RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Carbon Frame for Large Riders?(9 posts)

Carbon Frame for Large Riders?Zerotrek
Aug 11, 2002 6:59 PM
Has carbon frame technology adanced to the point where you can recommend carbon for a larger rider (I am 6'2" 235lbs)?

I have always rode aluminum frames. My current bike is a Serotta aluminum. The ride has been amazing for aluminum, but I am looking for a new bike as this one has taken a beating. There are so many aluminum frames that I have been looking at that have good reputations (Cannondale's new CAAD7, Colnago Dream Plus, Orbea, Olmo, Eddy Meryckx, Ciocci, Moser, Carrera, ScottUSA).

The three most important things I am looking for are: 1)a really stiff frame for good energy transfer(like my old Cannondales). 2)a bike that won't shatter your jaw when you hit bumps(not like my old Cannondales) 3)long frame life (a frame that doesn't just last one or two seasons).

I have been to a few LBS recently and really liked the Trek 5900 USPS bike. I have had differing opinions though on whether this is a bike for someone like myself. I can't afford to spend a large amount of money again for quite a few years if I make a bad choice(getting engaged soon).

Would the Trek be a good choice? Is there another carbon frame that you can recommend? Should I just stick to a high quality aluminum frame?

TY
Calfee Tetra Prooutacontrol
Aug 11, 2002 7:12 PM
Similar boat last year...DavidS
Aug 11, 2002 7:26 PM
I got the Trek 5200. I'm 6' 3", WAS 230 lbs. Now 6' 3" 195 lbs- Credit the Trek. I have ridden the piss out of this bike, after having taken several years off. I have been very happy. A few observations:

The frame is stiff yet supple feeling. Dead solid on descents, and has taken some abuse on the roads around here.

Not bone-jarring like the C-Dale, VERY comfortable.

Longevity-3300 miles on mine so the jury is still out, but remember the lifetime frame warranty.

Try to buy frame only and build it to suit you. Nothing on my bike is stock after 1 year. I have Deda bar/stem, Campy Record 10, Ksyriums, Body G saddle, King headset.

5900 is lighter and stiffer, maybe not quite as comfortable...and a lot more money.

Have fun.

-David S
try an Aegiskenyee
Aug 12, 2002 6:41 AM
They tend to overbuild their carbon frames so the weight is similiar to a light steel bike, but they have a lifetime warrantee.
try an AegisJimP
Aug 12, 2002 10:55 AM
I am 6'4" and weigh about 185 now, in season. I am in my 3rd year on my Aegis and am very happy with the ride and the handling. I used to ride a C'dale and there is no comparison to the comfort of the Aegis. My Aegis is one of the "Race Stock" frames with the lighter layup so I would think that the normal layup would be more than adequate for your weight.
not a 5900rob45
Aug 12, 2002 7:38 AM
the fact that USPS riders reserve this frame only for mountain stages should be a tip off that it's not an all rounder, and especially not up to the pounding a 235 pounder will give it. Having had both carbon fiber and alu frames (I'm 6"2, 180lbs) I'd suggest sticking with alu. I recently decided on a caad5/all carbon fork--I think this is undoubtedly the best value in a frameset anywhere. It's pro-level (7up rides them, Saeco last year) and you can find good deals on them. Go for a trade-in, or just bargain with an LBS. Lifetime warranty, super stiff, about as light as you can go before worrying about it holding up.
Here is my Aegis.Aegis_guy
Aug 12, 2002 3:52 PM
Take a look at them. These are great bikes. It may not have the brand name appeal of a C40 but if you are looking for a great riding durable carbon bike Aegis deserves a look.Of course I may be biased.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/MVC-001S(11).jpg
5900 is fineesbike
Aug 12, 2002 9:55 PM
Go to the trek website. The 5900 is made from oclv 110 which is actually stiffer than what the 5200 is made from.

I think it is very likely that the "team bike" is the 5200 for marketing reasons alone. If the 5900 were the only team bike, they couldn't claim the 5200 was the tour winner and hence the more affordable oclv bike would not get the "lance" boost.
re: Carbon Frame for Large Riders?smbrand1
Aug 13, 2002 7:47 PM
Ty,
I think a TREK OCLV frame would be fine for you. I personally am a small rider (5'8", 145), but I can think of, off the top of my head, four people I know who are your size or bigger riding Trek OCLV frames (all over 6' and 200 lbs). Not only that, but two them have been on the same frame for 5 years with absolutely no complaints. In fact, one friend of mine who's about 6'4"-ish, 210-215 recently backed over his with his van and gouged the top tube pretty bad. He finished out the season on it -gouge and all- and just sent it to Trek a couple days ago to have them replace the top tube. Basically they melt the glue in the lugs, pull out the old tube, put in a new one, repaint it and presto, good as new. The whole thing costs around $250. Sure beats buying a new frame. The Trek is a great bike for pretty much any sized rider, go for it.

SMB