RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I have $2000 to spend...what would YOU get?(28 posts)

I have $2000 to spend...what would YOU get?briko51
Jul 31, 2002 6:52 PM
Sorry if this has been asked a million times :) hehe. I am a 22 yr old cyclist. just graduated from college where i trained a bit and rode with a team. I'm 6'1, a very good climber, and usually ride over 200 a week. I have been looking at...

-Specialized Allez E5 SLX comp (2002) ...or Allex Comp 18 (2003)
-Cannondale R2000 (2003)
-Giant TCR1 (possible)

any other ideas? basically i want a great climbing bike with ultegra components...

Thanks for any input!
re: I have $2000 to spend...what would YOU get?OffTheBack
Jul 31, 2002 7:06 PM
Take a look at a Fuji Team. They're about $1600 with full Ultegra and a nice component spec.

Good luck!
what would I get?Tig
Jul 31, 2002 7:09 PM
I'm not you, but I'd get the R2000. My team is sponsored by C-dale and gets them at a deep discount. The guys who have them love the ride, which is somewhat of an eye-opener for a Cannondale frame.

Since I already love and will keep my Merckx, I'd go for some nice new Zipp 303 Z3 tubies that weigh only 930 grams per set! Are you buying? ;-)
The R2000 that your team rides - CAAD5 or new CAAD7?jtferraro
Jul 31, 2002 8:04 PM
I'm assuming it's the CAAD5, since the '03 CAAD7 just came out. I sure hope the new CAAD7 rides just as nice, if not nicer, than the CAAD5.

-Jeff
re: caad7markmark
Aug 1, 2002 9:10 AM
I'm testing a '03 caad7 this Friday..R1000 w/ksyriums & ultegra...$2000 at the lbs here. The bb is lower and suppose to be more stable handling than their other frames...will let ya'll know.
2002 CAAD5 (with the standard silver paint) -nmTig
Aug 1, 2002 9:12 AM
considered about a hooker? some of them ride like steel...SpecialEd
Jul 31, 2002 7:15 PM
LOL...hahabriko51
Jul 31, 2002 7:28 PM
re: I have $2000 to spend...what would YOU get?gtx
Jul 31, 2002 7:32 PM
A full Ultegra kit is about $900, which leaves you about $1100 for the frame and fork. My top pick for that money would probably be a Steelman SR 525.

http://www.steelmancycles.com

Or if you want AL check out the Merckx Elite

http://www.gvhbikes.com/58%20C'dale/12-10-01/58%20Elite.jpg

I'd probably spend a bit more to get DA or Chorus
Thanks...steelman seems too heavy though...briko51
Jul 31, 2002 8:03 PM
thanks for the links...i've had a steel frame for the past 6 years, and although its been great, i'm looking for something lighter and stiffer...
Thanks...steelman seems too heavy though...gtx
Jul 31, 2002 10:13 PM
3.8 pounds for the 56...that's just a few ounces heavier than the ti frames many pros ride on...

For AL also check out the Titus Drop-U.

Good luck.
It's a pound heavier, not just a few ouncesNiwot
Aug 1, 2002 6:26 PM
The Ti frames most common among pros (like the Litespeed Vortex) weigh about 3.0 pounds. And that "official weight" of 3.8 pounds for the Steelman is probably, like the weights quoted by nearly all manufacturers, a weight for the bare, unpainted frame. You need to add at least a quarter of a pound more for the paint -- bringing that Steelman over 4 pounds -- unless of course you have an unpainted frame, like nearly all of the Ti frames and a few of the Al frames (but none of the steel frames) out there.

A Steelman Stage Race is a great ride, and IMO you don't always need the lightest frame out there. But you certainly can't claim a Steelman is as light as a top-notch Ti or Al frame.
It's a pound heavier, not just a few ouncesxcandrew
Aug 2, 2002 4:42 AM
If you're being picky, Steelman actually claims, "Average frame weight for a 56cm frame is 3.5 pounds." A few ounces heavier for the SR 525. I know many manufacturers fudge on weight, but I would assume that this is as good as the claims made by Ti frame manufacturers. Most Ti frames seem to be advertised at about 3 lbs and a couple of ounces, so a few ounces heavier is probably more accurate than 1 lb heavier. Plus, the SR frame on inventory clearance now at $1168 is closer to the original poster's $2000 bike limit than a $3000 frame. I know the original poster is looking for something different anyway, but a couple of ounces in the frame is only a couple of ounces on the bike with the same parts. I wouldn't be able to tell the difference, in weight at least, between an 18.5 lb and 19 lb bike.
I'm looking for the same(I think) and am also considering...jtferraro
Jul 31, 2002 8:14 PM
Trek 2300
Klein Quantum Race
maybe Bianchi Alloro
was considering: Cervelo Soloist

BTW...the R2000 cost more than your $2K by more than any of the other bikes(I know some are less than $2K, too).

Let me know what you decide on!

