RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Someone last week wanted a pic of a female cyclist.(49 posts)

Someone last week wanted a pic of a female cyclist.onespeed
Aug 12, 2002 7:30 AM
I was going through my photos (I took nearly 300) of the NYC race and came across this one.

She is a self professed race junkie-I forget her name. She is a pick-up race rider that will race for any team provided they pay her registration and give here a skinsuit. She said she pulled off an 18th place.
Nice, but.....tronracer
Aug 12, 2002 7:46 AM
that tatoo is a bit outragous. Looks like a big mistake. Women shouldn't have huge things like that on their legs.
I can't believe that that's a real tattoo. Looks like one ofbill
Aug 12, 2002 7:52 AM
those surprisingly durable temporary ones.
If it is real, well, oops.
I'll bet her girlfriend likes it. nmNo_sprint
Aug 12, 2002 7:54 AM
Anna Nicole Smith has something like this on her leg nowColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 7:55 AM
Anyone see that new show? Like watching a train wreck. She's about 300 lbs now and talks like a zombie.
aren't those just vericose viens?maybe just colored cellulite.nmEpicX
Aug 12, 2002 1:00 PM
We have a semi-pro womans football team in DallasDave Hickey
Aug 12, 2002 8:15 AM
They are called the Dallas Diamonds. My son had off-ice hockey training the other night at the same complex last week. I watched their practice the other night and about 90% of the woman had tatoos just like that. IMHO, they look terrible.
not a man or woman issue...those big tatts just look bad IMO (NMColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 8:41 AM
These 2 had already changed when I snappedonespeed
Aug 12, 2002 8:00 AM
the picture. The tattoo thing seems to be big with the female riders.

I have to say, I have never been put off by a tattoo on a woman.

They were the Diet Rite girls.
scarymr_spin
Aug 12, 2002 8:08 AM
Either one of them could probably kick my ass in a bar fight.
women cyclists physiques...observation?ColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 8:51 AM
probably opening a big can of worms here but...why is it that a good number of top women cyclists are, for lack of a better term, rather burly? I mean top male cyclists are usually twigs--at least the climbers or non-sprinters. Why do women seem to bulk up and men get thin? Sure a big stereotype and I'm sure there are counter-examples that prove this false. Just an observation.
I'll take a stab at it....even though I know nothing about..Dave Hickey
Aug 12, 2002 9:06 AM
womans cycling in the US. I'd guess the reason is most of the US races are Crits and not multi-day stage events. Crit racing is more suited to a sprinters physique. Just a guess.....
I was thinking the exact same thing about an ass kicking. n/mfracisco
Aug 12, 2002 9:03 AM
n/m
um, not that burly, the pink hair is about 5'2"lonefrontranger
Aug 12, 2002 9:08 AM
She races local in Boulder and broke her arm at the Bannock crit last night.

These girls wouldn't fit anyone's definition of "burly"; I know the Diet Rite gal weighs about 105 lbs dripping wet.

What is it that men don't like about women with muscular legs that makes us all dykes, anyhow?
its not the muscular legs that are the problemcollinsc
Aug 12, 2002 9:16 AM
its the muscular legs that are bigger than ours.

I bet most of it is just standard male/female phsyiognomy.
ie: wide hips, narrow shoulders, short height

the men look like twigs, but thats probably only because they are taller. I doubt these women, on inspection of legs alone, are any form of excessively burly, but, in comparison to the rest of their bodies...

fwiw.
I love a woman with well defined STRONG legs the problem is..RayBan
Aug 12, 2002 11:46 AM
I think the Diet Rite pink haired grl legs look great. What I DON'T like to look at are those chunky shoes!
I love a woman with well defined STRONG legs the problem is..shoalin
Aug 12, 2002 12:29 PM
I think they look funky and I like that....Why we still stereotype about tattoo....I don't judge anyone because they have tattoo...but she does look like she just get out a rave party....One word SWEEEETT.
yep. i'll take diet rite all nite too. she's hot. (nm)EpicX
Aug 12, 2002 1:02 PM
I snapped the pictures because I was impressed.onespeed
Aug 12, 2002 9:17 AM
I wasnt even thinking they were "burly" or dykes. The tattoos, well crafted legs and that red hair caught my eye.

