RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


It's tool time...(22 posts)

It's tool time...AllisonHayes
Aug 1, 2002 6:47 PM
That Sears commercial for tools really grates me.

Husband: Looking admiringly at a powerdrill

Wife: Picks up another tool and politely says, "Why don't you get this one?"

Husband: Looking distainfully at his wife, "You really don't know a thing about me at all!"

Wife: Flinches and puts tool she is holding down.

Commercial fades.

(This guy is a tool and Sears is an even bigger tool for showing this commercial.)
I find that more often than not...Ahimsa
Aug 1, 2002 7:19 PM
...most ads accomplish little toward influencing me to consume products. Usually they are simply insulting to my intelligence, or appear to be from some lowest common denominator alternate universe where Britney Spears is talented and a good reason to buy fizzy brown sugar water.

Occasionaly I find ads grating. Mostly the ones where grown men are depicted as insufferable little boys to be "mommied" by their wives. Worse still is the all too common commercial family in which the husband is some doughy bald gump faced buffoon with a relatively slender beautiful wife. Are we to assume that this really represents what Joe Beergut deserves from womankind?

Ya never see a buff charming gentleman with a plain jane or fattish wife in these things.

What gives?

And the kids! They are always so sweet it is sickening and usually "creepy cute" in a way that will not translate well into adulthood (ie: Fred Savage or the increasingly weird looking Halley Joel Osment [sp?])

I prefer the good old adds of fifties Better Homes and Gardens rags with a lawn mowin', clean shaven, pipe smokin' "Pop" and a wholesome, busty bra wearin', permed Blondie wife.

Stereotypical? Hell yes! Honest? Hell no! But it was comforting, and it is really no worse than today's BS.

Meet the new boss. Same as the old boss. Only somehow smarmier and sinister with his obvious marketing derived fantasy.

End of boorish rant. Sorry lads and lasses.

Ah me.

A.
Have to agree with you there. . .js5280
Aug 1, 2002 7:48 PM
Saw exactly what you talked about today at the grocery store, some hen-pecked guy treated like a kid by his wife. All that ran through my head was "At what point did she start being his mom or stop being his wife?" Agreed on the doughy husband w/ out-of-his-league wife too. Burn, Hollywood, burn. I hope the general population laughs at this $hit like I do, but then again, I look at who people vote for and become very afraid. . .
No Not BOB!!!!!!!! Watch out Pinks (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 2, 2002 9:30 AM
Wait, turn-about not fair play?js5280
Aug 1, 2002 7:34 PM
C'mon that what's that commercial is all about. I'm surprised you'd think so Allison. BTW you're up late. . .
and just how does this relate to bicycles?Steve_0
Aug 2, 2002 3:25 AM
I disdain those who randomly express their borish, cynical perspectives on life through unrelated venues. Much like Radical Ron did.
Whew, your sphincter is coiled pretty tight there bud,AllisonHayes
Aug 2, 2002 3:41 AM
try taking a diuretic for that problem...you need to chill
My apologies.Steve_0
Aug 2, 2002 3:51 AM
I thought this thread was about random, meaningless complaints.
So what's your favorite tool Alison? nmohmk1
Aug 2, 2002 4:38 AM
the first chick to buy me a lawnmower - i will marry !!!Spirito
Aug 2, 2002 4:39 AM
although ill never mention it - so they will have to know me well.

it would be nice if it has a Briggs & Stratton engine and is well constructed but a regular push mower is all that will be needed. ride on mowers are for wimps.

no i dont have a lawn but i love lawn mowers and will move to a locale to be able to use it with pride. the smart lady can expect a fat rock and bended knee for sure and ill be happy to share a life with such an insightfull and savvy person.

she will have a spledid garden, a well maintained car, equall rights to the remote control, a very talented chef, and enough home renovating to make an episode of Changing Rooms look mundane as well as the usual (passionate love, an always ready ear, life friendship, support, comfort, happiness, laughter and loyalty).

im 33, an attractive proposition and have had many loves but until now i have to say that no woman has understood me and known me well enough to buy me a lawnmower.

chicks today ... i dont know........

Love's sweetest meanings are unspoken; the full heart knows no rhetoric of words. -- Bovee.

