RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Purchase question Used or New?(14 posts)

Purchase question Used or New?config
Aug 16, 2002 12:12 PM
I'm a newbie here and am planning on spending approx $1,400 on a road bike. I'm contemplating buying a used Kestrel 200SCi off the classified section fitted with Campy Chorus components (not sure how old). I'm also just thinking to build up a bike starting with a 'Leader' frame (seems like a nice frame which their selling on eBay) and purchasing Ultegra or maybe even Dura-ace build kit to finish it off. Which would be a better purchase??? I hope you guys can help me decide. Please give a brief explaination whichever side your supporting. Thanks!
re: Purchase question Used or New?config
Aug 16, 2002 12:24 PM
BTW. The new frame I'm considering is a Leader LD-780R, aluminum frame w/ carbon seat stays (2.9lbs).
Why leader?filtersweep
Aug 16, 2002 1:26 PM
Just curious... I was looking into buying used. I saw a great bike until I found out all the Dura Ace was pre-Flight Deck. The guy took his old DA and stuck it on his frame when he purchased it. You need to be careful and find out exactly what you are buying.
hmm... probably neitheryeah right
Aug 16, 2002 12:26 PM
buying used is always a risk, but if you're opening up yourself to that possibilty, you can get a lot for $1400. I haven't seen a Leader frame in person, have you? However, the ride qualities of a bike are largely determined by the frame (*and wheels*), so I'd think twice before going the budget route on a frame.

if you go new, your money would be well spent on something like a cannondale caad5 (knowing nothing about your riding habits, or material preferences), or a quality steel frame and an ultegra kit. if you're on a tight budget, dura ace isn't worth the money, spend it on the frame and wheels.

used, is pandora's box. i've been burned, and i've done well. make sure it fits, and if you don't know your sizes well, steer clear. be careful on how many miles it's got, especially on the components, or else you may have to spend a ton on replacements. the kestrel is a nice bike, (i wouldn't pick it, but that's largely preference), but it doesn't sound like you know much about it. is the chorus 8,9 0r 10 speed for instance, and how old is it. imo, you could prbably do better for $1400 used, but that's an opinion based on my preferences. rembmer $ used = $35-50% new
I would agree with YH.MXL02
Aug 16, 2002 12:55 PM
If this is your first road bike, $1400 can buy you a pretty nice new bike, and unless you know what you are doing, you can get burned on a used bike. I usually recommend used for people who want to spend $800 or less on a bike, and then with the caveat that they should spend a lot of time at their LBS getting fitted and test riding different models to determine exactly what they want.
If I were you I would look for new, for instance, this one:
http://www.bikeswholesale.com/Detail.cfm?Categoryid=33&BrandID=11&ProductID=39&CFID=1437712&CFTOKEN=82864579
(I meant YR, sorry) nmMXL02
Aug 16, 2002 12:56 PM
agree aboveNo_sprint
Aug 16, 2002 1:09 PM
For that, especially this time of year, you can get yourself into a brand new, decent, full Ultegra without crap wheels. Get yourself a halfy halfy fit somewhere and then take your business to a superstore that's fully liquidating lots of rides in anticipation of the 2003 stuff that has already started rolling in. I've seen great deals at Supergo on Specialized, Lemond and Cervelo in particular.
re: Purchase question Used or New?fbg111
Aug 16, 2002 1:39 PM
I'm a noob too and went with the Giant TCR2 (after trying an OCR1 for a few weeks). $1299.00 with 105, you could probably upgrade it to Ultegra and stay in or near your price range. After a month of research, I think this is one of - if not the - best starter road racing bikes out there. Here's a review at a triathlon site:

http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/prodreview/tribikes/giant.html

And some good info on the Compact frame in general if you're interested (scroll down to legs' post):

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efb23b6
Why purchase used when you can get a new one?jose_Tex_mex
Aug 16, 2002 2:01 PM
Buying a used bike can be tough even for the best of us. Checking if the frame is out of alignment or drop outs are bent can be done with some success visually. However, how about cross threaded parts? Cranks that have been squeezed on too tight? Mushroomed headsets...
Check out this link
http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/02fuji/fuji_team_sale.htm
and have a look at the Ultegra equipped Team Fuji. If you are a newbie, this bike will absolutely do you for years to come. Plus, the $300 you save can be put into helmet, shoes, and pedals if need be.

