RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


moving to boulder, CO ....(32 posts)

moving to boulder, CO ....jarraa
Aug 14, 2002 10:34 AM
... tomorrow. A tad (I am lying ... I am flipped out) bit worried. Curious to know if there are any riders here from there? What should I expect! And is any one doing a group ride on Sunday where I can hitch in (not sure if the altitude change will kill me first!)
Thanks.

-assad
Welcome to townLO McDuff
Aug 14, 2002 10:49 AM
There are a bunch of posters here from Boulder and environs. They should be along any minute now...

There are several ability levels in Boulder. The appropriate group ride would depend on your level. The poster Lonefrontranger would have a better handle on what is available. I'll defer to her on the rides.

I would recommend, however, that you take it easy (relative term) for the first couple of weeks. It does take a little while to become acclimated to the altitude.

I assume you are coming to town to go to CU. Check out CU's Club Sports page http://www.colorado.edu/StudentGroups/cucycling/ for information.

Again welcome to town.
Boulder, COTJeanloz
Aug 14, 2002 10:53 AM
Aah, Boulder, my old stomping grounds that I'm not that far removed from. Yes, there are no shortage of Front Range riders here, while I was once one of them, I am now stuck in Boston.

But that doesn't mean I don't know anything about Boulder.

What should you expect? It will be pretty hot, don't leave home on an afternoon bike ride without a rain jacket, even if there isn't a cloud in the sky. Some of the best riding is in the fall. Everybody could probably give better answers to more specific questions.

As for Sunday group rides, there's Cyclelogic, which leaves the McGuckin's parking lot at 9 (or is it back to 10?). It is very large, quite fast, and reasonably dangerous. But it can be a fun one. The kinder, gentler, CU ride leaves from Moe's Broadway Bagel on North Broadway at 10 (NOT on the Hill), but it will be very sparsely attended until school begins.

If you're concerned about altitude, a bike path loop might be in order. 20 miles, around the city, it would probably be a good orientation.
Everyone here is super fastTomS
Aug 14, 2002 10:58 AM
Except me.... well, it seems that way sometimes; but it's really not true. There are a lot of really strong riders around, but there's also a huge number of what I would consider "average" riders like myself. There's also a lot of good places to ride just out of town, whether you like flat, rolling, or climbing.

About the altitude change, are you coming from sea level? Just take it easy at first, remember to stay hydrated and wear sunscreen. Some people seem to adjust almost overnight, others it takes a couple of weeks.
Sorry but the town's no longer accepting new residents.js5280
Aug 14, 2002 11:03 AM
Just kidding. There's a bunch of us in the area. You'll love Boulder, the people and politics are, uh, interesting to say the least, but it is a beautiful city with lots to do. The riding is pretty decent, stop by an LBS (lots of them here, most are good shops) and they should have a map and/or recommendations. Plenty of tame long ride routes to the north and south. Not sure of organized Sunday group rides offhand.

I'd volunteer but can't make this Sunday, doing a midnight bike ride (anyone else doing the Moonlight Classic?) Saturday night/Sunday morning. If you're interested in riding some time, drop me an email. . . (address in my profile or click the email button)
problem with the Moonlight classicColnagoFE
Aug 14, 2002 11:43 AM
It's a fun booze cruise and all, but you waste the whole next day sleeping and nursing your hangover! Not good when you have 2 young kids to look after.
Bring them along!js5280
Aug 14, 2002 11:50 AM
I see a bunch of young kids on bikes, in Burleys, etc. Booze cruise? Hmmm, haven't added booze to the mix although we'll usually hit Pete's Kitchen afterwards so there is a similar pattern. I'm pysched this year, I usually go all out with glow sticks for night rides but this year I've picked up the new multi-color Tireflys.

