RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


need your opinions(15 posts)

need your opinionsSuddha
Aug 2, 2002 7:31 AM
I am a new contributor to this forum, though I am a regular reader. I figured this would be a good group to ask for opinions...

A friend of mine is getting a new road bike and offered to sell me his old one. Wondering if I should buy it. It's a 2000 LeMond Chambery with 9-speed Ultegra, Aeroluminum frame, Rolf wheels and Time Stiletto fork. Seems to fit me fine. I am 6'2", 200 lbs. and this is a 61cm frame. I am currently riding a 99 Bianchi Campione - steel machine with Campy 8 speed Mirage, Rolf Vector Comps...

I think the LeMond will be a huge step up for me, in terms of stiffness, responsivenes and obviously weight. I know Al can be a bit harsh, but the bigger size (the frame and me) should dampen some of that I am hoping.

Any opinions on this bike? Price seems right and my friend has taken impeccable care of this bike.

I noticed that LeMond isn't making aluminum bikes anymore. Any known issues, problems?

Thanks for any feedback...
The only reason I can think of why Lemond isn't making alu...jtferraro
Aug 2, 2002 7:35 AM
Maybe b/c Trek bought them out and Trek makes aluminum? Lemond seems to make what Trek doesn't make - titanium and steel. I don't know - just a guess.

-Jeff
It's repositioning,TJeanloz
Aug 2, 2002 7:40 AM
LeMond sold aluminum bikes for a long time under the Trek umbrella- they've been owned by the Evil Empire for quite a few years now. There were even LeMond OCLV's for a while. I think Trek is trying to position LeMond as the steel/ti brand that caters to the old school of thought that remembers when LeMond won something. They'll probably build more traditional bikes, and that means steel (or ti, which from a sales standpoint, is just expensive steel).

The Trek brand has almost no steel and no ti- it's positioned for the racing now generation with OCLV and aluminum.
It's repositioning,Suddha
Aug 2, 2002 7:56 AM
Interesting...

I guess I should have said what my intent is with this bike. I am strictly a training rider - no races. I do a few training rides with teams, but no racing. I want something lighter and a bit faster. That steel Bianchi is murder on hills, though I love the ride.
"Bikes that look likescottfree
Aug 2, 2002 8:11 AM
bikes have always looked, made of the stuff that bikes have always been made of." Something like that. I should write their ads.

Seems like the old crowd, if they decide to go 'modern,' instinctively gravitate toward the Lemonds. I've felt the pull myself.
And interestingly...jtolleson
Aug 2, 2002 8:16 AM
the Lemond OCLV was ... ta daa! The Chambery. Then retooled in 1998 (I think) to be al. it was still the odd duck in the Lemond line.

Lemond's great niche is a slightly retro quality. The geometry, narrow tubeset, steel ride, and panel-oriented paint scheme speak of cycling's history.

They've got to have caught on that that's their biggest strength, rather than trying to compete with al offerings from 1/2 dozen great huge companies (including their own parent, Trek).
AL bikes are also likely cheaper to make (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 2, 2002 8:56 AM
re: need your opinionsNo_sprint
Aug 2, 2002 8:04 AM
Alu being harsh is a complete myth. Early alu was noodle like, early/mid 90s alu was just plain stiff as a rail, current alu is nice and stiff and plenty comfy. Steel just doesn't get stiff enough for me. Ti can, but at a huge cost.

Harshness comes from tubies at 200lbs. I have never seen any physical proof that alu *conducts* vibrations significantly better than Ti or steel.
re: need your opinionsJon Billheimer
Aug 2, 2002 8:08 AM
Take the bike for a long ride. If you like the ride, handling, and fit, buy it. If not, don't.
why does it follow that alu being harsh is a complete myth?ET
Aug 2, 2002 11:45 AM
You've said this before numerous times. I say just because it can be built a noodle doesn't mean it can be built not a noodle and not be harsh.

I say most performance alu bikes built today are, by comparison to other materials, harsh. Most (but not all) people say the same thing. On alu they feel more beaten up on longer or more frequent rides. They don't have to prove this scientifically in order to feel what they feel. Far from a myth.

No question that nicer alu is a lot better than it used to be. Still doesn't mean a typical high-performance alu is as comfy as today's nice steel, ti, and carbon. The reviews I've seen of even expensive, well-received alu bikes (Merckx, CAAD7) always emphasize the stiffness and performance, and talk about the comfort in passing, more along the lines of "sufficiently adequate" or "improved over the previous model", or that a big guy on a big frame won't feel the harshness.

If I want an uphill stage bike or a stiff racing bike for the shorter distances, there's nothing like alu (or Lance's bike :-)). If I want to go for long (but still fast-paced) or frequent rides, I'll choose something else, thank you.
So what would you do?Spoke Wrench
Aug 2, 2002 8:49 AM
If you owned Trek, LeMond, Klein and Gary Fisher, how would you differentiate between the brands in order to sell the greatest number of bikes and make the most profit?
So what would you do?yeah right
Aug 2, 2002 9:37 AM
trek- neo-racers and the i saw lance on tv market

lemond- remember when greg beat fignon?...and hinault with... man he was way better than lance market

klein- lawyers and doctors with extra money and an eye for finely finished products

fisher- smack dab at the middle of the mtb market, stay away from the low, but don't go into maverick territory either, with a broad range.

hey, wow, isn't that what they're actually doing.

oh, why don't we invent a guy named rolf, have him build some wheels, buy bontrager, slap name on some parts, create icon... now if we could only make our own drive trains says trek...
One thing...zooog
Aug 2, 2002 10:50 AM
you never mentioned price. No doubt your friend took good care of the bike but depending on the price you might be able to by something that is even better. Also, from what I have read the lemond geometry is different. Some love it and some dislike it. Just something to think about. I agree with the last poster. take it out for a ride ot two. If you like it and it fits your needs, BUY it.
priceSuddha
Aug 2, 2002 11:38 AM
$600. I can't imagine finding another light, nicely spec'd bike for that much. It rode well. Took it on a fairly hilly 30 mile ride and it felt great.

I was just wondering if anyone here had heard any bad stories about LeMond aluminum bikes - quality issues, etc. But it doesn't sound like it. And it was interesting to hear opinions about why LeMond stopped making al. bikes. So thanks all for your input.
priceyeah right
Aug 2, 2002 11:54 AM
crap, that's a no brainer, if it's working get it. i haven't heard anything bad about lemond al, and my school team used to ride them.

for 600 that's a good deal, and if the frame only works well for you for a few years, you've got decent parts to hang on a different one. good luck