RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wheel Choices, Ksyrium or Zipp(8 posts)

Wheel Choices, Ksyrium or ZippRik
Aug 12, 2002 6:43 PM
Contemplating a wheelset to augment the Record/Open Pro wheels that came with my Merckx Team SC. I'm considering Ksyrium SL (currently using last year's model on my other bike), stock Zipp 303's or 404's built up with Record hubs. I am primarily a road racer and time trialist on rolling terrain in the Midwest. I'd like to use the wheels for both racing and light training so durability may be an issue. Any input would be appreciated, thanks for your assistance.
re: Wheel Choices, Ksyrium or ZippJohnIV
Aug 12, 2002 7:05 PM
Go with the 404's. I live in Louisiana, and race on the 404's. They are aero, light, tough as nails, and very fast. I guarantee you that you'll be more than pleased with Zipp wheels. As a side note, I know a 400 lb. guy who rides 404's as well, and his haven't even gone out of true.
re: Wheel Choices, Ksyrium or Zippakatdog
Aug 12, 2002 7:52 PM
I thought I remembered something about 404 overheating the braking surface on long downhills and warping. look at the reviews on this site. Don't know if the new ones are improved at all.

Ride On
re: Wheel Choices, Ksyrium or ZippDougSloan
Aug 13, 2002 5:46 AM
For dedicated race only wheels in your terrain, I'd get the 404's. For all around, as you suggest, I'd get the Ksyriums. I have 303's, 404's, and Ksyriums, and the Ksyriums by far seem to be more durable and reliable.

Doug
Interesting...MXL02
Aug 13, 2002 7:33 AM
I've been thinking about purchasing a new wheelset for fast organized rides, and was considering the Zipp 303 vs Ksyrium Vs HED Alps. My LBS also said that the Zipps were not as stable or as strong as the Ksyriums. What kind of problems/experiences have you had with the Zipps?
Interesting...DougSloan
Aug 13, 2002 8:01 AM
The Zipp's braking surface, even the clinchers, is not as good as the Ksyrium. I have a rear Zipp 303 carbon clincher that will not stay true. The outer edge of the 303 is very sharp, and has cut several tubes until I sanded it down with emory cloth; it's still pretty sharp, though. The Ksyrium hub "feels" and sounds much smoother and freer running than any of the Zipps. The Ksyriums just feel more solid as well. I've never had to true Ksyriums with tons of miles on them. Don't get me wrong, though; for a race where durability was not critical (like a Roubaix sort of thing), I'd use the Zipps for a small increment of speed gain; for all around, though, I'd stick with Ksyriums (or Campy wheels).

Doug
I WAS in the same buying market as youRayBan
Aug 13, 2002 6:21 AM
I read up a number of reviews and talked to a trusted bike shop friend. What I found is a number of failure reports on the Zipp wheels, and a lot of praises for the Mavics. I decided to buy the Mavics. The Zipps may have a bit more aero of a profile on the rim but for that kind of money I wanted my wheels to last.
m2¢: Consider Dave's Speed Dreams??coonass
Aug 13, 2002 4:00 PM
The Aeros weigh 1435gms, that's with Sapim CX-Ray (steel) flat spokes, 2mm width and 9.5mm braking surface (easily accepts Cateye magnet) and American Classic Ultra-light hubs. Dave replaces AC bearings w/Swedish sealed bearings....I have K-SLs on one bike and the Aeros on another...the Aeros ride like a Rolls Royce. $555. includes shipping/insurance and in all-black, and according to Dave, they will accommodate riders in the 220# category