RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pedals I give UP!!!!(21 posts)

Pedals I give UP!!!!Tim Field
Jul 31, 2002 3:36 AM
So after much research for an MTB \ Road pedal (or just Road) this is what seems to be the case:

Speedplay Frogs: light, good float, problems with bearing life and pedal body (one guy injured from this)
Speedplay X series: light, good float, road only, grit in cleats causes them to stop working, must buy cleat protectors or they wear too quickly, expensive.
Look Pedal: cheap (most of them), average float, platform is too high, plastic cleats wear out, plastic cleats squeak, road only.
Egg Beaters: average price, good float, platform is too high, unknown reliablity, road or MTB cleats available.
Shimano (high end MTB): Average price, good bearing life, no (or very little) float. Small pedalling platform.
Shimano (high end Road): Average price, good bearing life, no (or little float). Road only.
Time (MTB): Cheap, good float, heavy, platform is too high, small surface area.
Time (Road): New versions, v. expensive, light (no other info available)

So! If anyone knows of a pedal that I can use with Road and MTB, that has good float, a low platform, good reliablity please let me know! (I don't care about price any more)

Thanks, Tim
re: Pedals I give UP!!!!EricBH
Jul 31, 2002 4:05 AM
I have been using Speedplay Frogs for road and MTB for awhile and am going to give up on them. They wear too quickly and than get sloppy which is annoying when spinning circles. Parts are expensive and the small area makes my feet numb on long road rides.

I am resigned to the fact that I need separate shoes and pedals for MTB and road. When I can afford it, I will go Time road and Time ATAC with two sets of shoes.
what's wrong with SPDs?tarwheel
Jul 31, 2002 4:19 AM
I have some inexpensive SPD pedals on my mountainbike and my backup roadbike. They work fine for both functions. Although they are more likely than Looks to cause hotspots in my feet on long road trips, I have ridden lots of road miles on these pedals with no problems. What I really like about the SPDs is that I can use them with mountain bike shoes (Sidis) that function well on the road but are easy to walk around in as well. I've got two sets of double-entry SPDs pedals, one the Performance house brand and the other some celeste green Bianchi pedals that were probably made by Wellgo. Both pairs cost $40 or so. They have a limited amount of float if you adjust them right. You can also buy higher quality SPD pedals made by Shimano and others.
SPD's. I second that motion. All I've ever used overPaul
Jul 31, 2002 4:25 AM
years, and have never had a problem, and still have my original cleats. I've bought two pair of Forte mag/ti spd's pedals, and they wrok great. Also have Dura Ace and Ultegra. Use the pontoons that come with them, and the cleats will last for years.
what's wrong with SPDs?Tim Field
Jul 31, 2002 4:35 AM
I currently own the old XT 717 (I think) these are set to the lowest setting and don't have enough float (if any), both myself and my friend are changing. Maybe the new 757's are better I haven't used them. When I say SPD (Shimano Pedaling Dynamics) I specifically mean Shimano not other makes.

Cheers, Tim
could someone define float (nm)pukka
Jul 31, 2002 5:24 AM
There are different kinds of floatKristin
Jul 31, 2002 5:44 AM
Float is the ability for you to move the cleat around when its clipped in. When you can not pivot your shoe at all while clipped-in, then you have no float or zero degrees of float. Degrees is the measurement unit for float.

My SPD's had 8 degree's of side-to-side float. Which is the ability for me to move my heal in or out while clipped-in. They also gave me some ability to move my foot up and down or to pivot my ankle.

In the end, my SPD's caused some knee problems. I switched out to a pair of Look pedals and am doing great. Most people like to cure knee troubles with Speedplays, but the Looks are doing just fine for me.
Check this post from a few days backScot_Gore
Jul 31, 2002 6:39 AM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efb0266
what's wrong with SPDsJimP
Jul 31, 2002 6:36 AM
The amount of float with the SPD pedal is only one problem. Most of the shoes don't have enough angle or lateral adjustment in the cleat so it is difficult to fit the shoe to the pedal. The stack height is too high and when the cleat is in the pedal, there is too much roll angle slop. The SPD system may be ok for MTB where mud in the cleats and pedals is a problem but there are too many issues for road use.
Float on SPDsxcandrew
Jul 31, 2002 2:44 PM
I just got some M959's a couple of weeks ago and find that they work great for me. I've been using clips and straps with (no float) and without cleats for years. My previous experience with clipless pedals was with Aerolites (no float)for about 4 years 10-15 years ago.

With the SPDs, I have 2.5cm of side to side movement at the heel of my size 44 Sidis. That seems like a huge amount to me. How much more do most people really need if the cleat is positioned correctly? I don't think that there was an epidemic of knee problems when I started out in the '80s and into about 1990, when people only used pedals without float. There was a cleat adjusting device available with the FitKit, but you could easily find the correct angle yourself.

