RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


White shorts?(29 posts)

White shorts?amerigooner
Aug 9, 2002 10:01 AM
Suddenly I got the urge to buy some white shorts. I'm not sure why. Maybe just to change it up from my solid black wardrobe. I can't find them anywhere. Does anyone have any idea where I can find some white cycling shorts?
just paint your black ones nmafrican
Aug 9, 2002 10:09 AM
or ask Michael Jackson how to change blk to white nmafrican
Aug 9, 2002 10:10 AM
re: White shorts?EricBH
Aug 9, 2002 10:10 AM
White shorts are'nt my bag but, here ya go.......

http://www.excelsports.com/item.asp?major=4&minor=7&description=PY2+VT+Bibshorts+White+2002&vendorCode=CASTELLI

Kinda pricey too.
don't do it!lonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 10:23 AM
umm, ya know there's a couple reasons white shorts are hard to find:

#1) the inevitable result of changing a dirty / greasy rear flat

#2) they get *very* transparent when you sweat. Better spackle that crack!
LMAO ; )...I love the 'Man Show'!!!kapalua
Aug 9, 2002 11:06 AM
I must confess to watching TMS a time or two...lonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 11:18 AM
I dig the Man Show too. My SO watches it regularly and it's a scream.

I myself am sorely aggravated that I just don't have "what it takes" to qualify as a Juggy Girl. Sigh. I would dearly love to be paid what those gals get to bounce on a trampoline and show my knickers to the world.

Guess I'll just have to settle for pouring my size double XL sprinter's buns into skintight Lycra 15 weekends a year...
... and the visual proof, 'specially for eschelonlonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 11:25 AM
I just hafta ask, would a transvestite (transwebbite?) post such an unflattering picture?

Incidentally, and germane to the discussion thread, I absolutely *despise* those light-colored leg bands and panels on our team shorts. Every single pair I have now has permanent grub on the leg bands from dirty / rainy rides.
You look pretty hot to me! nmDave Hickey
Aug 9, 2002 11:29 AM
I'll second that Dave! Yummy! nmNo_sprint
Aug 9, 2002 11:41 AM
oh, don't get your hopes uplonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 11:56 AM
me, on the trainer about a week ago. The inner tube is supporting a broken collarbone collected in a crit on the 21st of July.

Note what my SO lovingly terms my "angry lesbian" haircut. From mid-October through about mid-May it tends to metamorphose into a mullet through sheer neglect (added to the necessity of something covering the back of my neck when riding in Colorado winters)
LOLNo_sprint
Aug 9, 2002 12:05 PM
While we're here....

Me before giving up the lead during this two man flyer/breakaway a couple months ago.
whoops, blew that one....No_sprint
Aug 9, 2002 12:06 PM
here....
Still look pretty hot. Will you be getting divorce anytime soon?Sintesi
Aug 9, 2002 12:22 PM
And plan to move to NY? If so I will gladly escort you to the movies and possibly dinner. Gimps are not a problem with me.

I am your slave.

Respectfully,
Sintesi.
doubtfullonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 1:37 PM
since I'm not married in the first place. Been living with the SO for seven years last week.

Firmly ensconced in Boulder however. Dynamite cannot budge me from the training / riding / racing and lifestyle out here.

sweet, but I have to decline
A strangely appropos newsitem re: transgender and cyclingGregory Taylor
Aug 9, 2002 12:09 PM
From www.cyclingnews.com -- posted here without comment:

Transsexual named for Canadian Women's MTB Team

Michelle Dumaresq, the athlete formerly known as Michael, has been selected to ride for the Canadian women's national mountain bike team. Dumaresq, who received a sex-change operation to become a woman six years ago, will represent Canada at the world championships in Kaprun, Austria.

Dumaresq's selection has been met with protests - not from the other national teams - but from her own. Two of her Canadian teammates, Cassandra Boon and Sylvie Allen, lodged a complaint with the UCI, requesting intervention in the situation. In their letter, the two also requested that the UCI consider the creation of a new transsexual racing category.

"Something about the situation just doesn't seem fair," Allen told the National Post. But despite the protest from within her own team, Michelle Dumaresq remains excited over her selection.
yes, I raced against him/her/it in 'Toona in '98lonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 12:13 PM
The legality of the matter is that Michael / Michelle is not actually a man OR a woman. She/he/it is actually what is known as a XX hermaphrodite. In TDT the promoter was unable to legally decline his/her application to race in the Women's 4 field because a blood test would not show a Y chromosome. For Michael / Michelle's part, the argument goes that gender was selected at birth by his/her parents, and he/she had always felt it was a mistake...
Things have gotten waaaaay complicated...Gregory Taylor
Aug 9, 2002 12:22 PM
Wow...as Paul Harvey says, now we know "...the rest of the story."