Best of Luck
Wow, like minds, and allMel Erickson
Aug 16, 2002 2:06 PM
but I think it's more like we both read an earlier post.
Used or new?Mel Erickson
Aug 16, 2002 2:04 PM
The 64 thousand dollar question. I've bought many used bikes but I've been buying and riding bikes seriously for over 30 years. If I were a newbie today I would be hesitant to buy used without someone knowledgeable to hold my hand. Not saying you can't do your homework, learn the field and come up with a great buy that fits, etc. However I would still probably want to see and ride the bike, again if I were new at the game. I've bought several used bikes over the internet and they've all been as advertised and I've been satisfied. In fact, I've never been burned but others have. For $1,400 you can buy a great bike, one that would suit your needs for a long time. Take this one for instance, http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/02fuji/fuji_team_sale.htm
It's a good buy, very good components, good frame, nary a weak spec. It would do everything from crits to stage races, throw on some cushy rubber if it's too stiff for your taste. The only thing you don't know is how it fits. Pay a local bike shop for a fitting. I like this approach over trying out a bunch of bikes and then buying over the internet. It just seems more ethical. $1,400 will buy you a fine new bike, even from a LBS if you don't want to shop mail order because it's getting near to close out time.
Fuji or FELTakatdog
Aug 16, 2002 3:01 PM
I was in the same boat a little while back. There are some good deals on new Fujis right now but I would also look into Felts if I had stuck to my $1400 budget I would probably be riding a FELT right now. They have a lot of bang for the buck. Instead I spent a couple hundred more and built a Specialized M4 from Supergo with an ultegra Dura ace mix from Abicibikes.com. Have fun and remember when you do get one stop shopping its like computers when you get one something new is always going to roll out next week.

Ride On
Second partconfig
Aug 17, 2002 12:18 AM
Thanks for the responses. Now I'm really confused :) I'm a MTBer but over the past few months have been riding all roads. I would love to try a compact frame and see how it fits. I forgot to mention I'm also currently living in Italy (U.S. service member) and I guess the Italians don't believe in 'compacts' yet nor would they know what I'm talking about.
I'll definetely skip on my initial thoughts and re-think this whole thing again. I'll go back to one of the LBS here (they sure have a lot of those here) and see.
LEADER BIKESCORONADO FLYER
Aug 20, 2002 12:46 PM
WHY NOT JUST CHECK OUT THE REVIEWS HERE ON ROAD BIKE REVIEW. THIS WOULD ANSWER YOUR CONCERNS ABOUT LEADER BIKES. ALSO LEADER HAS PLEANTY OF EXCELENT FEEDBACK ON EBAY. YOU ARE ASKING THE WRONG PEOPLE. MOST HAVE NEVER EVEN SEEN A LEADER BIKE BEFORE. I HAVE. I OWN ONE AND I AM HAPPY I BOUGHT ONE. I AM WAITING TO POST A REVIEW THOUGH. I WANT TO BE RIDING IT FOR MORE THAN A YEAR FIRST.

IF YOU DO BUY ONE I WOULD RECOMEND YOU BUY AN ULTEGRA BUILD KIT TO GO ALONG WITH YOUR LEADER LD-780R. YOU CAN TRY SUPERGO ($699) OR JENSON FOR THE KIT. BUY THE FORK, SEAT POST, AND HEADSET FROM LEADER. YOU WILL SAVE MUCHO $$$$$$.

HOPE THIS HELPS YOU OUT.