RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bianchi EV4 vs. SL Lite(11 posts)

Bianchi EV4 vs. SL LiteI Love Shimano
Jul 31, 2002 2:45 AM
Damn, Bianchi frames rock (aesthetically)!

Performancewise, what is the difference between these two frames? I want to blow my savings on a nice AL frame.
re: Bianchi EV4 vs. SL LiteTim Field
Jul 31, 2002 3:38 AM
I think that looks really boring, certainly doesn't look expensive! What about a Colnago CT1?
What about a Colnago....lnin0
Jul 31, 2002 6:25 AM
I am not trying to start a fire and know many a good Colnago rider, but...

am I the only one tired of seeing Colnago this - Colnago that? Did this guy even mention COLNAGO? Do you think he has not heard of that brand before and you are so kindly pointing it out to him? Did you even have an answer for HIS QUESTION?? Sure, Colnago makes a great bike but it is not the ONLY thing out there nor is it the end all be all of bikes. News Flash - some people may not even care for them.

Owning a Colnago is like owning a 3 series BMW - there are a TON of people who think they need to prove to the world they 'made it' and think by purchasing status symbols the world will think they are cool and hip. Well, if being a sheep is what you are all about then here's to you - I guess you will alway 'fit in' and feel 'wanted' since there are so many of your kind out there.

Personally, I just wish more people out there could THINK for themsleves...the world sure would be a more interesting place.
What about a Colnago....Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 31, 2002 3:42 PM
I agree with you Inin0... non-cyclists have even heard of Colnago, yet how many have heard of a Bianchi (I personally have an 2001 XL EV2)? Probably not many, suggesting that Colnago's popularity is due mainly to marketing hype.

I saw on cable TV a few days ago the film clip for "White Men Can't Jump" - (don't ask, a dodgy pub with a dodgy crowd), and Wesley was wearing a Colnago cycling cap whilst playing basketball! Just an example!
What about a Colnago....Tim Field
Aug 1, 2002 12:56 AM
Up until 8 weeks or so ago I'd never heard of Colnago either having cycled for a long time on mountain bikes I'm aware how much peoples opinions matter when it comes to buying. I ride a Cannondale Jekyll Good Boy. I've listenned to advice and read up on road bikes for a while now and even own one (wow!). I mention Colnago not for status as I'd NEVER heard of them until recently, as far as marketting hype goes, this takes you only so far. They are consistently reviewed as being some of the best bikes in the world. I hear only bad things from people who don't own \ ride them or moans about the paint chipping. Back in the day the nearest relation in the MTB world was Klein. Everyone who owned one was happy and everyone else seemed to moan about status and the paint jobs. It's the same all over again, why can't you just face up to the fact that they're good bikes.

Tim
I am confusedgrandemamou
Jul 31, 2002 3:56 AM
You asked about the EV4 and SL but thats a picture of an EV2.

I have had an EV2 for 11/2 and have a little over 10k on it. I get compliments on the looks all the time. Not as garish as some Italian paint jobs. It is light, stiff comfy and very responsive. It feels like riding a go cart. IMO it is for a smaller, lighter rider. I don't know what kind of longevity a clydesdale might get, my guess not much. Bang for the buck it's an excellent value.

I test rode the SL. A nice bike. Not quite as light or as comfy as the EV2 but if your a larger,heavier rider it would probably suit you fine. The major difference is that the tubes aren't worked as much.

I've never seen an EV4 or talked to anyone who owns one. I am guessing from the weight that this is a race only frame for a light rider. I may be wrong though. You can email them they are pretty good at getting back to you.
Confused but correct ...sidley
Jul 31, 2002 5:57 AM
My 2000 EV2 (last year of non-sloping frame) broke in half at the downtube. I was rounding a corner at about 5 mph and the downtube just broke clean. Took to the bike shop where they said, yeah...that happens a lot.

I weigh about 180 lbs, don't race, and I am generally easy on my bike. So, unless you are comparable to Marco Pantini in size, I would look elsewhere.

That being said, Bianchi sent me a new 2001 EV2 and I hopped right back on. It is a very comfortable ride; obviously very light and really a bargain race rocket. However, the larger frames flex quite a bit and I would not reccommend it if you are a sprinter.

If I were to buy a new AL bike, I would not rule out Cannondale or Klein. Not as sexy but they are damn good Al frames.
Confused but correct ...grandemamou
Jul 31, 2002 6:51 AM
Hope you have better luck with this one. They beefed up the tubes on the 01, it is a little heavier than the 00 and before. I'm 5'8 145 race and generaly abuse it. It's held up so far.

If you continue to have problems you might try the SL. It's made of sturdier stuff. I agree C'dale and Klein are excellent choices in AL. Good bang for the buck.
Confused but correct ...da cyclist
Jul 31, 2002 9:58 AM
I'm a 6'1" 160lb racer. I got a 59 cm 2002 ev2 in may. The frame cracked on the side of the downtube after 3 days, maybe 100 miles. I got my replacement about a week later. I was racing in a training crit about 6 weeks after that and got taken down in a chain reaction when two guys hit head on at the front of the pack (somebody was warming up backwards on the course and not paying attention). The bike barely touched the ground, but I did have the guy behind me fall on top of me. After the race I found a nickel sized dent right in the middle of the downtube. All I can figure is that it's where the guys' elbow or knee or something hit. After that, I rode on the frame for another couple of weeks since the bianchi rep assured me that the frame was ok. But I really lost confidence in the frame and went out and got ahold of a Caad5 frame and fork to replace it with. It's a little bit heavier, but I don't have any worries about it snapping in half. I can also afford to replace the Cannondale if it does fail in a crash. My ev2 frame and fork is now collecting dust in the corner of my garage.

So, I guess I would have to say that if you're a big guy, I would look elsewhere for a frame (all of the small guys I know that ride ev2s haven't had any problems.
I thought AL was stiff?I Love Shimano
Jul 31, 2002 5:34 PM
The reason I want an AL frame is because I want a stiffer frame. You guys mentioned that teh EV2 and EV4 will probably not hold up to heavier riders, while the cheaper SL will fare better. That's good to hear becuase I weigh 170 lbs. and will probably not have enough cash to get the EV2 or EV4. By the way, the SL frameset goes for around 37 thousand pesos (that's around $750). Is that a reasonable price? Reason I am asking is because there are no Bianchi dealers here. The only guy who sells them is a flight attendant who buys from the US/Taiwan, and sells them here.

As for the Colnago. No, I do not want one. They are just too damn expensive.

BTW, here is a pic of my current bike. It was locally built out of Tange and painted to look like a Colnago. Paint job sucks, I know.
horses for courses...Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 31, 2002 3:48 PM
Do you need a XL EV4? Will the SL perform just as well for you in your type of riding?

I had a similar dilemma a few months ago. I had my heart set on the SL until i noticed a secondhand XL EV2 with 200km on it for A$3k (about US$1400). I bought it as it was a deal, but the SL would have done me fine.

But as you have asked, can I suggest you really have your heart set on the XL EV4?