The stack height on the M959 and also the Crank Brother's pedal is 15 mm. That's the same dimension as the standard pedal that it replaced, so I'm not complaining. It probably compares well with most road pedals (Look). The stability would probably depend on the shoe used, but with my Sidis, the outsole tread sits squarely on the pedal body on both sides of the cleat, so it's completely stable and I'm not pushing only on the cleat. It's lightweight and has better clearance than standard caged pedals, though probably the same or less than most current road pedals. When pushing corners, I have enough experience with riding to not hit the pedals and if I'm "programmed" to avoid hitting the pedals at a certain angle already, it's no use to get pedals with better clearance.

So all in all, I think these are the perfect pedals for me. You may have other preferences.
Time MTB pedalsdirthead
Jul 31, 2002 5:43 AM
I use Time MTB pedals - Titans for road, and Carbons for MTB. I can use the same shoes for both. You stated that the time MTB pedals have too high a platform, but I really don't think you will notice a platform that is a couple of mm higher. The Titans and Carbons are relatively light, about the same weight as Look road pedals, they have adequate float, are very durable, cleats last forever, will work in almost any condition, and have a fairly large platform for a MTB pedal.
Time MTB pedalsscruffyduncan
Jul 31, 2002 6:32 AM
I use time atacs on my road bike, no maintanance, comfy, no complaints at all.
re: Pedals I give UP!!!!No_sprint
Jul 31, 2002 6:37 AM
I like the Look platform for many reasons. I will likely not deviate from that. I've had many types including Shimano's Look compatible that Lance has ridden for years. I now have two sets of 396s and love them. Those combined with the black cleat and set to a minimal, almost unnoticeable float of 3. Set to zero with the red cleat might be ok for a rec rider, but not for racin'. Not much more unnerving than being halfway clipped out in vicious crit field or bunch sprint.
What about Wellgo pedals?Tele_Pathic
Jul 31, 2002 6:53 AM
I have a set of Wellgos on my mtb and Shimano pedals on my road bike. Fortunately, I can use the same shoe/cleat with both pedals. I've had the Wellgoes for several years now; no troubles to report. And, they're inexpensive to boot.

Tele Pathic
ritchey logics, if you can find themGeardaddy
Jul 31, 2002 8:41 AM
I've always liked ritchey logics better than SPD and SPD clones. Last year I found some ritchey logic road pedals for a song. They're very low profile, and one of the lightest road pedals you can buy. I've been running my mtb ritcheys for 5+ years now with no problems.

The thing is that they are hard to find. I think they have been reincarnated as a Nashbar pedal. The other thing is I discovered there are two different flavors of cleats. The original cleats that I got with my first ritchey mtb pedals are a slightly different design, and seem to work more smoothly than the newer ones.

Oh well, something to consider.
If you don't care about priceColnagoFE
Jul 31, 2002 8:53 AM
just get a good set of road pedals and a good set of MTB pedals--2 sets of shoes as well. I'm partial to campy pro fits for road and time atacs for MTB.
I've got over 12k on my frogs - still going strongMe Dot Org
Jul 31, 2002 8:55 AM
Just make sure you grease them every couple of months (a no-brainer operation - all you do is unscrew the screw cover to the grease port and squirt) - should be no problems.

I started with SPDs, but I have (rebuilt) knee problems, and they hurt. No knee problems with frogs. Cleats are recessed, so you can actually walk around on them. They are also the easiest pedal to clip/unclip.
Ditto the Frogs nmPdxMark
Jul 31, 2002 9:12 AM
re: Pedals I give UP!!!!qui-gon jin
Jul 31, 2002 9:32 AM
I went throught the same problem. I had Look on my road bike and I did not like them that much, and I have SPD's on my mountain bike and I tolerate them. I am a mountain biker that has been bit by the road bug and I didn't like the one sided pedal, and I wanted more float. Road riding hurt my knees more than mountain riding, so I searched for a pedal with lots of float, low stack height and two sided. I looked at all the same pedals you did.

I narrowed it down to Speedplay and Time (MTB). I liked both and could not make a decision, then I found Bebop. I got a good deal on a pair so I decided to try them. They have 20+ degrees of float, one of the lowest stack heights (I had to lower my seat .5"), light weight and less expensive than the others. They are easy in and out, and very smooth. I am sold on the Bebops and will now put them on my mountain bike. I have 2000+ miles on them and I have no question to their duability. Price Point and Aardvark Cycles both carry them on-line.
re: Pedals I give UP!!!!PEDDLEFOOT
Jul 31, 2002 11:22 AM
Bebop pedals are similair to Speedplay but they are like hollow rings.they come in cromoly and stainless steal and start around 100.00.They supposedly will not clog up in muddy situations and have as much float as Speedplay.They may be hard to find.I only know of one shop in my area that carries them.If your'e curious go to spindoctorcyclewerks.com for more information on them.I haven't tried them but I've heard that they're excellent.
re: Pedals I give UP!!!!Geds
Jul 31, 2002 5:09 PM
What sort of knee soreness are people getting from their SPDs? My road and MTBs both run SPDs (single sided on the road bike) and sometimes I get a little patela tendon soreness - below the kneecap and inside the leg a little. Is this the sort of thing other people have experienced? And can it be negated by pedals with more float?