nope...nobody rides a bike thereColnagoFE
Aug 14, 2002 11:41 AM
just kidding. it's a great town for bikes. check out the [somewhat] local bike shops for rides and ride ideas (louisville cyclery, wheatridge cyclery, pro peloton, vecchios, excel).
10 square miles surronded by realityPack Meat
Aug 14, 2002 12:10 PM
If you can get out of going do so. The place is a complete freak show. I meet people that have just moved from Boulder to Denver and they're embarrassed that they lived there. Be prepared to deal with traffic, ridiculously priced housing, freaks, beggars that have more money than you (trustafarians), bike thiefs, liberal nazis, neohippies, faux intellectuals, failed artists, 45 year old hippies that refuse to let the 60s RIP, petrulie and every ex cycling pro that's ever been to europe. The riding around there is great. To me Boulder is like France, the worst thing about France are the French.

But that's just my opinion I could be wrong.

seriously, once you get settled I bet you could get somebody on this board to meet you for a ride. They're all a bunch of freak'n hippies but they are a friendly bunch.

Good Luck.
Please;TJeanloz
Aug 14, 2002 12:18 PM
Small minded people complain about Boulder quite a bit. I lived there for four years, and I'm pretty sure that I'm not a hippy. I'm pretty sure that more than 20% of the city's population is between the ages of 18 and 25- because they go to CU. By generalizing things you are embarrassing yourself.

I love Denver, it's one of the most comfortable cities that I've worked in. But where is the best place to live in Denver? Boulder, hands down. The idea that Boulder is full of liberal nazis is equally ridiculous. There is a vocal liberal, even socialist, minority; but there is an equally vocal right-wing crowd. Boulder is substantially more conservative and right-wing than Boston, where I currently live.

People who refuse to let the 60s die are people like you- who have formed an opinion of a place based on what it once was like.
sorry to harsh your mellowPack Meat
Aug 14, 2002 1:18 PM
you know it's true, you can't swing a hippy around by his dreadlocks in Boulder without hitting another pot smoking hippy.

Some things that you want to be sure you don't do in Boulder, blow leafs with a leaf blower (they're just so darn noisey and they wake up the riff raff that tries to sleep through the day), not that you would want to but don't try to put a couch on your own porch, don't call your dog a pet because in Boulder you're it's guardian, yah, they're not liberal nazis.

Maybe about 10 years ago it was an awesome place to live but like many things it has a half life, once the word reaches the main stream that something is really great and cool it doesn't take long for it to be soured by people that just don't get it. I would rather live in Denver, it doesn't stink of petrulie.
daggone, you are one crabby PM this weeklonefrontranger
Aug 14, 2002 1:28 PM
Naw, I'm not gonna go there...

'kay, I'll be the first to admit I don't like pretentious people, and Boulder does have its share. But I'll take it over, say... Newport, KY any day.

At least you can use the public transportation in Boulder without worrying about getting mugged or contracting some nasty crud from sitting on the seats.

I think you're just letting the State TT Champs get on your nerves. You gonna be at Superior? If so, I'll go and cheer for you, even if I don't race.
PMS for PM???Pack Meat
Aug 14, 2002 1:45 PM
you know I just love trolling the Boulderites, there is just so much material.

BTW I live in Denver, not the burbs, I escaped the suburban hellhole about 2 years ago.
yep, my boyfriend gets PMS too...lonefrontranger
Aug 14, 2002 2:04 PM
Stands for P1ssy Male Syndrome. Symptoms are a pouty lip and a lot of random stomping around the house. Severe cases are indicated by obsessive cleaning behavior and stubborn refusal to speak to other members of the household (including pets).

Generally triggered by stress, unsympathetic GF and lack of cold beer in the 'fridge. Won't go into detail on the cures...

Denver central is pretty cool. My auntie lives about a block from the HB & Grill.
Cool that's where I livePack Meat
Aug 14, 2002 2:16 PM
I live on Ogden and Cedar, just north of Alameda. I used to live on the corner of Dakota and Downing, one block south of the Grill. Abos pizza is really good, I think that's what's on tap for dinner.

