RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


about to grad from college(25 posts)

about to grad from collegeJackDanielsFSU
Aug 7, 2002 5:53 AM
I am about to grad from college with a degree in mechanical engienering. I am looking for a job and was wondering what cities are good for commuting. I want to find a city to live in that is friendly to bikers and would be an easy commute to the downtown area or whereever jobs in the engineering field are. I live in the detroit area now and commuting to a job down in detroit isnt a thing i would do. I am prety much open to moving anywhere but staying in michigan would be ideal for me. Any suggestions?
NYC is ideal for commuting in my opinion. (nm)onespeed
Aug 7, 2002 6:11 AM
Ideal?!?velocity
Aug 7, 2002 10:45 AM
It's a suprisingly good place to commute but it's certainly not commuting nirvana. It's a lot more hectic city to commute in, say, than SF. It's never boring certainly. Within the city limits the road surfaces generally suck. You never know who (or what) you'll run into (or will run into you for that matter). When riding past cars stuck in traffic ya gotta always watch for the peds who'll suddenly jump out from between parked cars. When moving through an intersection with the right of way ya always have to watch out for and maneuver past the jaywalkers. And, finally, going a mile in city traffic feels like 10 miles on a country road.
all reason's why it's better than mostdaneil
Aug 7, 2002 11:34 AM
i Within the city limits the road surfaces generally suck.
so you learn some advanced handling skills. I have broken cobbles around the corner from my west village apartment would put europe to shame.
Jaywalkers, flying doors, quick braking cabs, nonsignaling police cars and small dogs are all part of the fun. They teach you how to do some wicked impressive track stands (nothing is more impressive imho than sliding into a track stand from a 25 mph sprint infront of the hapless fool who not only crossed against the light, but didn't look first.) Oh and on that note it's only the tourists up in the midtown area that dart out into the road without looking. down here we have crossing against the light perfected as an art form and uptown you're just plain stupid to cross against the 50mph cabs, limo's and towncars that fly north of 60th st.

But as i said in the beginning, it's all part of the fun.
mostly agree but not only tourists uptownvelocity
Aug 7, 2002 12:12 PM
Riding in NYC is certainly technical. But I don't think we locals have jaywalking down to an art form just yet. I live/work downtown. So many peds jaywalk with their backs to oncoming traffic as if they're invincible and daring you to strike them down.
true, true. still nothing compared to...daneil
Aug 7, 2002 12:29 PM
going home (downtown) from weekend central park training rides at 3 in the afternoon. I'm more likely to get hit by a youngster running out into the middle of the street because their parents/siblings are too busy looking up at the giant talking cell phones or the enormous times square jumbotron. although the absolute worst is when a jumbo walks right infront of you because he/she is too busy watching the jumbrotron. or staring at the billboards advertising underware. god i love billboards.
jumbos starin' at jumbotronsvelocity
Aug 7, 2002 12:40 PM
lately i've haven't been returning that way from my training rides because of what you're saying. maybe i need to move out of the big apple. but damn there's nothing quite like it!
re: about to grad from collegeEricBH
Aug 7, 2002 6:24 AM
I live in Ann Arbor and work in the auto buisness around here. With how tight the job market is - especially for ME's around here I would'nt limit myself to a particular area. If you can find something in A2, I think that would be a pretty friendly commuting area. I bike around A2 quite a bit and you can even find bike lanes. In A2, check out Toyota, DANA, PAL, and some of the agency companies. A manpower search on A2 should show what's out there. Good luck. I graduated in a similar downturn back in 91' and it took me a looooong time to find a job.
2nd nyc...daneil
Aug 7, 2002 6:24 AM
commuting here is ideal and as a plus you get to wear the nyc badge of courage. so get down here and trail that messenger through 9am canal st traffic my friend. plus we have car-free central park on the weekend, racing in both central and prospect parks and the henry hudson parkway for those early am training rides along the river. can't beat it.
i recommend 48 spoke wheels 4X for canal street :-) NmSpirito
Aug 7, 2002 6:40 AM
NYC, Wash. DC, Santa Fe, NM, Anywhere in OregonNJRoad
Aug 7, 2002 6:38 AM
i cant believe thats a real considerationpukka
Aug 7, 2002 6:44 AM
no city is commuting friendly when its comes down to it,
DC is pretty nicepmf1
Aug 7, 2002 7:16 AM
They have a network of paved bike trails here. I ride 16 miles in and only am in traffic for one mile in downtown DC. A friend of mine rides in from Maryland through a national park (Rock Creek Park). Pretty hard to beat that.

When I bough my first and second house here, a prime criterion was how close to the bike path is it.

