heads. Someone originally told me that Wheels "weren't compatible" with Zipps, but I bet it was just that they weren't patient enough during the initial shimming process, 'cos I've not seen anywhere on Wheels or Zipp's user info where they indicate incompatibility.

Fortunately Wheels includes a bunch of shims of various widths in their packet. Sometimes it takes quite a bit of fiddling to get the right combo of shims to allow the cassette to turn freely without hitting the spokes, but also be able to lock down the lockring AND keep the outer (11 or 12) cog seated on the end of the cassette body. The first time I set up my Zipps, it probably took me a half hour of putting on shims, putting on the cassette, spacers, tightening the lockring, finding out it didn't work, taking the whole darn thing apart, changing the shim config, yadda yadda. Once I got it railed though, I was set. If I ever take the cassette off, I just slip a nice fat rubber band over the cassette body to keep all the shims in place - so I don't have to go through that process again.

Good luck. I bet Sheldon Brown has an answer. Heck, SB will probably tell you to borrow a riveting punch and save your cash by building your own.
tried the 10s on a demo KsyriumColnagoFE
Aug 16, 2002 2:34 PM
Didn't seem to shift as well as the Campy cassette, but it worked.
mine shifts as least as well as my campy.n.m.koala
Aug 16, 2002 3:47 PM
Same combination hereDMoore
Aug 16, 2002 4:12 PM
I have a Wheels Mfg. 9 speed accelerator cassette on my Velomax Orion sewup wheels. The cogs work just fine. I also use the same bike with two other wheelsets: one is a Record hub/record cogs wheel, the other is Zipp wheel with record all-Ti cogs. The shifting feels exactly the same regardless of wheelset.

The only possible negative with the Accelerator cassette is weight - the all steel Ultegra cogs weigh a lot more than the Steel/Ti or all-Ti cogs on the campy cogsets. OTOH, that probably means the Accelerator cassette will last longer than either of the Records. But in terms of shifting performance, I think they're indistinguishable.
What chain are you using with the 9 speed Wheels cassette?High Gear
Aug 16, 2002 5:29 PM
I think this may have a impact on shifting performance too.
What chain are you using with the 9 speed Wheels cassette?DMoore
Aug 17, 2002 6:26 AM
Record-9 chain on my bike. I suspect the best possible shifting might well be with a Shimano chain, since the Accelerator cogs are modified Shimano. But in my experience the Record chain shifts just fine.
Thanks All ! (NM)High Gear
Aug 17, 2002 7:40 AM