ciao
I did...miposy
Aug 2, 2002 9:50 AM
She bought me a 22", with a 6.5 hp briggs and stratton and large rear wheels. We got married a year later and we and the lawn mower are still going strong.
the master's tools may dismantle the master's house...128
Aug 2, 2002 4:41 AM
mongoloid he was a mongoloid happier than you and me
mongoloid he was a mongoloid and it determined what he could see
mongoloid he was a mongoloid one chromosome too many
mongoloid he was a mongoloid and it determined what he could see
and he wore a hat and he had a job
and he brought home the bacon so that no one knew
mongoloid he was a mongoloid his friends were unaware
mongoloid he was a mongoloid nobody even cared
re: Glad I watch so little TVdzrider
Aug 2, 2002 4:48 AM
Nothing makes celibacy look better than the portrayal of family life by the advertising industry. Manipulative or condescending wives; childish or paternalistic husbands. Few, if any, ads showing a competetant or caring couple. Single people are treated even worse as they pursue partners in what would appear to be either a desperate quest by a man to get a beautiful woman to sleep with him or by a woman to become an manipulative or condescending wife. Hard to believe that all the shows on commercial TV exist soley to get us to watch the ads that treat us like fools.
Remember Boys and Girls! Black Flag says: tv party tonight!!128
Aug 2, 2002 5:03 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

T.V. PARTY

T.V. PARTY TONIGHT
T.V. PARTY TONIGHT
T.V. PARTY TONIGHT
T.V. PARTY TONIGHT

WE'RE GONNA HAVE A T.V. PARTY TONIGHT...ALRIGHT
WE'RE GONNA HAVE A T.V. PARTY ...ALRIGHT...TONIGHT
WE'VE GOT NOTHING BETTER TO DO,
THAN WATCH T.V. AND HAVE A COUPLE OF BREWS

EVERYBODY'S GONNA HANG OUT HERE TONIGHT...ALRIGHT
WE'LL PASS OUT ON THE COUCH ALRIGHT...TONIGHT
WE'VE GOT NOTHING BETTER TO DO,
THAN WATCH T.V. AND HAVE A COUPLE OF BREWS

DON'T TALK ABOUT ANYTHING ELSE...WE DON'T WANT TO KNOW
WE'RE DEDICATED TO OUR FAVORITE SHOWS

WE SIT GLUED TO THE T.V. ALL NIGHT...AND EVERY NIGHT
WHY GO INTO THE OUTSIDE WORLD AT ALL...IT'S SUCH A FRIGHT
WE'VE GOT NOTHING BETTER TO DO THAN WATCH T.V. AND
HAVE A COUPLE OF BREWS
T.V. NEWS SHOWS WHAT IT'S LIKE OUT THERE...IT'S A SCARE
YOU CAN GO OUT...IF YOU WANT...WE WOULDN'T DARE!
WE'VE GOT NOTHING BETTER TO DO THAN WATCH T.V.
AND HAVE A COUPLE OF BREWS
DON'T TALK ABOUT ANYTHING ELSE...WE DON'T WANT TO KNOW
WE'RE DEDICATED TO OUR FAVORITE SHOWS

I WOULDN'T BE WITHOUT MY T.V. FOR A DAY...OR EVEN A MINUTE!
I DON'T BOTHER TO USE MY BRAIN ANYMORE...
THERE'S NOTHING LEFT IN IT

WAIT A MINUTE MY T.V. SET DOESN'T WORK
IT'S BROKEN!
WHAT ARE WE GONNA DO TONIGHT
THIS ISN'T FAIR
WE'RE HURTIN'!
WE'VE GOT NOTHING LEFT TO DO
LEFT WITH NO T.V. JUST A COUPLE BREWS

WHAT ARE WE GONNA TALK ABOUT...I DON'T KNOW
WE'RE GONNA MISS OUR FAVORITE SHOWS

NO T.V. PARTY TONIGHT.
that's incredible! hill street blues! dallas! (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Aug 2, 2002 5:33 AM
"Damaged" " Thirsty and Miserable" with a "Nervous Breakdown" nmgs6769
Aug 2, 2002 7:22 AM
my name's henry, and you're here with me now. nmJS Haiku Shop
Aug 2, 2002 7:25 AM
"Damaged"=classic! "Slip it In" has gotta be the raunchiest [nm]komatiite
Aug 2, 2002 8:46 AM
Remember Boys and Girls! Black Flag says: tv party tonight!!ohmk1
Aug 2, 2002 8:01 AM
I always felt that was Black Flag's worst song-thanks for bringing it up
Loose nut...in my head... (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 2, 2002 9:36 AM
Offended by a guy giving a girl a typical female response??Quack
Aug 2, 2002 5:44 AM
Guys are simple creatures as you well know. And our egos get off on things like power tools, fast cars, and road bikes that weigh 16lbs. I think it's hilarious that Sears has turned the tables and thrown emotion into the mix. I can't tell you how many times I have heard the same thing from my wife while looking at drapes, clothes, perfume, you name it.

Most guys aren't good listeners (I'm one of them) and have very little interest in many things that women are passionate about. And we fully understand that women care very little about our passions, but will rarely say anything about it. Sears just happened to put a guy on a commercial that cared enough to say something.

Women and men will never see eye to eye on everything, and I wouldn't change a thing. It makes for good post material on chat boards.
guys (sob, sniff), deserve better, too...DougSloan
Aug 2, 2002 9:06 AM
http://www1.roanoke.com/columnists/whited/5829.html