RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


City Ordence regarding bikes(14 posts)

City Ordence regarding bikesPhatMatt
Aug 7, 2002 11:00 AM
the website is
http://ordlink.com/codes/saltlkco/index.htm
got to section 11 on tranpertation to see more regardig this.
11.32.020 License--Required--Fee.

It is unlawful for any person to ride a bicycle upon any of the streets, alleys, sidewalks or public ways of the county until the bicycle has been registered, licensed, and is displaying the proper license, as provided in this chapter, or after the license has been suspended or revoked. Before being so registered and licensed, every bicycle must be inspected with relation to its frame number, operating condition, brakes, warning device, reflector and handlebars. Any license issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be valid until the transfer of ownership of the bicycle, or until the bicycle license so issued is destroyed, lost or mutilated, at which time such bicycle shall again be inspected, registered and licensed as provided in this chapter. The fee to be paid for each bicycle license or relicense shall be one dollar, payable in advance. (Prior code § 21-8-2)

I have never heard of this being enforce in the city. But damn what is next.
re: City Ordence regarding bikesgregario
Aug 7, 2002 11:11 AM
big deal. I remember registering my bike in my home town when I was a kid. Don't know if they do it anymore. Got a registration sticker for the frame. It's only a buck and maybe it will placate the annoyed drivers, at least a little bit. Does it give any legal RIGHTS? is it a new thing?
re: City Ordence regarding bikesPhatMatt
Aug 7, 2002 11:46 AM
It is a slow day here at work. There is an entire section on this. It seems more endepth than just a sticker form the way it reads. It isone of those laws that probably should not be on the books.

Matt
Same here ... in Richmond VA it was fifty cents ...Humma Hah
Aug 7, 2002 2:53 PM
... I got a neat little license plate and the police got the serial number. The bike was stolen and stripped, but the police DID recover the frame and it was returned to me.

I registered my new MTB in California. There, a statewide registration program is available for $2. They check serial numbers against a list of stolen bikes.

Frankly, I wish we had one where I am now! Maybe not a requirement, but a great idea. Perhaps it won't get your bike back, but if enough people would do it, it would be really hard to unload stolen bikes.
What is the fee for Cycling Without a License?TypeOne
Aug 7, 2002 11:14 AM
That's hilarious! I think it would be worth it to get the bike inspected by some government chump just to have a license. What a keepsake. Would the licensing department even know what to do??
If you don't pay a jaywalking ticket...mr_spin
Aug 7, 2002 11:49 AM
...do they take away your shoes?

Just curious.
Well...Here's what happens:Spoke Wrench
Aug 7, 2002 12:11 PM
Some young misguided adolescent decides he's too tired to walk all the way home. So what does he do? He "borrows" a bicycle that isn't locked and rides it most of the way home. When he gets to about a block from home, rather than explain the "borrowed" bike to his parents, he dumps it into a convenient creek.

Eventually, the local policeman in the neighborhood finds the bike and takes it back to the stationhouse. If the rightful owner hasn't reported it stolen, or doesn't know the serial number, the police have no way of knowing who it belongs to, but they can't really just throw it away either. Eventually it creates a storage problem. City bicycle liscensing programs were developed to reduce the storage problem.

While this situation doesn't apply very directly to most of us, keep in mind that bike store bikes only account for about 85% of the total bicycle market and that the majority of bike store bikes sell for less than $500.00.
my city...phlegm
Aug 7, 2002 12:17 PM
Section 4-1-03 Licenses required.

No person who resides within the City shall ride or propel a bicycle on any street or upon any public lane set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles, unless such bicycle has been licensed, and a license sticker is attached thereto as provided in this chapter.

Yeah, my city has something similar, and they want $3 for a license. I don't plan on reporting my 4 bicycles.
Disregard this city ordinance!Breakfast
Aug 7, 2002 1:38 PM
Call your city officials and ask what programs are currently being employed to promote cycling saftey, prevent bicycle theft, provide recreational activities for cyclists, and increase public cycling awareness or encourage bicycling commuting. If they say nothing or very little is currently promoted tell them you cannot support licensing schemes such as this city ordinance.

Also, ask where the money goes and how much is budgeted yearly.

Do not admit to owning bikes while having this conversation on the phone. Just let them wonder.
the only thing that worries me... (nazi bike laws)phlegm
Aug 7, 2002 3:14 PM
What happens if something bad happens to my bike (with or without me on it)? Are the police going to write me a $25 ticket because I report it to them?

Section 4-1-26 Violations: Penalties.
No fine imposed for a violation of the provisions of this chapter (about bicycles) shall be less than Twenty-five and no/100ths ($25.00) Dollars.

Also, notice the ridiculously vague speed laws:

Section 4-1-18 Speed.
No person shall operate a bicycle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing.
Why do dog owners get licenses and cat owners don't?Breakfast
Aug 7, 2002 6:17 PM
Aren't dog owners contributing to the animal regulation services of cities and counties while their feline owning neighbors get off paying little or nothing?

The fines for violations perpetrated by motorists are sufficient for funding government needs. Enforcing fines against bicyclists, of whom scofflaws are often times minors with no money, is not practical. Contributing to the problem for government would be lack of a specific bicycle operators license and a state and nationwide bicycle registration system similar in complexity or efficiency to DMV's.

Why contribute to a non-system? Avoid the scheme and don't pay for a stupid city bike sticker that does nothing for cyclists in general.
Govt.organized theftakatdog
Aug 7, 2002 2:57 PM
Or they could do like the UC Davis campus police and go around putting flyers on your bikes telling you to get them licensed. If you don't license them or leave them parked and locked to a rack for any length of time (i.e.school vacations)They come cut the lock claim the bike for themselves and auction them off. Couple hundred bike several times a year. Great for the people looking for good deals on new and used bikes that the police get their hands on bad for the people who lose their rides. Oh and the $3 license must be renewed each year. But then again they also charge you several hundred dollars to fight for a parking space on the outskirts of campus after you've paid them a god aweful amount of money to attend. Sorry just a rant form a guy who just paid $11 bucks for a piece of paper with my grades rubber stamped by a secretary.
Govt.organized theft prevention ...Humma Hah
Aug 7, 2002 3:05 PM
... renewing the license each year is a fundraiser, and confiscating unlicensed bikes is unreasonable. I'd fight that.

But those communities charging a buck or two for you to permanantly register your serial number with them are doing you an invaluable service. The places I've been with bike registration are that way. If most people would do it, the police could catch the bastards who steal bikes to sell.
Minneapolice state : no liscence = IMPOUNDoff roadie
Aug 8, 2002 8:24 AM
Bike liscences are manditory in Minneapolis, and cost $10 for 3 years. It is fully legal for a police officer to demand you stop your bike and show the lisecence sticker, and for them to IMPOUND the bike if you don't have one.

It is rarely enforced, EXCEPT when the police want to break up a "critical mass ride", and then they show up with a flatbed truck to cart all the bikes away! Then they complain about the "rioting protestors". Hell, if they did the same thing on the Lake of the Isles MUT, there would be a much nastier protest, and probably some serious violnce!

The sad thing is, a recent police audit found that of all the cases where they police had liscend bikess in thier custody, only 15% resulted in an ATTEMPT to contact the liscend owner. That's not a 15% return rate- that means the cops only TRIED to return 15% of the regestered bikes they had! Ludicrous but true.