RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Frame pumps, suggestions please(9 posts)

Frame pumps, suggestions pleasetreeman
Aug 8, 2002 7:59 AM
Hi everyone,

I looked at the MTB review board regarding pumps and it seems like all the brand loyalists just bash each other, making the reviews worthless. I am looking for a road bike pump and I have a compressor to take care of daily maintenance.

Mini vs. "full size" - most say stay away from the minis, but they sure look so nice, light, and compact. Do any of them work good enough to get up to 90 - 100 lbs for the occasional flat?

Brands/model - besides Silca, is there one or two pumps out there that are the "standard/best" one that everyone tends to buy? Back in the old days, there was only Zefal - now there are too many choices.

Any other advice? Tthank you all.
i find compact fineSteve_0
Aug 8, 2002 8:14 AM
Certainly wont get to 120 psi, but certainly hard enough to (easily) pedal home 40 miles.

Bonus being it fits in the back pocket.

I heard a rumor that blackburn went out of business? anyone?
Blackburnjoekm
Aug 8, 2002 10:57 AM
I don't know, I tried to get a new FP-1 for my new bike frame (I definately liked that pump). Anyway, wasn't able to find one. Wound up getting a mini with a pressure gage on it. Pressure gage does not seem to be too accurate and it does take some effort to get sufficient pressure.
re: Frame pumps, suggestions pleasefracisco
Aug 8, 2002 8:47 AM
I have one of the Blackburn full-length pumps that fits underneath my top tube. It looks old fashioned, since it seems like everybody these days uses CO2, but it works, and it has come in handy helping other people, too.
re: Frame pumps, suggestions pleasefbg111
Aug 8, 2002 8:54 AM
I was deciding about this recently too. My LBS dealer let me open a mini and try it out. Could barely get it above 100. I bought a full-size for home and a CO2 for the underseat pouch instead. Saves weight on the bike too.
re: Frame pumps, suggestions pleaseAndy M-S
Aug 8, 2002 10:12 AM
Two words (sort of): Zefal hPX.

And two questions:

What good is something that looks good and stores nicely if it doesn't work?

What's wrong with something moderately ugly if it does the job?

And a statement:

There might be a weight difference, but not much of one. The Zefal pump will be there when you need it, and sometime, you will need it.
Second the Zefal hpX, and I HATE compactscory
Aug 8, 2002 10:20 AM
I have a lot of flats--average one every 40-50 miles here in thorn country--and I've tossed out all my CO2 inflators and given away the compact pumps. Who needs 300 strokes to get to pressure? Who needs a $2 cartridge going pfffft through a faulty seal, so you're walking? I resurrected my 15+ year old Zefal, then bought a new one on sale, and I can't tell the difference between them in the way they work or feel. I've tried at least a dozen frame pumps, and this is the ONLY one that always works and lasts forever.
re: Frame pumps, suggestions pleasexxl
Aug 8, 2002 10:21 AM
Zefal pumps, at least the hpX series, are just excellent pumps. Light, strong, and easy to use, I prefer them over others I've had. They're really not that much weightier than minis, and it's frameweight, so it's just not a big deal. I've used Silcas and Blackburns, but I like the Zefal stuff.

I'm not a fan of CO2, because I'm always paranoid about running out of them (yes, even though I haven't had two flats in one ride in years--did I mention "paranoid?") They work, I guess, but for me the advantages don't mean that much; for you, they might.
I have 3.shortstroke
Aug 8, 2002 4:14 PM
I carry a compact Blackburn "on bike" for short rides and to save weight. Pumping up to 100lbs. gets really difficult and but I consider it a short range temporary fix. For longer rides I have a Topeak "Morph". It's much easier to pump up to higher pressures. At home base I have a Joe Blow.
If I were to only have one, it would have be the "Morph". It's a little larger and heavier than the compacts, but the foot step and flexible tube make it easy to use.