RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Morning exercise 'can make you ill'(19 posts)

Morning exercise 'can make you ill'ClydeTri
Jul 30, 2002 11:46 AM
Early morning joggers, swimmers and fitness fanatics who use the gym before breakfast are putting themselves at greater risk of infections than evening exercisers, scientists claim today.

A study by university researchers reported that while a few early miles on the treadmill or in the pool may be a wake-up call to the body, it could be opening the way for all kinds of bugs. While a dip in the pool or a run to work might get other senses working, the body's immune system needed a lie-in and was not ready to cope with the physical exertion.

And serious athletes, as well as part-time weight-watchers, should think twice about the dawn run. Scientists at Brunel University in Middlesex tested 14 British competition swimmers, putting them through their paces at both six in the morning and six in the evening, on separate days.

The scientists took saliva samples before and after the exercise sessions, and told the young swimmers not to drink, smoke or have sex for 12 hours beforehand.

Tests showed that levels of cortisol, a stress hormone which can suppress the immune system, were slightly lower in the evenings. But levels of the chemical IgA, which helps protect the body against infections, were down dramatically in the morning, which meant the swimmers were running the risk of picking up infections.

This would apply to any athlete, professional or amateur, who exercised early in the morning, said the scientists - and it would not matter if they were fit or fat.

The biggest factor involved in the changes was the human body clock - what scientists call "circadian rhythms". The body was simply not awake enough to handle exercising at that time in the morning, and it took a few more hours until the immune system was fully up and running. The report said: "The best time of day to train is in the evening, when baseline levels of cortisol and those produced after exercise are both lower than in the morning.

"Salivary flow rate, which also helps to protect against bugs and viruses, also peaks in the evening."

However Dr Lygeri Dimitriou, in charge of the team, said there was little full-time professional athletes could, with many needing to train three or four times a day. But, he said, athletes should still avoid early morning sessions if they were returning to training after injury or illness, were close to competition, or were stressed.

http://www.thisislondon.com/dynamic/news/story.html?in_review_id=653841&in_review_text_id=625044
This is bogus!MXL02
Jul 30, 2002 11:55 AM
Cortisol is higher in the morning for a reason, mainly to help your body wake up and get going. Naturally occurring cortisol does not have a negative effect on immune protection. If these quacks had done a study where an actual infection was the endpoint, rather than some nebulous immune markers, they may have been able to make this conclusion, but as it stands now, this study ranks right up there with the cold fusion crap from several years ago.

On another note, I have read in the Bicycling issue that early morning "bonk" training, (riding without any carb intake) actually helps turn on the fat burning mechanisms in the body. Sounds more reasonable than the above excreta.
LOL - Every night the local news reports on these new "findings"Kristin
Jul 30, 2002 12:08 PM
Alert!! Eggs are bad for you. Oops, actually doctors now say an egg every day is good for you. So is ice cream; but only eat one bowl a day. Avoid margerine...no, butter...no, margerine...no, butter... Vinegar is good for you and if you drink two tablespoons straight before each meal, you'll lose weight. Just don't take any vinegar if you're pregnant. (Actually, as far as I can tell from the news, pregnant women should eat nothing at all.) Additionally, chicken is no good for you because it was found to contain chemicals that can cause cancer. Beef is good for you though; unless of course, it contains Ecoli. You should only eat one steak a day.

I crack up with everything I hear on the news. There is one station with a segment called "healthwatch" that is completely absurd. Here's what I'm going to do. I will watch Healthwatch every night and keep a log of what they say I should or should not do/eat. I'll write up and article at the end of the year. Lets see how contradictory the findings seem after a year.
Kristin, these "findings" drive me crazy. My guidelines:Paul
Jul 31, 2002 3:44 AM
Moderation, exercise. If you can exercise, and have good health/genes, then you are wealthy. I pick on fruit, 5-7 pieces a day, just love the stuff. I eat a half gallon of fat free yogurt a week, a good amount of protein, pasta, and low-fat cheese. I cycle over 8,000 miles a year, and find I do better eating more protein when riding a lot. I'm 5'11", 160 lbs, and am always picking on something.

In general, my body/mind guides me to eat what it demands. I just follow it and enjoy.

Will be interesting what you come up with.

Paolo
Waking up can kill youmr_spin
Jul 30, 2002 12:12 PM
The obvious solution: stay in bed until noon! Nobody will get sick, and we'll no longer need doctors.
not waking up isn't much better :-) nmDougSloan
Jul 30, 2002 12:19 PM
conclusion: never fall asleep...nmmr_spin
Jul 30, 2002 12:41 PM
i'll sleep when i'm dead (warren zevon) NMColnagoFE
Jul 30, 2002 12:56 PM
If California slides into the ocean...mr_spin
Jul 30, 2002 1:33 PM
like the mystics and statistics say it will
I believe this motel will be standing
until I've paid my bill
the whole whorld is a circle, and I can't tell you why. nmmorrison
Jul 30, 2002 2:16 PM
Completely useless information...klay
Jul 30, 2002 12:21 PM
... for the non-professional athlete.

I would even question it's applicability to anyone training to compete. How significant were the increases in infection/illness?

BTW - My armchair (endocrinologist?) theory says that salivary flow rate peaks when you are eating. :-P

K
14 People? What a broad sample. nmSintesi
Jul 30, 2002 12:31 PM
Smoking crack is bad for you!DrPete
Jul 30, 2002 12:44 PM
Now all you need to do is prove that low cortisol and IgA levels increase your risk of infection with no other risk factors, and wow, what a paper!

I'm glad they came up with this study, since athletes who train in the morning have been dropping like flies! :)
they "told the young swimmers not to drink, smoke or have sexAllisonHayes
Jul 30, 2002 1:01 PM
for 12 hours beforehand."

(I think they have a major fallacy in their hypothesis. I can understand not drinking and smoking...)
It's a fact, sex weakens a man. Boxers are told the same thing.Paul
Jul 31, 2002 3:59 AM
Most women don't realize how a man is drained after having sex. After 25, it's really all down hill for us poor guys, while a woman's libido increase with age (so they say). I guess this is why women like young guys, if you don't mind a drop in quality.

I don't really know whether this is fact or fiction. Maybe we should take a poll, board gets kinda dull at times.

I did read about a trainer who told his fighters, "no sex for two weeks before a fight".
Newflash: I'm not wearing any pants. . .Film at 11.js5280
Jul 30, 2002 1:47 PM
I think it's a plot to drum up viewers for their early morning news show. Here's the only news source I consider creditable anymore. . .

http://www.theonion.com/
I wish I had this info in Boot Camp...coonass
Jul 30, 2002 6:27 PM
it would have postponed my 5:00am calisthenics to a reasonable hour and I'm sure the DI would have agreed.....and as far as 'picking up an infection early in the morning' goes that would have eased the minds of a lot of guys returning to the base and going on sick call.....well, that's another story.
:)
What would Brian Boytawno do? nmSlip Stream
Jul 31, 2002 6:24 AM
pathetic studysimstress
Jul 31, 2002 7:47 AM
There is no mention of a control group or hardly anything else that might identify this as a scientific study.