Actually I think I'm coming down with a cold and that generally makes me surlier than normal, and right in time for the TT. But I still really enjoy sticking it to the Boulderites, they're generally to stoned to defend themselves.
Is that Country Club Towers/Gardens? NMSherpa23
Aug 14, 2002 3:07 PM
Just west of that.Pack Meat
Aug 15, 2002 7:27 AM
A couple blocks west of the 4 towers that I think are called country club towers.
So what is so great about downtown Denver?ColnagoFE
Aug 15, 2002 6:29 AM
I lived on Capitol Hill (10th & Sherman area) for years and while it was OK, I wouldn't describe it as the ideal place to live by any means. Got my car stereo ripped off twice. Could never find a parking spot. Police helicopters flying over all the time looking for god knows what. Mysterious gunshot sounds in the night. Yeah a really great place.
So what is so great about downtown Denver?jtolleson
Aug 15, 2002 7:01 AM
I think of that as Governor's Park, not Cap Hill. But anyway, it has all come a long way in the last 5 years and only getting better. I live in East Highland, but what I really enjoy over my old Boulder County days is the diversity (racial and cultural), the funky restaurants, and the proximity to entertainment. I don't enjoy the longer distance to the great outdoors. Riding from the house invariably involves bike path because city streets suck. There is no hiking near the house (duh) only parks to walk in.

When I lived near Boulder I could climb Bear Peak after work, in Denver I hit happy hour. So, definitely down sides.

But all in all I've grown to overwhelmingly prefer Denver.
SIGH. I'm getting soo homesick. : ( nmSintesi
Aug 15, 2002 9:05 AM
Denver v. BoulderPack Meat
Aug 15, 2002 7:46 AM
This is just my opinion and as we know opinions are like a-holes, everybody has one. I think Denver has a much better balance of life. If all you want to do is outdoorsy stuff than I think Boulder would win but I like to see small club bands, go out to nightclubs (admittedly that doesn't happen as much as it did 2-3 years ago), catch a professional ball game or hockey, go to a museum and not to mention the world class 1 million gallons of fun that we have that is known as Ocean Journey (yes that was tongue in cheek). It's all right here, a short bike commute (less than 5 miles) from my house. If I want to hang with the college kids I can go to the DU area, for the rainbow crowd we have Cheesman Park, for the ethnically diverse crowd there's City Park, for trustafarians we have the 16th Street Mall, for Yuppies and recent college grads we have Washington Park. Yeah Capitol Hill can be sketchy but where I live it's quiet and safe and since the dot com bubble burst rent has been going down in the nicer neighborhoods. Luckily for me I work in Golden so great riding, hiking, etc are right outside my office door. I consider myself extremely lucky to be where I'm at right now.
Central DenverSherpa23
Aug 15, 2002 9:49 AM
I live in Country Club North (5th and Marion) and I have to say that living in Central Denver is really great. I have great options to ride, great training partners who live a few blocks away, and a coffee shop on the corner. The neighbours are really cool as I live in a dynamic little neighbourhood with old yet well kept up houses, and I feel close to everything. My wife works downtown and when I ride over to meet her at the office for lunch it takes me 8 minutes. I could go on about the restaurants, etc.
On the other hand, I like Boulder, too. We talk about moving up there very now and then for the nice pedestrian lifestyle and the small town feel, although we have some of that in Denver right now so the insane house prices of Boulder (and I don't say that lightly, considering the block I live on) is hard to justify.
It's hard to have such a great lifestyle in a city but you can do it in Denver. That's why living here is so cool.
LFR, you are proven wise, but I will, in the spirit ofscottfree
Aug 15, 2002 4:42 AM
'no cheap bigotry on this board,' utter a tiny peep of indignant protest at your Newport reference. This I say as the civic duty of a proud Kentuckian, not because I particularly disagree.
yeah isn't boulder great! (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 14, 2002 12:22 PM
10 square miles surronded by realityjs5280
Aug 14, 2002 12:31 PM
All the hippies are gone, been replaced by or converted to yippies (i.e. yuppie + hippy = yippy)
And that cartoon? Created by a former Boulder resident (nm).TJeanloz
Aug 14, 2002 12:38 PM
look us up when you get herelonefrontranger
Aug 14, 2002 1:21 PM
I actually live in Lafayette, about 10 miles east of Boulder.