Is he/she a strong racer? I guess that I shouldn't ask if you noticed whether he/she uses one of those pressure relieving a cutout saddles...?
strength is relativelonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 1:17 PM
Yes, he/she is incredibly strong, but IME so are many other large women (and he/she is definitely large). Our complaint against him/her racing in the Women's 4 field actually wasn't based at all on his/her gender or lack thereof, but the fact that he/she had raced as a MEN's Cat 4 for several years, and successfully too, I might add.

Just for perspective, Kim Bruckner's winning time in the Mt. Evans hillclimb would have put her well into the top ten in the Men's 3 field, and in the top 25 in the Men's Pro/1/2. She also soloed to the win, so she didn't have the benefits of a pack like the guys did to work with or inspire her. And she's a real woman.

OK, here's the science aspect, from my very limited understanding of the physiology. We all start out as female (XX) embryos. At some point, a flush of testosterone from the mother's ovaries (depends on her temperature that day) will "switch on" the process that transforms the female embryo to male and triggers the development of the Y chromosome. So yes, boys it's true - your mother made you the man you are today.

A XX hermaphrodite is the result of an embryo that hasn't been fully "switched on" for male expression for some reason. An XX "male" will often develop male genitalia but is always sterile, and often (as in Michael / Michelle's case) exhibits female "emotional expression" or desires.

The other side of the hermaphrodite coin if you will is the XXY "female", which typically exhibits female genitalia and body structure. A roommate of mine had an XXY "female" cat. Coat color in felines is a sex-linked trait, and one of the clues to his/her condition was "her" solid orange coat (a male sex-linked color). When my roommate called the vet to have his "female" cat spayed, the vet did an exam and discovered he/she had no uterus. Tigger was also bad about fighting and part of the reason my roommate wanted to spay "her" was to keep him/her from fighting/chasing other cats and wandering off, which probably demonstrated masculine "emotional desires" of aggression and territoriality.
Interesting on all counts...thanks! (nm)Gregory Taylor
Aug 9, 2002 1:27 PM
Not true?Stampertje
Aug 9, 2002 2:38 PM
"We all start out as female (XX) embryos."

I don't believe this is exactly correct - we all start out as female (XX) or *female* (XY) embryos. In the seventh week of development, a sex determining gene (SRY) on the Y chromosome (if present) sets the whole gender thing in motion.

I don't actually know anything about this but I know that (XX-egg) x (XY-sperm) leads to two possabilities... XX and XY. And I was curious enough to go online and look this up. (I'm also curious enought that you should feel free to correct me again if I am wrong.)

http://www.hhmi.org/lectures/2001/lecture1.htm
coollonefrontranger
Aug 9, 2002 3:10 PM
I'm glad someone else looked it up to confirm, which is why I pleaded partial ignorance ;-) My knowlege is based on my rusty memory of a discussion I had several lifetimes ago when I was an equine vet assistant to a guy who was the regional expert in broodmare operations. I recall pretty clearly the hermaphrodite thing, having quizzed my dad (biology Ph.D) on it after the discovery of my roommate's "genderless" cat.
LMAO ; )...I love the 'Man Show'!!!No_sprint
Aug 9, 2002 11:45 AM
I like the bits with Jimmy's kid. LOL
Assos used to make them & maybe Castelli...nmpben
Aug 9, 2002 10:55 AM
re: Try Zonabici.com when they come backJL
Aug 9, 2002 11:14 AM
from holiday. You can buy the Castelli's. My friend bought a pair and likes them a lot.

John
try this link...kinda expensive!2_cheap
Aug 9, 2002 11:14 AM
http://www.excelsports.com/item.asp?major=4&minor=7&description=PY2+VT+Bibshorts+White+2002&vendorCode=CASTELLI
Wear your tighty, whitie's, Fruit of the Loom! nmJuanmoretime
Aug 9, 2002 11:32 AM
re: White shorts?filtersweep
Aug 9, 2002 11:43 AM
I have a pair of yellow shorts and you can see my tattoos through them. The other issue is grease. Make any adjustment to your bike, or even rest your water bottle on your leg and you have a grease stain (you know the chain oil that flies up on your bottle?). Touch your shorts with dirty fingers... or what really messed them up was when I was hit by a car and skidded across the pavement on my hip- the blood washed out, but not the road grime.

Suit yourself, but I wouldn't pay $159 for shorts that will eventually look filthy... no matter how hard you try to keep them white.
re: White shorts?Birddog
Aug 10, 2002 6:53 PM
I saw a guy riding in some white Castelli's down at the Ride for the Roses. All of us who saw him thought he should be banned for bad taste. They looked positively awful, and yes you can see through them.