RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I Admit it. I Covet a Colnago C-40 . . .(35 posts)

I Admit it. I Covet a Colnago C-40 . . .SimonRex
Aug 8, 2002 3:22 PM
and obviously I don't own a Carbonissimo. Being too obvious in mybike selection ruined that troll (it was kind of funny though, right?). No more trolling from me. Presntly, have a Lemond Buenos Aires. Purchased it last year as my first bike and like it. Must say I have been bitten by the cycling bug. My bike is the best money I ever spent. Call me whatever, but I really do covet the C-40. I WANT that bike and will have one next year. Anyone else just have to have a certain bike even though it is irrational?
we are all irrational?DougSloan
Aug 8, 2002 3:28 PM
Everything above a Bianchi Alloro is irrational.

Doug
we are all irrational?grzy
Aug 8, 2002 3:31 PM
Some would even consider a Bianchi, any Bianchi irrational! ;-b
now now...Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 8, 2002 3:35 PM
For some, anything BUT a Bianchi is irrational...
Let's play nicely now!
Holy bikesDougSloan
Aug 8, 2002 3:39 PM
A Bianchi is in a church shrine to cycling in Italy. What could possibly be irrational about that? Then again, the Pope rides a Colnago.

Doug
Colnago makes the popemobil? Whoa!! nmseyboro
Aug 8, 2002 3:54 PM
we are all irrational?SimonRex
Aug 8, 2002 3:32 PM
Agree. Nonetheless, I must have that bike and do a self-guided tour of Tuscany on it. I feel compelled to do this. I think God is sending me a message.
that's right, divine inspirationDougSloan
Aug 8, 2002 3:38 PM
An angel visited whilst on a 20% climb and said unto thee, "Thou must purcheseth a Colnago." And so I did. Another angel visited whilst on a long, flat ride and said unto thee, "Thou must purcheseth a Cervelo." So God's will shall be done.

God saw the bikes and said, "That is good."

Who said anything about irrational?

Doug
that's right, divine inspirationseyboro
Aug 8, 2002 3:52 PM
...and when the Lord sat to reflect upon his fine creations, he thought: "There must be more. How 'bout some Ti, yo??" ...and the Lord createth the Palmares.
...andeth I boughteth oneth...
that's right, divine inspirationSimonRex
Aug 8, 2002 4:17 PM
now you are being just plain silly.
JUDAS! (nm) ;opIwannapodiumgirl
Aug 8, 2002 4:24 PM
that's right, divine inspirationIwannapodiumgirl
Aug 8, 2002 4:16 PM
and the people rejoiced, the princes and beggers alike, when The Lord turned Shimano into Campagnolo - and the people were pleased with the magical bounty provided by The Lord.

And the people praised The Lord, promising to ride on the Seventh day to remember the miracle performed on that day.

And the people rejoiced - the princes and beggers alike.
No bike envy for me!!!!Lazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 4:22 PM
Penis envy, maybe, but I am secure in my bike. :)
Lifetime warranty or a crappy 1 year on a C40 that are more prone to break. No brainer. Don't say they don't break, because I have seen at least 5 on Ebay this year that were broken. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
No bike envy for me!!!!SimonRex
Aug 8, 2002 4:33 PM
This is not about "this bike is better than that bike". I said it was not rational. Sometimes the bike chooses us instead of the other way around. I have no say in the matter really. I am powerless.
Is that a Hustler on the floor on the right??? nmafrican
Aug 8, 2002 5:35 PM
No, myLazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 5:40 PM
girlfriend prefers porno videos. I'm a lucky guy.
LOL send pictures of her!! nmafrican
Aug 8, 2002 5:45 PM
Yep, been together forLazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 5:47 PM
15 years, need to watch porno after that long. She is an editor, all the books
Well I am still looking, single for 32 years.....african
Aug 8, 2002 5:55 PM
I am putting up a brave fight and just got rid of the last girlfriend, which was close wheww.
You know any ladies my age??
No, you're confused. If it's Sleazy's, it's a 'Playgirl'. nmspyderman
Aug 8, 2002 9:11 PM
Again with the gay stuff. Are you implyingLazywriter
Aug 9, 2002 4:11 AM
homosexuality is a bad thing because to use it as an insult against me implies that it is a bad thing. Homophobe.
do you know, for ONCE,weiwentg
Aug 9, 2002 5:43 AM
Lazy's right; we should cut the homophobia-related insults. he isn't any less of a jackass, but not even he deserves that.
Awww, good for you Lazy, you're politically correct...spyderman
Aug 9, 2002 11:42 PM
It was really meant as a joke, but I guess you're a little challenged in that arena... I was just taking a good-natured shot at you, but you've decided you're only defense was to play the PC card.

