RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody going to see LeMond Friday in Boulder?(28 posts)

Anybody going to see LeMond Friday in Boulder?Pack Meat
Aug 7, 2002 2:16 PM
I think this might be interesting. It's funny, when I lived in the Midwest I would have killed to see something like this, now I don't know if I'm going to drive 30 minutes to see to of Americas greatest cyclists. I think Andy Hampsten is going to be there also.

Saturn Cycling Classic/A Night with Greg LeMond, Boulder, CO. Fri. Aug. 10th, 5:30pm-9pm
Description: Get psyched for the Saturn Cycling Classic!!
Come celebrate the 25th anniversary of Pearl Street Mall and have a great time at the Sports Expo on 14th street between Pearl and Spruce St., from 4pm-7pm, then Greg (4 time winner of the Tour de France) will speak in the Boulder Theatre from 7-9. Stay after-hours as your ticket will be good to participate in “Disco Night” after the event.
NopeLO McDuff
Aug 7, 2002 2:35 PM
Tried to see him at Wheat Ridge Cyclery a few years ago but the crush of people was incredible. I am not going this time because I can't stand going down to Pearl Street anymore. The bums on the Mall have become *very* aggressive over the past couple of years.

(I've become what my grandmother used to call a "Fuddy Duddy".)
you are a fuddy duddyColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 7:50 AM
cmon now. i have 2 kids and have absolutely NO problem avoiding the bums on pearl street. if they ask for $ I just say no or ignore them. it's that simple. never been hassled ONCE and I go down there all the time. If you really want to avoind them, just stay away from the block by the courthouse. they all hang out there.
..and most homeless are good people with mental illnessKSC
Aug 8, 2002 8:34 AM
or addiction problems. Very few are a danger to the population. Just to raise some social awareness.
or, in Boulder,TJeanloz
Aug 8, 2002 9:07 AM
The homeless in Boulder seem generally to be rebellious children of the middle class, aggressively begging for gas money for their BMW.

And I'm not making that up. Though, of course, there is a much smaller population of 'real' homeless people.
Yeah...what's up with that?ColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 9:44 AM
My guess is that panhandling makes more $ than a job at the bagel shop would. Plus you can get stoned or drunk while you do it. I don't give them a cent. there was a recent article talking about how much $ these people get just for holding up a sign asking for money. it was something like $100 a day. the panhandlers said that after 10am they made more money holding up a sign than doing day labor. i'm not immune to the plight of the homeless and metally ill, but i'm not gonna subsidize someone's drug/alcohol habit or give them easy money because they not willing to work a real job.
Yeah...what's up with that?TJeanloz
Aug 8, 2002 9:47 AM
I think it's just the perception of coolness. This is a group of people that revel in filth, and panhandling is an acceptable (even admirable) way to bumble through their youth.

At times, it has seemed rather appealing, as they appear to have no concerns, worries, or responsibilities. Sometimes I think I'd like that.
begging for gas moneyTomS
Aug 8, 2002 10:24 AM
I've seen a lot people with "standed, need money to get back home" type signs. My first thought is "well, maybe you should have planned a little better before you hitched a ride out here". Then I realize I sound like my parents :(

But seriously, I agree that the majority of panhandlers on/around pearl street are there more out of choice than anything. It's sad because once in a while I see someone who looks like they might actually need help, and they're not the ones who are most aggressively begging for money.
you are a fuddy duddyLO McDuff
Aug 8, 2002 2:33 PM
This was true with me as well -- up until last summer. The first time, I was walking with my wife and two kids, and a neighbor who happens to be a Boulder County Sheriff and his kids. I got asked for some spare change from a kid. I said "no" and continued walking. The guy gets in my face (about 4 inches from my nose) and starts yelling at me. I walk around him and he grabs me. Bad move on his part. My neighbor grabs him puts him in an arm lock and asks me to get Boulder City PD. I take the kids and get the cop. (Yeah, I could've taken him, but I decided to get the cop ;-))

I have lived in Boulder for 23 years, the city and Pearl Street have changed so much, not always for the better. I hate to go downtown.

On subsequent occasions (with kids!), I've been asked whether I want to buy pot or X.
Not to take anything from Greg, but he's a 3 time tdf winner - not 4. (nm)jtferraro
Aug 7, 2002 7:30 PM
and you have won it exactly haw many times?husker
Aug 8, 2002 2:36 AM
Greg is a stud, and very underrated in American Cycling (yes, I believe this). He could have won it more times with a more favorable team and no hunting injury. Your statement, even if made in jest, is just plain stupid.
"haw" should be "how." Sorry. (nm)husker
Aug 8, 2002 3:01 AM
Easy does it...jtferraro
Aug 8, 2002 5:15 AM
I can't agree more that he is an incredible athlete - honestly. I'm sure he could have won it 4 times, too!! I have an incredible amount of respect for him, Lance, anybody who does the TDF...in fact, anybody who even races at all! Perhaps even you! Really, I mean that. I am simply stating the facts. I think calling my remark "stupid" is a bit overboard. Facts aren't stupid.

