RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What does Lance earn?(20 posts)

What does Lance earn?Psychler
Aug 8, 2002 4:13 AM
Just curious what Lance Armstrong nets on a race like the TDF? After paying his "people" what does he walk away with? What do his teammates walk away with?
re: What does Lance earn?ClydeTri
Aug 8, 2002 4:40 AM
Wasnt overall worth $330,000 or so? and stage wins were worth $20, 000 or so, plus other winnings for the second/third/etc places...they pool all their winnings and divide it with the mechanics, cooks, director, masseuses, etc all getting an equal share also I have read..so, he didnt make the big bucks off this...his big money comes from his endorsements...bottom line is directly from the TDF Lance gets the same as anybody else on the team. HIs money is in salary and before mentioned endorsements.
Close to nothing,TJeanloz
Aug 8, 2002 5:10 AM
Almost all of the actual prize money from the Tour will be distributed to the team and support people. This is typical for the winner, who will make many times the purse in endorsements. The prize money of ~$400,000 isn't enough to really impact Lance's earnings (which are estimated at around $15 million a year), but it is plenty to impact Floyd Landis or Benoit Joachim. In fact, those guys will probably get Tour bonuses paid above and beyond the prize money.

The net result is that annual prize money usually gets pooled, and distributed through some system, but because of the earnings structure, Lance probably doesn't draw from the pool.
Close to nothing,firstrax
Aug 8, 2002 5:22 AM
Lance throws in 250,000 of his own money before dividing it among the crew.
Less than nothingmr_spin
Aug 8, 2002 6:35 AM
If he takes no share, and puts in his own money, that isn't close to nothing. That's less than nothing. :)
did he do it this year too? nmcyclopathic
Aug 8, 2002 10:04 AM
He never even gets the TdF money...NPA
Aug 8, 2002 6:00 AM
i just read an article where he was talking about the french trying to stick him with a tax bill for his '99 winnings. according to lance the money is sent directly to a U.S. cycling body (can't remember exactly which one) and they cut the money up and send it to the team. this just happened, so you can bet he'll get 3 more tax bills soon. unfortunately for the french authorities, he has sold his house in france, so there is nothing for them to seize when he doesn't pay. i think his salary is something like $5 million, plus about $10 million in endorsements. he also earns $200,000 per speaking engagement.
USPS contract is 5 years $25 Million ($5M per year)Terrapin
Aug 8, 2002 6:25 AM
There was an article recently on MSNBC or something that quoted some postal employees upset at the size of the contract, when the USPS is cutting jobs, etc.
USPS contract is 5 years $25 Million ($5M per year)ClydeTri
Aug 8, 2002 10:52 AM
I understand that the $25M goes to the team , not Lance..and over three years...
$25 million is Lance's Money.Lazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 1:36 PM
Most ever for a cyclist, obviously.
Dough... $25MM goes to the team. Lance earns abt $10MMspyderman
Aug 8, 2002 9:35 PM
No, Lance signed a $25 million contract. Get yoiur facts right.Lazywriter
Aug 9, 2002 4:24 AM
re: What does Lance earn?Matno
Aug 8, 2002 9:44 AM
Not sure about the TdF itself, but a recent article on Lance (I think it was the one in Sports Illustrated, but I can't remember) said his total earnings are about $20 million a year. How would it be to get paid that kind of money to do something you enjoy as much as Lance obviously does?
re: What does Lance earn?yeah right
Aug 8, 2002 12:07 PM
don't get me wrong, i like riding my bike as much as the next guy, and I'm willing to make some sacrifices for a better ride/body, but I think I'd hate life as Lance. Food weighed out to the gram every day, pretty much can only have any decent tasting foor (or brew) about two months of the year, and then only in moderation...riding waaay past the point of having fun every day, in whatever conditions are present. Not seeing your wife for more than a couple of hours a day, not getting to see your kids grow up. I think this is truly what makes Lance what he is, not only the physical giftedness, but his singlemindedness for riding. It's something I know I couldn't do, and probably true for all the cat 1s/2s around here. I understand why people like Jaja cut off their careers well before they'd have to.

Just think, schumi makes 30 a year for driving a car.
Oh please, Lance's sacrifices now are wellLazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 1:41 PM
worth it. I have seen people justify their own lives, but for you to say you feel sorry for Lance and you'd hate his life is pretty stupid.
If you had the ability or opportunity to make $25 million plus endorsements in a 5-7 year period, you would not take the opportunity??? Please, of course you would. Yes. Lance has to suffer a little now and sacrafice, but he and his family will be secure for several lifetimes. Don't feel so bad. Ridiculous.
wow, someone might have a different opinionyeah right
Aug 8, 2002 2:32 PM
first, learn to read. i never said i feel sorry for lance, just that i couldn't bring myself to do the same things he can get himself to do, and you know what, that's fine.

second, learn to appriciate an opinion. i'm saying, and i'll repeat it for you, that i wouldn't be willing ( notice the use of "I" ) to make those sacrifices for whatever money you'd throw infront of me, nor would i want the spotlight.

third, if you thought lance's sacrifices were well worth it, then why aren't you out training right now instead of writing know it all, punk remarks. i'm pretty sure you could at least be a pro cyclist, especially with your nice litespeed and all, if you did even 90% as much work as he does.

yep i'm stupid, i make rediculous remarks, but at least i don't have to be a jerk about it.
So, if you suddenly had the talent to become the TDFLazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 3:29 PM
winner and potentially make enough money so you wouldn't need to worry ever again, you would pass? I am not talking about selling your soul or harming someone for the $, but to make history in a sport you apparently love enough to waste your time on this board, I have my doubts in what you say.
It is like the person who says if they hit the lottery for $60 million, they woudl still keep their jobs. Morons. People sometimes cannot envision the unrealistic, but if someone came along and offered you a $25 million contract to race even at you level, you would pass?
I'd hate to be your business partner or wife. Or are you a multi-millionaire already???
So, if you suddenly had the talent to become the TDFyeah right
Aug 8, 2002 3:57 PM
the point of what i was saying is that i like riding a bike, but i don't think i could/want make myself train, and give up a lot of things to become a rider like lance, even if i was physically gifted. if i magically had the stuff when i woke up one morning sure, i'd ride and i'd take the money, no doubt. and, if i really liked my job and won the lottery, i'd probably keep it, what else would i do? i'm a student, not a wealthy man, and i think i'd make a pretty good husband, not just because i'll be an engineer and I'll make good enough money, but because I'll actually put them before a desire to make a huge amount of money. a friend of mine's dad is the president of a big cell phone company, huge house nice cars everything, and his parent's are getting divorced. the wife's first comment: i wish we could go back to that little apartment we lived in after we got married. don't call me an idiot until you understand what i'm saying, or else it reflects on you.
you speak wisely for one so young, may the force be with you nmafrican
Aug 8, 2002 5:49 PM
You sound like the television showLazywriter
Aug 8, 2002 7:18 PM
Kung Fu. "Oh Grasshoppa". wierdo.