RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New rider, looking at Trek WSD 2200(8 posts)

New rider, looking at Trek WSD 2200Chiquita
Aug 7, 2002 5:17 AM
any feedback on this bike? I have been MTBing for years but can't do it anymore due to a back injury. My MTB is a sloth on flats so I'm going to start road riding. My local shop doesn't stock this bike so it would be a special order at MSRP (they have nothing else that fits me either). Can you all comment on the components etc of this bike? My long term goals include duathlons maybe triathlons, but I don't want to get a tri specific bike right out of the gate, nor do I want to get bottom of the line and have to upgrade soon. Is this the bike?

Specs:

FRAME: Alpha SL Aluminum. Women's Specific Design. Super Light aluminum. Double-butted, seamless drawn tubing. Custom butted head tube. Stiff powerful elliptical chainstays. Cold forged replaceable derailleur hanger. WSD geometry. Handmade in the USA. 2.85 lb.
FORK: ICON OCLV Carbon Classic w/Cro-Moly steerer

WHEELS: Bontrager Select: Paired Spoke Technology™; Torque sharing super-stiff rear hub; Semi-deep front rim is aero yet forgiving; Rear rim w/OSB improves lateral rigidity, prolongs wheel life; Double butted 14/15 DT spokes; Cro-mo skewers; 835g, 20h front/1020g, 24h rear
TIRES: IRC, 650/700x25c front and rear

SADDLE: Bontrager FS 2000 WSD w/Cro-Moly rails
SEATPOST: Bontrager Race
HANDLEBARS: Bontrager Race
STEM: Bontrager Race, reversible 7°
HEADSET: STR w/1 steerer to 1 1/8" head tube adapter

SHIFTERS: Shimano Ultegra STI
FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano 105 T
REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano Ultegra GS
CRANKSET: Shimano Ultegra 52/42/30
CASSETTE: Shimano HG-70 12-25, 9spd

BRAKESET: Shimano 105 w/Shimano Ultegra STI levers
PEDALS: Shimano M515, clipless

Thanks.
Definitely a nice bike...jtferraro
Aug 7, 2002 5:35 AM
My girlfriend is planning on purchasing a women's specific road bike soon and the Trek WSD's are hard to beat. She purchased a 6700 WSD mountain bike this year and has been very happy w/it - even road 80 miles on the road(w/slicks) on it! I really believe in the WSD geometry and it truly makes a lot of sense!

Aluminum & Ultegra is, in a way, a real good "bang for the buck" combo, IMHO. She also has the same pedals on her bike and I think she is finally used to them(first set of clipless).

If you'd like to consider something other than aluminum, LeMond makes women's specific steel bikes that should ride a bit smoother.

Best of luck!

-Jeff
Definitely a nice bike...TommyRides
Aug 7, 2002 7:00 AM
I have a friend that rides the mens version of that bike and absolutely loves it! Fast and smooth and works great. Just another opinion.
thanks guys, another questionChiquita
Aug 7, 2002 8:58 AM
I've read some reviews and the seat and seat post were not highly regarded. I really don't know a thing about road bikes - even my MTB is about 12 years old (Trek 950 - no suspension whatsoever). I know the technology has changed dramatically and I'm completely overwhelmed. Anyway, does the standard seat and seat post on this 2200 look okay for an aluminum bike? I want the least jarring ride I can get b/c of the back problem. Should I consider ordering it with an upgrade right off the bat?

Also, a totally ignorant question - does "clipless" pedals mean I can use whatever shoes I want? Or should I upgrade immediately in order to spare the hassle later?

Okay be gentle - I'm a total neophyte!
Seats are a kind of "hunt and peck" thing.Spoke Wrench
Aug 7, 2002 9:10 AM
You might like the one that comes on the bike just fine. I'd suggest riding the original equipment seat at least long enough to figure out what you don't like about it. That way you'll have a better idea what to look for in your aftermarket seat.

I wouldn't worry about the seat post unless you decide that you want to buy your bike a present.

Clipless pedals means that you have to buy a pair of shoes to go with them. They work kind of like ski bindings. There's an acclimation process that goes with using clipless pedals, but I've never met anyone who, once acclimated, wanted to go back. I'd recommend buying the shoes and learning to use the clipless pedals right off the bat.
re: Seats are a kind of "hunt and peck" thingChiquita
Aug 7, 2002 5:33 PM
Thanks, Spoke Wrench. This is good advice about the seat & stem. I'm getting excited about this bike!

At least it'll be funny to my neighbors when I fall over a few (dozen?) times while learning to use the clipless pedals.
i think you'll like this bike with your backgroundcurtybirdychopper
Aug 7, 2002 2:39 PM
i bought a 2200 about 2 months ago to use for tri's and short or medium length rides. i also come from riding a stiff, rigid fork mtn bike that is still fine, though about 9yrs old.

you'll definitely be pleased with the comfort of the bike. the handlebars have plenty of flex and really seem to absorb lots of harshness, and the rest of the bike really feels comfy, again with respect to a stiffy mtn bike. the seat is probably as cushiony as you'll find, and I don't know how the seatpost compares to one that is Ti or carbon--it may suck, but it feels fine to me.

to me the bike feels quicker, and definitely lighter than a few of its steel competitors.

i'm pretty happy with the bike. thinking about it, i didn't really find many Alumi bikes in the price range with comparable components. you should be able to get one for around 1300 to 1400. i just saw one at the local shop for about 1349.

good luck!
Well I'm sold!Chiquita
Aug 7, 2002 5:24 PM
I'm going to order it in the next week I think. Stay tuned for many, many more newbie questions!!