-Jeff
Also...I'd LOVE to be there and would LOVE to see him!! (nm)jtferraro
Aug 8, 2002 5:17 AM
That's irrelevant;TJeanloz
Aug 8, 2002 5:48 AM
It is true that LeMond only won three tours, and I think everybody's a little sick of his "could have" crap. If he's making the actual claim that he won four times, it is absolutely ridiculous.

Not to say that he was anything less than an amazing athlete; his personality just leaves something to be desired.
very true...though you could say that of many famous peopleColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 7:52 AM
for instance, i'm a HUGE neil young fan and am readin his latest bio called shakey. he sounds like he is a real a$$hole most of the time. still love his music though.
they probably refer to '85cyclopathic
Aug 8, 2002 9:51 AM
when he worked for Hinault. That was truly Greg's tour, not like '96 when Jan was working for Riis and Riis helped Jan to second.

Personality wise I'd take Greg over Lance any time of day or night.
I'll be there. . .js5280
Aug 7, 2002 8:52 PM
Should be interesting, I'll give a full report by next week. Actually Greg gets a nice write up in some of the Saturn Cycling literature they sent me. I didn't realize that his career was cut short because of mitochondrail myopathy (say that three times fast). Also he lost out on a chance for Olympic gold because of the boycott of the Olympics back in 1980. Definately not the luckiest guy in the peloton. I'm planning catch the race in the morning and will bring the digital camera with too.

JS5280
RBR Reporter, Boulder/Denver Office ;-)
Also NopeRickC5
Aug 8, 2002 5:23 AM
We moved to Aurora from Louisville (just outside of Boulder) 2.5 years ago, and I positively dread the drive to The People's Republic of Boulder. Its mass insanity on four wheels, complicated by the "Boulder mentality" once you arrive. If Greg was to appear in downtown Denver, I'd be there in a heartbeat, but not in Boulder, thank you.

OTOH, we're likely to chase the Saturn Classic through the mountains on Saturday. At least that's our current plans.
Why not ride your bike?TJeanloz
Aug 8, 2002 5:51 AM
It's easy enough. South Boulder road to Cherryvale, relatively empty bike path the rest of the way.
think he said he's in aurora nowColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 7:58 AM
that's south denver. i suppose you could find a route to boulder, but it wouldn't be pretty. rode to denver during bike to work day and it was brutal. not the mileage, but riding dillon road to washington to the platte river trail was not a very safe bike route.
You're right,TJeanloz
Aug 8, 2002 8:30 AM
I read it backwards as from Aurora to Loserville.

My mistake. You would have to be crazy to ride your bike from Aurora to Boulder.
What is the "Boulder mentality"?KSC
Aug 8, 2002 7:51 AM
What happens to you when you enter Boulder that is so adverse? Do people throw rocks at you when you try to pick up a hamburger at McDonalds? I lived in Boulder two years and still drive there fairly often and never encounter atrocities as I enter city limits. Sure traffic is bad, but it's bad everywhere in Metro Denver. I really want to understand, why are some people so loathesome of the thought of even driving near this town?? (esp. from a cyclist!)
Nope...I think it is mostly a mythColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 8:13 AM
There are all types here. If I had to say anything about the Boulder Mentality it would be that the town is getting more conservative rather than liberal. Denverites have always joked about the Boulder loonies and strange government here, but maybe they are just jealous. Not to say there are no wackos here, but they are mostly harmless and add to the local flavor in my opinion.
For the record I think the same way about AuroraColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 7:56 AM
Armpit of Denver IMO. Every house looks the same. Crime, Gangs. You can have it. People knock Boulder all the time, but I've never lived anywhere I like better. The "Boulder Mentality" is pretty much a myth in my opinion. All types here from right wing conservatives to hippies--always has been.
Agree with thatLO McDuff
Aug 8, 2002 2:43 PM
There are all types here. The populace does seem to be getting more conservative as evidenced by the rejection of several ballot initiatives (the special taxing disticts for bus passes, and the "Affordable Housing" Tax. More conservative refers to the general direction of the change in political views; no one will mistake us for Colorado Springs.

That said, I sure hope we can get rid of some of the loony-toons city council members in the near future.
Agree with both of you.RickC5
Aug 9, 2002 4:41 AM
Especially the bit regarding Aurora as the "Armpit of the Metro Area". I totally agree. I should point out that we live in the far South-East part of Aurora, which is pretty nice, but the term "armpit" still fits most of Aurora. I avoided Aurora before we moved here, like most folks from Boulder, but now it seems OK.

Sorry, but after living in Boulder County for 14+ years, moving to Aurora was a bit of culture change that I liked. Maybe I'm just too old and crotchety to put up with the tree-huggers that seem to prevail in Boulder politics. Oh well.
yeah and ron kiefel too (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 8, 2002 7:48 AM