Nothing better than a woman who can hold her own.
Did she break this arm? (nm)onespeed
Aug 12, 2002 9:23 AM
now those tattoos are downright nasty...male or femaleColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 10:05 AM
To each his/her own, but I like tattoos that can be hidden and are subtle. Nothing subtle about those. Looks like a sailor. The red hair is hideous as well, but at least you can change that later.
I'm with youSteveS
Aug 12, 2002 8:35 PM
On this one, I agree and I will make stereotypes based upon flourescent hair tint or massive tattoos.And experience. Robin Williams just did a funny bit (HBO) on tattoos and how ugly they will get on women (people) as they get older. Ugh, no thanks.

Years ago, I watched the women's regional trials for the Olympic road racing and having never watched a woman's race before, hung around for the after events. It was a leg lovers delight of muscle. And no gross monster tattoos or bizarre hair tints.
Agree. Noticed an interesting dichotomy here.theBreeze
Aug 12, 2002 10:21 AM
Some observations;

1)male posters drooling over the CC catalog chick, podium girls etc. basically females who are decorative to the sport...

2)male posters moaning and groaning that their wives or girlfriends can't keep up with them on rides...

3)show some of these guys a photo of a real woman rider and she is labled a dyke...

sense a trend?

Hey, that is what a female who spends any significant amount of time riding looks like! We've got big quads, gluts and hamstrings, cut calves; and yeah, it looks a little different on a 5'2" size person than a 6'tall person. In addition a female can rarely sustain body fat less than 12-15% and keep healthy. Pro males are probably around 4-8%, thus the "Twiggy" look.

But wait, wasn't I accused of being some "troll-boy" a couple days ago. LOL!!! that'll be news to my husband.

Can't prove anything right now, but anyone who has lurked around long enough has seen enough of my postings to know that I am a 41 year old female with two kids. I have no trouble riding with a number pretty fast of guys in my area.
meaning I agree with lonefrontranger. (nm)theBreeze
Aug 12, 2002 10:23 AM
well...mr_spin
Aug 12, 2002 10:35 AM
My comment was oriented more towards the tattoos than the muscles. Those are scary. She could be the sweetest, most charming, most refined woman at the ball, but those tattoos make her look like a sailor who has seen too many ports. The muscular body doesn't help.

That might appeal to some guys, but not me.
Can't speak for others, but for myselfhrs
Aug 12, 2002 11:11 AM
I have no problems with muscular legs (actually prefer them) on women...to a point (they should not account for 75% of total body mass). Many of the women I see cycling, both at the recreational level and the professional level, I would consider extremely attractive (Kimberly Bruckner and some of the other women from team Saturn spring to mind).

The women pictured here don't particularly appeal to me, more because I don't care for big tatoos and the hair color. But that's me.

Regards,
Rodney
Geeze, beats me.djg
Aug 12, 2002 12:06 PM
I've got no objection to the legs and I'd be loath to jump to conclusions about a woman's sexual orientation by looking at her legs in any case (unless, maybe, she had a tatoo that said "dykes on bikes" or something, on one of her legs). Frankly, I don't care if she is or isn't, but that's neither here nor there.

My guess is that guys who are quick to trot out the "accusation" of dyke have problems best investigated:
(a) off this sight; and
(b) by folks who get paid to do that sort of thing.
it's not the legs but the aggressive/ competitive personalitycolker
Aug 12, 2002 1:05 PM
that puts me off. i'm probably a fool but a mellow, soft, introspective personality attracts me more on a girl.
Nice dike, er I mean bike, sorry.....nmafrican
Aug 12, 2002 9:39 AM
Nice dike, er I mean bike, sorry.....taar44
Aug 12, 2002 2:51 PM
Huge arms and legs plus a huge tatoo on her leg!! You sure she has a husband and not a wife???
Just friggin' quit it alreadyjtolleson
Aug 12, 2002 6:09 PM
Yes, I know, we women here on the board are outnumbered. Lesbians even more so, no doubt. But get a clue. The term "dyke" is a total not-okay epithet, not to mention the disrespect that it shows for female jocks (of whatever sexual orientation), or for lesbians in general.

Gawd! Are you threatened or what!

And I'm sure someone will tell me I'm oversensitive. But if this were "redneck review board" (RRB.COM) and they were calling every thin, leg shaved guy in spandex an anti-gay epithet, you'd think they were morons.

Well hello. Here's a mirror.

