RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Never knew Lance is(or used to be) a mountain biker.(14 posts)

Never knew Lance is(or used to be) a mountain biker.jtferraro
Aug 1, 2002 8:35 AM
You can tell he weighed a bit more then, too(more muscle).

http://www.jsmcelvery.com/photos/1999/mt_snow/armstrong99mtn2.jpg

-Jeff
Wasn't; publicity stunt...TJeanloz
Aug 1, 2002 8:55 AM
Well, I won't go that far. But his race at Mt. Snow was on his 1999 Tour victory lap. It wasn't on his calendar before the Tour win, and he only raced it for the publicity, and to give Travis Brown a hand in the NCS series points.
I seem to recall he took 4th in that race nmgreg n
Aug 1, 2002 12:16 PM
BackgroundBipedZed
Aug 1, 2002 8:56 AM
In 99 before the TdF Armstrong had an agreement with Trek to race in some NORBA races and the Mercury Tour after the TdF as part of the Trek/VW MTB team. Lance kept his committment to Trek and spent a week in Vail, Colorado to prep for the NORBA Vermont finals. He raced in a couple of local races at WinterPark before going to Vermont. Roland Green beat him in Vermont and I remember reading how Armstrong was really impressed with Green and wanted to get him on USPS.
He raced NORBA at Deer Valley andBrooks
Aug 1, 2002 1:50 PM
stayed with the front group until the last lap. On the climb he blew chunks and dropped out. He said he was impressed with the anaerobic fitness of the mtbikers.
"Mountain Bike" editor shirtcydswipe
Aug 1, 2002 9:11 AM
I can remember a picture of the "Mountain Bike" editor wearing a "Dump Lance" t-shirt in one of his front page rants. If I remember, it was before the cancer battle. Lance was struggling, yet on the national team? Sorry for the lack of details. I'm positive he was racing.
He was in moutain bike action...pa rider
Aug 1, 2002 9:51 AM
the year he won the us nationals on the road. I remember him entering a mtb race (don't remember what class) and the writer was ragging him for wearing the national champs shirt (blue with the flag colors). He did pretty well, but didn't win his class.

I guess he was use to winning everything and figured he would try a MTB race. Alot of road riders raced mtb. Bokey was one of them and remember one guy rode for gary fisher in 1996 coming from the road.

Now alot of the mtb riders are going to race on the road. You get benefits from both sports.

Emory
I saw him race at Ft Hood in Texashycobob
Aug 1, 2002 9:21 AM
Lance showed up Saturday for the preride and was ever-so-cool. He wasn't aloof or snotty, but he did leave pretty quick after his ride, understandably. He took 1st in pro/expert. It was my very first sport race (skipped beginner) I finished somewhat lower than that. He kicks butt even in the rocks and cactus!
Cool. Thanks for all the info, everybody. (nm)jtferraro
Aug 1, 2002 11:28 AM
He can run too...theBreeze
Aug 1, 2002 1:50 PM
Lance at the Dirty Duathalon. Sometime last year i think. He entered to help support friends who were the organizers. If my memory serves, I got this photo from the VeloNews site. The report said he was in first place in the mtn bike leg, until he flatted. Finished 3rd or 4th overall(?) Anyone else remember?

(Hopefully the photo shows up?)
one more try...don't forget the last step...theBreeze
Aug 1, 2002 1:54 PM
He can run too...aeon
Aug 1, 2002 8:29 PM
Of course he can run! I'm pretty sure he started off doing triathalons. Went pro when he was 16! There was another thread here somewhere: What were you doing when you were 16?
Sorry, the file's sealed. ;)theBreeze
Aug 2, 2002 6:39 AM
It was about the OlympicsLandsharkrider
Aug 2, 2002 6:49 AM
I seem to remember that the reason that Zap was dumping on him in the magazine was that some were predicting that Lance would try to race both on the road and MTB at the Sydney Olympics - taking one of the spots of a regular mountain-biker. His point was that if we want to do anything in the Olympics then we would need somebody who trains specifically for the event.

And look how well the US Olympic MTB team has done on the men's side: I say Tinker races for us until he hits 80. It's not like he can do any worse! And that Travis Brown has really kicked ass at the Olympics.

Maybe the Lance thing was not such a bad idea????