-Jeff
I'm looking for the same(I think) and am also considering...R-I-D-E
Jul 31, 2002 8:50 PM
The Trek and Klein have my votes. Both are great riding bikes, with very good warranties and service.

RIDE
I like the Kleinmanicoti
Aug 1, 2002 7:28 AM
In April I bought the 2001 Klein Quantum Race with full Ultegra and Rolf Vector Pro's for $1895 at the lbs, which left me with $105 for taxes.
Pinarello Galileo with Ultegra will come out to round $2k.Bike-Go-Far
Jul 31, 2002 9:44 PM
Man, these Bikes are works of art. They even look fast just standing up alone. Believe me you, people will be throwing out all sorts of compliments on the looks of the bike.

Oh yeah forgot to mention they ride nice to.
Trek 2300... Hot bike in 'Starry Night'!spyderman
Aug 1, 2002 2:55 AM
http://www.trekbikes.com/bikes/2002/road/2300.html#
I agree...I've seen it in that color! (nm)jtferraro
Aug 1, 2002 4:39 AM
Trek 1200 and a Roth IRASteve_0
Aug 1, 2002 3:19 AM
time to buy low.
this:MXL02
Aug 1, 2002 4:12 AM
http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=25483&query=retrieval

if it's your size.
TREK 2300 is what I DID get...and love it!Bike Mike
Aug 1, 2002 4:17 AM
I was in the same situation as you last summer and picked up the 2300. It is stiff, light, accelerates amazingly well, etc., etc., etc. The bike is awesome out of the box - all the components are excellent. I ride 100 miles/week on sometimes-rough road surfaces and have found it to be comfortable. I highly recommend it to you.

Have fun!
Oh dear, what to do, what to do.djg
Aug 1, 2002 6:31 AM
Frankly, for 2k I'd be very tempted to have Slawta build me a custom Landshark, which I'd buy for right at 2k from GVH. But I gather that's not really what you're looking for.

Also not quite what you're looking for, but probably better at it than you think: Colorado Cyclist has a great deal right now (ok, it looks like a great deal, I've never actually even seen one of the frames) on their Douglas Ti frame with an Ouzo comp fork--800 bucks I think. Slap on an ultegra kit and you've got some money left over for a nice upgrade on their stock wheelset. Heck, their current deal on the AL/CF bike looks pretty good.

More to the point:

(1) 2k should bring in a very fine used road bike of exactly the type you want (say, 1k for a hardly used canny) plus a brand new set of Zipp 303s.

(2) Those old Lotto team bikes they're still selling on the cheap at supergo are pretty damn good, IMO--responsive and actually one of the nicer riding AL frames I've sat on. Slap on an Easton EC70 fork (on sale for 80 bucks at performance) and you have many bucks left over for a very nice kit and wheels.

(3) That Canny R2000.

(4) Call Maestro and get a Colnago Dream plus with a flash fork for about a grand. Ultegra and Open Pros stateside and you're done.

(5) Back to GVH for a deal on one of the Saeco C5s built with ultegra but without the wheels. That should leave enough coin for a very nice wheelset.

(6) AL from Dean or Sampson (which makes a very stiff bike, really well outfitted, pretty cheap).

Good luck, and enjoy.
.......GVH......??markmark
Aug 1, 2002 9:01 AM
New here and what does GVH stand for??

And have you ridden a Dream Plus and a caad6/caad7 before? Wondering how they would compare if you have?
.......GVH......??djg
Aug 1, 2002 2:38 PM
Gary V Hobbes, I think. In any case, if you do a search for GVH bikes you'll find his "shop" (web sales only). Do a search on this sight and you'll turn up quite a few folks who've dealt with him. Most of the reports are overwhelmingly favorable, although a few are not.

I've a CT1 (which rocks) but I haven't actually ridden a Dream Plus (only talked to others who have) or any cannys as recent as the CAAD 6. Sorry.
I would get....853
Aug 1, 2002 6:45 AM
A Cannondale Caad 5 frame and fork $600.00
and supergo's ultegra build a bike kit for $670.00

It's missing tires,tubes,rimstrip,post & seat.
But at $1270.00 so far, you will have some money left over.

Let's see Michelin pro race $35 each =$70.
tubes $6.each = $12.
Thompson post = $80.
Flite classic seat = $50
So that's a total of $212.00 + $1270= $1482
Not bad, and if you already have some of these items you can save some money there.
There might be better deals out there for build kits, but you can build a sweet bike for that budget.
I vote for the Cannondale, I love mine, light and stiff.
I'd do this.......tronracer
Aug 1, 2002 6:50 AM
Buy a used bike for 1500 and add Ksyriums 500. You can always upgrade the parts later, but for a used bike the value is more there than a new bike.
re: I have $2000 to spend...what would YOU get?mackgoo
Aug 1, 2002 10:42 AM
I'd get a King, and transfer my old components over. Then save up for Campy.