I'll get off my soapbox now, but this isn't a locker room OR religious right revival. So the epithets and stereotypes do not belong.
Well said. This thread was really beginning to bug me. nmMB1
Aug 13, 2002 5:12 AM
ok moronsPack Meat
Aug 12, 2002 10:59 AM
The red headed girl can kick all of your asses in a sprint. Her name is Kerry Schmatz and if she can't completely humilate you in a sprint her husband, Dan Schmatz of 7-Up/Colorado cyclist, can. This girl is so cool and has so much self confidence that she was happy to show off her tattoo for some guy to snap a shot and post on the internet.Beauty is in the eye of the beholder right? I'd love to see the dogs that ya'll go out with if you could get dates.

Why is it when a guy gets his manhood threatened he just yells dyke?

Hugs and kisses.
PM
These 2 had already changed when I snappedNo_sprint
Aug 12, 2002 1:51 PM
I think the brunette is yummy. I have a thing for brunettes. I'll bet she cleans up well. I'd like to *grab her wheel*. :)
I really had no idea these picturesonespeed
Aug 12, 2002 11:08 AM
would elicit these responses.

Makes for good reading though.
4 Words...Marla Streb - Outside Magazine! (nm)NJRoad
Aug 12, 2002 11:19 AM
4 Words...Marla Streb - Outside Magazine! (nm)shoalin
Aug 12, 2002 12:37 PM
Nice form and how about that legs....SWEET.
She's obviously got her sh*t together......how many of us haveATLien
Aug 12, 2002 12:39 PM
ever been here before??

Probably not many.
not a great pic dude. try this one. hubba hubba.EpicX
Aug 12, 2002 1:15 PM
team DietRite

http://www.teamdietrite.com/theteam/theteam.htm
Yeah don't know if that pix makes your pointColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 1:41 PM
She kinda looks like Danny Partidge in that one. Much better looking in the other pics, but for me that red/pink hair and tatts don't help her looks any.
Here's the Marla Streb pic from Outside Mag...OffTheBack
Aug 12, 2002 1:15 PM
Mmmmmmmmmmm... :-)
I like bike girls and tattoosPhatMatt
Aug 12, 2002 2:17 PM
It is self expression. And I like people that can do that and pretty much say I do not care what teh world thinks. Besides it is very easy to cover a tattoo on the lower leg if need be. Tattoos are just another form of art. Either you like it or you do not, no worries either way. It looks to me liek the artist that did teh tat was pretty good.

Matt
I like bike girls and tattoosPygme
Aug 12, 2002 3:48 PM
Maybe you got it backwards PhatMat? Maybe they got the tatoo because they DO care what the world thinks?
Makes no sense.elviento
Aug 12, 2002 4:52 PM
"And I like people that can do that and pretty much say I do not care what teh world thinks. Besides it is very easy to cover a tattoo on the lower leg if need be. "

Your argument is funny, you like someone who doesn't care what the world thinks, but you also like the option to care what the world thinks by covering it up.

This form of self expression is stupid. It's an expression with no contents, it's expression for expression's sake. That's all. The whole meaning of doing these things lies in the fact that the traditional world doesn't quite accept tatoos and body piercings. The underlying statement is "being bad is cool". But the coolness relies on the world's opinion. In other words, these folks care as hell what the world thinks.

The coolest moment for a 17 year old with 20 rings on his face is when granny complains about it. If nobody even cares about these tattoos, they lose all their meaning of existence.
Makes no sense.Pygme
Aug 13, 2002 4:54 AM
I agree with you. Kinda like the kid that dresses wierd, dyes his hair black, paints his fingernails, and get peircings in every conceivable spot because he wants to be different; he wants to be a "non-conformist." BUT, then he hangs out with people who do the same thing, that makes him a CONFORMIST after all.
Here's the Marla Streb pic from Outside Mag...Skip
Aug 12, 2002 6:53 PM
I'd like to formally apply to be her personal masseur. I give great massages - really, ask any of my girlfriends.
This whole thread is so wierd and voyeuristic...Mr Good
Aug 12, 2002 10:18 PM
...a bunch of internet nerd/bike geek dudes staring at their computers -- complaining that some stolen snapshots of women don't match up to their wierd glossy magazine fantasy of what a woman should look like. Now I'm a little bit scared of everyone on this board...I think I need to go back to the real world and ignore this board for a while...
This whole thread is so wierd and voyeuristic...rbb
Aug 13, 2002 4:18 AM
I'll have to agree with you on that!!! I suppose alot of these jokers have their helmet mirrors on too tight!!

-Bob
yeah but that's the internet isn't it?ColnagoFE
Aug 13, 2002 6:12 AM
are you trying to tell me you have NO preferences for what you find attractive in a person? gimme a break.