RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


2003 Cannondale r2000 and r1000(19 posts)

2003 Cannondale r2000 and r1000NewRacerLI
Jul 30, 2002 8:33 AM
Who knows about the Cannondale r2000 and r1000? I'm interested in purchasing my first high quality road bike that i will eventualy be able to race are these the bikes i should buy or is there something better? I really only wanted to spend around 1500 but id like to get a quality fast bike with decent components. Can someone help?

PS i got sized on the cannondale at 54c

Thanks
re: 2003 Cannondale r2000 and r1000netso
Jul 30, 2002 8:45 AM
My wife rides a Canny r2000si. She has ridden it for about 1 year. She loves it. My experience with the r4000si has been very positive. I cannot complain!
re: 2003 Cannondale r2000 and r1000fracisco
Jul 30, 2002 9:12 AM
The 2003 Cannondale bikes have some really nice components on them. I really like that R2000, but I haven't seen any prices yet to say if it's a good deal or not. Let's see, it's Ultegra, Ksyrium SL wheelset, 3TTT stem/bar, and CAAD7 frameset.

If you only have around $1500 to spend check one of your larger LBS' to see if they have any new old stock bikes lying around that they want to move.
Cannondale has select '03 models on their website, includingjtferraro
Jul 30, 2002 9:17 AM
the '03 R1000 & R2000. I'm also very interested in the '03 R2000 and have heard, from RBR, it retails for $2495. I've ridden this year's CAAD5 R2000 but am dying to ride the '03 CAAD7 R2000, which, besides being lighter, also has a lower BB than this year's CAAD5.

-Jeff
Lower BBLC
Jul 30, 2002 9:27 AM
The Cannondale's have been my racing criterium secret weapon. Lower BB means I would have to pedal later out of the corners, which could make me loose more races :( Why did they have to ruin it?
Saw a 2003 R3000...fracisco
Jul 30, 2002 9:30 AM
I saw an '03 R3000 in the shop this weekend. Brand new, burnished aluminum with blue/yellow markings. It was built up for a customer, all DuraAce, and no proprietary Cannondale parts on it. It looked awesome. It was also BIG, as it was a 63cm.

I'm going to wait and see what the clubs offer over the winter for their frames.
Yeah, the pics of the R3000 are NIICE-love the ball burnished!nmjtferraro
Jul 30, 2002 9:55 AM
re: 2003 Cannondale r2000 and r1000NewRacerLI
Jul 30, 2002 10:17 AM
My local bike shop has the 2000r for about 2400 and the r1000 for about 1900 but id much rater spend 1500 are there any other models i should look into? Also my local shop is always very expensive so are there any online shops that would give a better price.

Thanks again everyone your all a big help
How about a CAAD5/ultegra for $1350?mlbd
Jul 30, 2002 10:59 AM
go to GVHbikes.com and click on special deals. he has a deal right now on CAAD5 with ultegra build. i'm thinking of picking it up myself. Although, the 2003 R2000 is really nice looking bike. I test rode both the R1000 and R2000 in a 56cm and 58cm. Both have nice rides, with the R2000 being a bit lighter.

Good luck.
CAAD5/Ultegra @ GVH sounds like a good deal. n/mfracisco
Jul 30, 2002 11:41 AM
n/m
re: 2003 Cannondale r2000 and r1000mb_Cik
Jul 30, 2002 11:22 AM
Cannondale's are not sold new over the internet. Only at your LBS. But you can buy used ones online at e-bay or here at this site.
Actually, they are new!mlbd
Jul 30, 2002 5:39 PM
I don't know how or where he gets them, but GVH has got new CAAD5s and CAAD3s. He specifies when a frame is used and these make no mention of it. And they're warrantied by C'Dale, so they're new. He must have a special arrangement with Cannondale, because warranty problems must go through him. You couldn't just bring it to a local C'Dale dealer and get warranty service.
I just got my CAAD 5 from gvhbikes.comskibert
Jul 30, 2002 11:50 AM
I have 300 miles on it so far and I love it. Its the best bike I have ever ridden. Fits me perfect. I posted a pic of it in the gallery, if you want to check it out, its the red one on the bike stand. I got it for ~1600 shipped, w/ ultegra, circuit comp wheels, and x/2 pedals. great deal!
Cannondale R2000 with Ultegra for $1399 at SupergoNiwot
Jul 30, 2002 2:04 PM
$1399 for the R2000 is a pretty good deal, comes with an Ultegra gruppo. Of course, you have to buy it in person at one of Supergo's shops in SoCal or Phoenix.

http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=0&parentid=20103&company=Cannondale%2C+in%2Dstore+only&secid=7559&subid=7

They also have the R3000 with Dura Ace, for $2499.
R1000 is sweeeeeetel_pato
Jul 30, 2002 10:32 AM
I bought the r1000 last month with the caad7 frame and ultegra/105 mix for about 1900. It's such a great ride, it responds better than anything else I test rode in the 1500-2200 price range, stiff as all hell though (beautiful for accelerating, terrible on rough roads), so be aware of that. Plus, it's got the same frame as their highest end frame, so you can upgrade away as the years go by. Replaced the saddle right away, Cannondale makes the worst saddle ever. Also switched to a longer Ritchey WCS seatpost cause I've got long legs and the stock seatpost was at it's limit when I got fit. Weight (60cm frame) with some old Look pedals and bottle cages was about 19 lbs. I had some problems with the integrated headset tightening up after a week of riding and with the cable housing coming loose, but the LBS fixed it and everything is great. The Ksyrium Elite wheels are a nice addition too (that was the deal breaker between my getting this Cannondale or a Klein Quantum - the Ksyriums are head and shoulders above Bontrager's Race-Lite or whatever was on them). If you plan on racing then this is a great bike.
Great to hear! (nm)jtferraro
Jul 30, 2002 10:43 AM
R1000 - $1899.00 msrpfz4vgq
Jul 31, 2002 10:00 AM
I test rode one and it was very sweet, it's worth saving up the extra $400 plus tax. you don't gain much by spending more on the R2000.
You gain plenty, in my opinion. The R2000 has better:jtferraro
Jul 31, 2002 10:33 AM
wheelset
group
headset
handlebar
stem
headset
saddle

-Jeff
how much does the R2000 msrp for?fz4vgq
Jul 31, 2002 10:55 AM