RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What is rebranded the most in the pro peleton(19 posts)

What is rebranded the most in the pro peletonPhatMatt
Aug 1, 2002 5:15 AM
What do you guys think is rebranded the most? Wheels, frames, saddles.

Matt
serrota frames. (nm)jaybird
Aug 1, 2002 5:21 AM
Not any moreTJeanloz
Aug 1, 2002 5:50 AM
While Serrota used to do a lot of custom frames for pros (notably the 7-11 team), I don't know of a single one currently in the pro peleton, though, I'm sure there are one or two.

I'd say the title currently probably goes to Giant or Hodakka, who build an awful lot of 'disposable' aluminum bikes that have been all the rage lately. Or in the traditional re-badging sense, probably Litespeed, but even their popularity has waned recently.
Is anyone on a Parlee these days? (nm)Alex-in-Evanston
Aug 1, 2002 6:11 AM
Not that I know for sure of, but I'm certain somebody is...TJeanloz
Aug 1, 2002 6:14 AM
Parlee is one of those bikes that are at the technological forefront, and I'm sure somebody in the euro-pro field has found them and is riding one, I just don't know who.

Cervelo P3's are being re-badged quite a bit, they seem to have taken the TT mantle from the Litespeed Blade.
CSC TiscaliBipedZed
Aug 1, 2002 6:33 AM
Look closely at Tyler Hamilton's bike in the Giro. Apparently Hamilton, Jalabert, and Sastre all had custom Parlee's made.
PhotoBipedZed
Aug 1, 2002 6:42 AM
Sure looks like a LOOK KG381i to me.......nmDave Hickey
Aug 1, 2002 6:47 AM
After closer review, That's not a LOOK.......nmDave Hickey
Aug 1, 2002 6:54 AM
Head tube will tell. Got a photo with it unobscured? (nm)Alex-in-Evanston
Aug 1, 2002 6:57 AM
YupBipedZed
Aug 1, 2002 7:06 AM
Hamilton's face is priceless...biknben
Aug 1, 2002 7:38 AM
I imagine him looking at the top of the climb thinking, "Are you "F"in kidding me???"

:-)
After closer review, That's not a LOOK.......nmjaybird
Aug 1, 2002 10:03 AM
The thing that gives it away is the seatpost binder. Be careful the head tube on some smaller 381is is straight unlike the larger ones with the hourglass shape with a carbon weave center.
Look frame...but certainly not Shimano wheels (nm)biknben
Aug 1, 2002 6:51 AM
Parlee XL vs. LookBipedZed
Aug 1, 2002 7:00 AM
Parlee XL

Look KG381i

The most noticeable difference is the seat cluster. Both frames are lugged carbon. In other Giro pictures the headtube is clearly different.

In the TdF it appears Jalabert was on a KG381 while Hamilton and Sastre rode a Parlee frame.
Parlee XL vs. LookJimP
Aug 1, 2002 7:18 AM
The Look 381 uses a 25mm seatpost with and internal wedge type binder. The one in the picture has an external clamp.
Parlee XL vs. Lookphilippec
Aug 1, 2002 7:27 AM
I got a pretty good close-up of the CSC bikes at the departure of the Aimes stage (within 1 metre as they were lined up along the bus before departure) -- they were all Looks that day.

Philippe
I heard Ullrich likes to ride a Pegoretti.....................nmchopper
Aug 1, 2002 8:10 AM
What was JAJA on in the mountains?jaybird
Aug 1, 2002 10:07 AM
Did anyone notice the black and red bike that JAJA was on? I am positive that it wsa not a look because it had a wishbone shape to the seatstays.

I am pretty sure that his polka-dot bike was a 381i though.