Ignore PM and the naysayers. Boulder is actually a wonderful place. Yes the racers are fast, but everyone is friendly. Pack Meat is merely jealous of our wonderful riding because he's stuck in the suburban wasteland of Denver.

I'd be happy to show you some of the better routes around town. I will warn you, although I've been racing a lot this year, I'm pretty slow right now. I broke my collarbone 3 weeks ago and although I am back out on the road, I will have to take it pretty easy for another week or two.

If you aren't coming from high altitude, you will feel fine on the flatter rides, but going up anything that drains water will have you on your knees begging for mercy. It was that way for me for about 3 months after I moved here from Cincinnati in winter of '00/'01.

e-mail if you're interested in more local info or the skinny on our local group rides: beth@chinkes.com
Cinti eh?Rode Warrior
Aug 15, 2002 11:42 AM
Myself, Louisville, KY Sept. '01

One of these days we should get a ride going. I'm hoping before you get completely healed and still have a chance at staying with you, and your BF. :)

Steve
yep - brought my recipe for Skyline (tm) Chili with me...lonefrontranger
Aug 15, 2002 1:32 PM
you'd be suprised how many of the Boulder "granolas" I know really dig Cincinnati-style chili.

I knew a *bunch* of cyclists from Louisville, KY. If you were familiar with some of the racing scene "regulars", we should compare notes and some old photos from the Kentuckiana / Cincinnati spring series.

It's very ironic that my SO and I both rode / ride for Louisville Velo Club in Louisville, CO when some of our best friends, co-promoters and rivals rode for the Louisville Wheelmen in Louisville, KY (I won't get into the pronunciation issues...).

I'd love to get together and ride, and don't worry about getting dropped (more likely to be the other way around...). You forget to whom you speak. Injured or no, my SO and I have no interest in getting into the usual roadie-style pissing contests - that's what solo training / motorpacing sessions are for ;-)
Denver here...jtolleson
Aug 14, 2002 5:49 PM
which means plenty of my favorite rides are in the Boulder area... both the climbs (Sunshine Canyon, Ward, Old Stage Road) and the plains (breakfast ride to Lyons, ride to Carter Lake), Morgul-Bismark Loop. I lived in Boulder Co. for the first 3 years I was in Colorado.

Check out not only Boulder but really check out the clubs in Denver and surrounding areas. God bless Boulder but it can become a bit provincial (ie., folks stay and socialize within the county limits). I have friends move to Boulder and are never seen again!

Several Denver area clubs frequently ride near Boulder (and throughout the front range) and will give you more options: Rocky Mountain Cycle Club, Team Evergreen, Colorado Heartcycle, Denver Bicycle Touring Club. If you are gay or gay friendly there is also OUT Spokin'. Clubs are good for easing into rides that are difficulty-rated, rather than just hitting an LBS's "show and go" hammerfest.
I think we scared him away, he hasn't replied ;-)js5280
Aug 15, 2002 7:11 AM
Welcome to Boulder Assad! You'll love it here for more than just the riding.
No no ... just a bit dazed ..jarraa
Aug 18, 2002 7:34 PM
from the 3 day train journey and the packing and unpacking.
Was planning on riding today ..but only broke out the mtb to go down to REI to pick up maps (live right off Boradway and Pleasant). My nose is too dry and I feel dehydrated no matter how much I drink. I thought climbing (is it even a climb?) up Broadway was really tough and decided to throw in the towel and wait a few days.

anybody wanna ride with a really slow Boulder-newby?
email me please.

going to go and drink more water now. Catch ya later.

-assad