Yeah, its hot here in the summer, but the winters are pretty mild (esp compared to my former residence in Minnesota).
think aboutMJ
Aug 7, 2002 6:56 AM
travelling - you can work in the UK on BUNAC for six months if you were enrolled in university within the last 6 months - (your foreign studies office should have all the details)

London is great for commuting - you may not find a job in your area - but you may return to a better US job market later and you will have travelled and lived abroad... something that you may never have the opportunity to do again
San Diegorob45
Aug 7, 2002 7:00 AM
I don't think there's a better place in the US than San Diego for commuting (no one actually works in San Diego, but along the coastal strip north of the city). ALong the way, you can hop into a number of informal pacelines that form and cruise down some of the nicest coastline riding anywhere..lived there 10 years--rained on me riding maybe a dozen times total.
Check out Potland ORalansutton
Aug 7, 2002 7:35 AM
Bicycling Magazine just it #1.
I commute everyday.

www.trans.ci.portland.or.us/ bicycles/bicyclemaps.htm
ANN ARBOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!sidley
Aug 7, 2002 8:22 AM
I grew up in Detroit (not the suburb of) and now live in NYC. While commuting to or within Brooklyn/Manhattan would be fine, if you really want to stay in Michigan, move to Ann Arbor. I don't commute by bike because it is either really frinkin' hot here or raining. Very little in between. "Hot" to my Michiganian blood is anything over 75.

Indeed, if you are in Michigan why would you live anywhere else but Ann Arbor? I am sure you would be able to find a gearhead job in Ann Arbor proper or in the M23 corridor, which as I am sure you know, has a ton of engineering shops (the M23 corridor used to be nothing but pumpkin fields when I went to UofM).

When I move from NYC, I am moving back to Ann Arbor! Anyone out there in A2 need a good mid level litigation associate?
when you get there, give me a yellweiwentg
Aug 7, 2002 11:59 PM
the Ann Arbor Velo Club is full of cool guys.
oh yes, about that mid-level litigation thing. see my above post?
re: about to grad from collegeWrigleyRoadie
Aug 7, 2002 9:07 AM
Chicago is schizophrenic... if you're going downtown from a city neighborhood you can survive. However, I've taken way more than my share of abuse going from downtown to the far suburbs. I think Bicycling was overly generous in its review... while not as bad as Boston, we really only have the one Lake Front bike path to be proud of, and that is clogged with bladers, dogs, toddlers and cop cars from 8AM-8PM.
I wouldn't come to BostonAristotle
Aug 7, 2002 9:46 AM
I've lived here for years, and it's about as unfriendly to bikers as it can get. I've essentially given up riding anywhere near this city. I have to drive about 30 -45 minutes outside of the city if I want to have a reasonable chance of survival on my bike.
re: about to grad from collegejulio
Aug 7, 2002 9:51 AM
I recently graduated with an ME degree. I'm in California but have a lot of family in MI, if you like it there you should stay, there's a ton of industry and jobs for engineers. The price of a nice house in MI won't even buy you a cardboard box in CA... Most of the mechanical engineering jobs in CA are in the Bay or LA and they both suck in my opinion (no offense..) San Diego is cool but has grown so much in the past 5 years that it's starting to suck too. The job market is so bad right now that you should really consider where you will be able to find work in the near future. My advice is to sell your bike, buy a van and move down by the river, grow a mullet, and get used to the taste of government cheese......
NYC might be nice...mmquest
Aug 7, 2002 9:56 AM
but who can afford a bike when they are paying $2000/month for a one bedroom? ;)
$2,000 for a 1bdrm!! Where? (nm)sidley
Aug 7, 2002 1:21 PM
try chicagogetoffmywheel
Aug 7, 2002 12:14 PM
Not cycling utopia but if your looking for jobs you'll probably come across here. Plenty of marked lanes in the streets around the city, clean, plenty of good looking women, awesome summers, great real estate market, good cycling scene in near north suburbs with clubs, race teams, and a velodrome. Oh, and plenty of Jack Daniels thanks to all of the bars. Winters are tough but that's what cyclocross bikes are for.
DO NOT COME HERE Moving to NYC could be the difference fromLazywriter
Aug 7, 2002 3:11 PM
just "getting by" or having a more secure financial future. No matter what you do for a living, this is the most expensive area in the country and world for that matter. It is congested, noisy and dirty and I am from Brooklyn and love NYC unconditionally, but renting and apartment or buying one is not cheap.
$2000 a month for a shitbox is not unusual. Buying a 1 bedroom apartment could easily run you $450,000 and up. A tiny house outside in the burbs will run you $375,000 for a ranch house with 3 bedrooms. Need I say more?
This area has some advantages (no hillbillies), but to be able to save for your future and retire early is comforting. Mechanical Engineers make good livings, but not Wall Street analyst living(even these guys are in debt up to their asses). You need to make $85000-100000 minimum to just skate by. Delusions that you'll make more than that right away should be pushed aside and use better judgement now. If you have student loans and credit card debt already, you'll never get by.
The big city can run you $200 to party at clubs a night, more if you pick up a little ass. Do what you want but don't say you weren't warned. Plus it is just a matter of time until terrorism rears its ugly head again here. Something to think about when you are in the subways and tunnels.