RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Are there any good pedals out there? (Newbie question)(16 posts)

Are there any good pedals out there? (Newbie question)wb
Aug 15, 2002 5:32 PM
Hi all,
I'm looking to get rid of the shimano 515's that came stock on my trek and I'm having a hard time deciding what to go with next. With a limited selection at the LBS I'm looking for a good pedal online and honestly for every good review on a pedal system you can find twice as many bad ones. Looks squeak, the cleats wear or break, Shimanos won't release properly, the speedplays have a small platform, and Times are too expensive. See what I'm saying? Since I'm primarily looking for a larger platform than the spds I'm not really looking at the speedplays and I'm the type that would really be annoyed by a squeaking pedal so any other suggestions? The shimano dura ace pedals don't seem to have a large opinion either way so maybe that's a good thing. Any good arguments any one could provide would be helpful.

thanks,
Wayne
re: Are there any good pedals out there? (Newbie question)jromack
Aug 15, 2002 6:00 PM
My Looks don't squeak. They have 2000 miles on the cleats. I clean and lube them when I do my other bike maintenance.

All of the pedal systems you mentioned are actually quite good. It comes down to preference.

I'm a masher, I need Looks.
re: Looks for lookscyclopathic
Aug 15, 2002 7:08 PM
I like Looks for wide platform support but I'm ready to retire them and move on to speedplays or bebop. They creak when get a bit wet, cleats are not walk-friendly, slippery, not easy to get in (esp at night) and I keep pulling legs in sprints or on climbs. Cleats are not durable comparing to what you get out of bebops.
SpeedplayNessism
Aug 15, 2002 6:07 PM
The Speedplay pedals use a fairly large cleat which distributes the load accordingly. If you are still worried about the small pedal and use Sidi shoes, get some Time adapters. They are made of metal (magnesium I think) and the Speedplay cleat will bolt right up after you chuck the base layer. Great pedal system in my opinion.

Ed
Speedplay platformweiwentg
Aug 16, 2002 1:16 AM
if you have a stiff sole and/or a small foot, you should have no problems. ditto the eggbeaters. in fact, if you have both a road bike and an MTB, consider using only eggbeaters now that the road cleats are available.
personally, I like the float on Speedplays too much to use just eggbeaters.
Speedplay (Road vs. MTB)EricBH
Aug 16, 2002 3:14 AM
I've been using Speedplay Frogs (mtb) on my roadbike but, am getting really fed-up with the clicking on the up-pull down-pull on the pedal stoke. The cleats and metal part on the pedal wear so quickly they get sloppy in about 4 months. Parts are expensive........

Are the speedplay road pedals better? Is there a solid connection through the whole pedal stoke and does it stay that way?
Eggbeaters!js5280
Aug 15, 2002 7:54 PM
Okay they're don't have the "Uptight 'Lump of Coal into a Diamond' Roadie" seal of approval but 1) they are very light 2) they offer a a generous platform for power transfer 3) they are economical compared to most high-end pedal systems 4) you never have to worry about pedal position when clipping in unlike most one sided (and even two sided) pedals. If you're riding in traffic where there are traffic lights, I think these are probably the safest pedals on the road. The only possible disadvantage might be clearance (but I don't know this for certain), but unless you're riding a crit, that probably is even a consideration. I use them on both my road and mountain bike and have been very happy with them. Even Velo News sings their praises for both road and mtb use ( http://www.crankbrothers.com/products/eggbeater.htm# )
Yep, using them toocyclejim
Aug 15, 2002 8:50 PM
They are great on the road or off. The only reason I could imagine changing would be to get something more "road" ish, but that wouldnt make any sense!
Have you considered the new Time Impact?Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 15, 2002 9:37 PM
Most things in cycling are expensive. No real reason not too buy them though!
A vote for Impactsboneman
Aug 16, 2002 12:01 AM
I date back to caged pedals with strap and clips finally converting over to Look type pedals in the mid 80's.

Looks are dependable, widely used and give you a nice platform for comfort. Over the years they've also gotten lighter. I never got over how far my foot was from the spindle, compared to caged pedals, and switched over to Time Equipe's about 9 seasons ago.