So, does it make you feel better to call me a name and put me in a catagory?

I don't fear homosexuality, I just don't condone of it. I also don't condone of people who practice beastiality or pedophilia either.

Homosexuality is an unhealthy lifestyle that NBC has brought primetime with 'Will & Grace'. Now it's tres-sheik to have a gay sit-com... Why, because of ratings and money, that's all. Hmmm, when will Jack die from AIDS? Never, it won't be good for ratings.

Need we accept everything the idiot box tells us???

Look at what it's done to South Africa and Haiti. Now it's starting to rip through China. How about writing a sit-com about that? You can't say homosexuality has been good for mankind.

It doesn't matter to me what you or anyone else thinks. I'm proud that I have a different set of morals than what's PC.
You must be counting dented Colnago Dream Plus.elviento
Aug 8, 2002 6:31 PM
5+ broken C40s this year? No way. Even the ones you saw are probably old models too, right?
No, within the past 12 months I have seenLazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 7:13 PM
C40s broken at the headtube and bb. The sellers claimed it was an easy "few hundred dollar" repair on a couple of them. From what I hear, good luck with Colnago getting it fixed anytime soon. My LBS sells Colnagos, but dreads any warranty or out of warranty repairs as they cannot even guess how long it would take. One was sent 11 months ago and fell into the abyss.
One year warranty on a frame over 3 grand???? Cmon, that is just wrong and you know it. Nice bike though, but just a scary proposition.
And the Lord said, "Haul ass." And ass was hauled.Sintesi
Aug 9, 2002 7:48 AM
You sure it wasn't Satan masquerading as God on your shoulder saying, "Buy a Colnago? " God is a rational being, I think the devil makes you do it.
; )
magnum, i thought you had already bought one.(nm)rufus
Aug 8, 2002 4:57 PM
I want God to tell my wife to get me a seven...n.m.koala
Aug 8, 2002 5:46 PM
don't you mean a 69 nmafrican
Aug 8, 2002 5:54 PM
don't you mean a 69 nmkoala
Aug 8, 2002 7:37 PM
No, I already have that...
very original choice (here I go again)ET
Aug 8, 2002 8:22 PM
Everyone covets the same thing. Can't anyone covet, say, a Ciocc? It's still Italian, it's less well known, has an air of mystique about it, you can dream it's the best frame in the world. Ciocc. Now *that's* worth coveting. :-)
I do not covet a Colnago...Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 8, 2002 9:49 PM
I think Colnago riders are the ones with the issue, in not accepting that there are other Italian frames out there...

If Colnago introduced a frame made out of toilet rolls and held together with sticky tape, I think most Colnago riders would swear black and blue it was the best thing since sliced bread and actually buy it.

Just my rant for this afternoon!
I covet ability more than the ride. ButPhatMatt
Aug 9, 2002 5:41 AM
I wpuld like anything carbon for my next ride. Or maybe even a Da Rosa or Prince.

Matt
There IS a bike I REALLY wantRayBan
Aug 9, 2002 6:05 AM
Of course I will not get it until I win on ANY type of lottery ticket that will cover the price.
I'm lovin the Derosa KING and the Fondriest carbon frame.
Ya came here for understanding, right? Brother, I understand.djg
Aug 9, 2002 8:14 AM
For me it was a CT1. Didn't need it by any stretch of the imagination. And yet, I sorta did.

Bought it nine months ago and the evil bike lust monkey lies dormant still.