Despite the limited number of shoes compatible with the TBT 4 bolt system, I liked the Equipes for their large platform and more importantly, for not having the cleat between the sole of the shoe and the spindle. Offset to this is the weight of the pedals and cleats themselves. Nonetheless I really like these pedals and have both steel and Ti axle versions both in the old and new body styles. They are durable, have user serviceable bearings (although I've always had this done by the mfr.), and are strong having survived a few rather dramatic meetings with the road.

The Time Impacts address most of the negatives of the old Equipes, ie weight and shoe compatability, without compromising on the sole to spindle distance. The platform still feels as big as the old pedals and the various float options are still available. I question the positioning of the release tension adjustment bolt, flush with the outside of the pedal, the exact location which will get ground by the road in an accident but you can't have everything. The new cleats are smaller and lighter but just as effective as the old cams. They've designed the cleat plate with two resin pods on either side of the rear cam thereby offering protection for the cam while making them easy to walk on (the resin material is not slippery). So far there's nothing I don't like about the pedal and will probably shift my daily rider over from Equipe's to Impacts.

As for Speedplay, never tried them as I don't need the float offered. The only other pedal I would consider would be the Dura Ace SPD-R's. Nice low profile platform, well made and very secure. So secure that they made a couple of changes to make ingress and egress easier in 2002.
If you're looking for a large platform, 3 options:Ray Sachs
Aug 16, 2002 4:49 AM
Most pedal systems are actually quite good - you just have to factor in the tradeoffs and decide what you prefer.

Look - large spindle to sole distance and some models tend to squeak. But the float is free, they can be relatively cheap and they just feel right to me. Get the cheap and light 206 with the plastic contact plate and it won't squeak. I ride two sets of these.

Time - expensive, but no squeak and very low spindle to sole distance. My only problem with these is that the float is against a spring that's always trying to bring you back to center. My knees don't like this with the ATACs and I can't image they would with the road pedals either. A lot of people don't mind this at all, though, so this might be a very good way to go if you can afford 'em.

Clips'n Straps - Old style, but under-rated. I have a set on one bike (MKS platform pedals with ALE clips and straps. I just did a 60 mile per day tour with these and had no problems at all. Reasonable "float" (ya just move yer foot), easy in and out, comfortable if you don't cinch the strap down too tight. And totally walkable.

I've used Speedplays and, despite the large cleat area, it still never felt like as stable a platform as the others. Great if you need that much float, but otherwise doesn't sound like it meets your criteria.

Good luck,

-Ray
shimanorob45
Aug 16, 2002 6:18 AM
the new shimano 6601s are great--light and you can pick up a pair for around 89$. The teflon coating makes them easy to clip out of--I had to tighten the tension. I've had Times (good, but expensive and self-centering, which can strain the knee), Looks (bad cleats). I picked up the shimanos along with the DMT chrono X shoes on closeout at Colorado cyclist and love that combination.
Large Platform?Ray Sachs
Aug 16, 2002 9:13 AM
I haven't tried any of the SPD-R pedals. I'd heard that the platform was about the same size as Campy's profit pedals - I tried those and didn't find them supportive enough for my taste.

I may check out Shimano's new Lance pedals (modified Look rip-offs) once they hit the street. They look promising.

-Ray
re: Are there any good pedals out there? (Newbie question)qui-gon jin
Aug 16, 2002 7:16 AM
I worried about the platform size when I was shopping for new pedals. I was riding Look and I did not really like them, but for road, that was all I had ever used. I was in need of new shoes and I went with the Shimano Carbon. The sole is very stiff, and if you have a stiff shoe it does not matter what size the pedal platform is. I finally decided on the Bebop pedals. They are light, less expensive, 20+ degrees of float and very simple. I cannot say enough about this set up. The shoes have been great and the Bebops are excellent. Bottom line: The shoes are the most important part of the shoe/pedal system.
Looks..._rt_
Aug 16, 2002 9:35 AM
mine don't squeek. & i've been riding them for 2 years or so with no maintenance.

they've got a good platform & are reliable as can be. i've got the 209's (i think), it's their mid-level pedal. they're reasonably priced and they happend to be lighter than the higher end pedals. go figger!

rt
I like my campy's nmPhatMatt
Aug 19, 2002 7:24 PM