RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


banning of bicycles from public roadways(10 posts)

banning of bicycles from public roadwaysmethosage
Jul 30, 2002 7:53 AM
A newspaper columnist in Pittsburgh has some negative views about bikes on the road.

http://www.pittsburghlive.com/x/search/s_82631.html

I don't know if there is anyone on this board in the pittsburgh region, but if you are you may want to read the above article and you can send your thougts to the Tribune-Review at (opinion@tribweb.com) or Dimitri Vasslaros at (dvassilaros@tribweb.com).
Timeline of Cyclingklay
Jul 30, 2002 8:18 AM
+ <--- Now
+ <-- Mrs Rumsas gets hormone replacement therapy a little wrong
|
+ <--- You are here
|
+ <-- Everyone posts this link 5 or 6 times.
|
+ <-- Dimitri V. discovers he doesn't look so good in lycra. Vows revenge.
|
|
+ <--- Peruvians come up with real good idea for candy.
|
|
PS Thanks anyways though :-)<nm>klay
Jul 30, 2002 8:19 AM
Timeline of CyclingAllisonHayes
Jul 30, 2002 9:10 AM
+<--- FUTURE (time warp to PAST)
|
|
+ <--- Now
+ <-- Mrs Rumsas gets hormone replacement therapy a
little wrong
|
+ <--- You are here
|
+ <-- Everyone posts this link 5 or 6 times.
|
+ <-- Dimitri V. discovers he doesn't look so good in
lycra. Vows revenge.
|
|
+ <--- Peruvians come up with real good idea for
candy.
|
|
+ <--- PAST (people still posting Dimitri's article) WARNING INFINITE LOOP
mouse? cheese? (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 30, 2002 8:18 AM
Feed me, Seymour!AllisonHayes
Jul 30, 2002 9:04 AM
b "The more you feed me this crap the bigger & meaner I get."



b How to I post thee? Let me count the ways...

10:
"banning of bicycles from public roadways" methosage - 08:53am Jul 30, 2002
klay 7/30/02 9:18am

9:
Another moron "journalist"... Jambo - 10:23am Jul 29, 2002
cory "Another moron "journalist"..." 7/29/02 11:00am

8:
"Bicycles and Cars Don't Mix Article" jzinckgra - 05:44pm Jul 27, 2002
DrPete "Bicycles and Cars Don't Mix Article" 7/27/02 7:35pm

7:
"Feather Rustler" Gianni - 10:37am Jul 25, 2002
klay "Feather Rustler" 7/25/02 2:07pm

6:
"did you guys see this recent editorial???" weezy Jul-25-02, 04:05 AM
Scot_Gore "did you guys see this recent editorial???" 7/25/02 4:33am

5:
"Another one to flame?" I Love Shimano - 08:10pm Jul 24, 2002
Pecos "Another one to flame?" 7/25/02 7:19am

4:
"Cyclists bashing." R600DuraAce - 01:58pm Jul 24, 2002
Leisure "Cyclists bashing." 7/25/02 2:24am

3:
"Another bike hating columnist (link)" mizzou Jul-24-02, 07:23 AM
mizzou "Another bike hating columnist (link)" 7/24/02 10:14am

2:
"bicycles and cars don't mix" ? DougSloan - 09:03pm Jul 23, 2002
TypeOne ""bicycles and cars don't mix" ?" 7/24/02 8:02am

1:
Yet another troll "journalist" brider - 02:04pm Jul 23, 2002
Djudd "Yet another troll "journalist"" 7/23/02 4:17pm

b "And to think I used to be a cute little cyclist, a little mousey maybe but a serious cyclist nonetheless."

Dimitri is nothing more then a troll. A supervisor here in N. VAPaul
Jul 30, 2002 8:19 AM
several years ago, threaten to ban all bikes from any road where the posted speed was 35 mph. Seems all the rich snobs in Middleburg complained cause they had to slow down while pulling their horse trailers on narrow, winding roads when cyclists were present. It never happen.
is this #6 or #7?rufus
Jul 30, 2002 8:33 AM
can't anybody even take the time to read the message board before posting?
Awww, Ma ... leftovers AGAIN??? (nm... which means "no mouse.")jtolleson
Jul 30, 2002 9:06 AM
The writer should not be allowed to drive a car ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2002 2:56 PM
Can't pass the slowest rider? Durn, idiots like that make me furious. I'll see cars coming up behind me, move right and ride in the gutter, shaking my teeth out, waiting for them to pass. They've got 12 feet width of lane, poke along behind me trying to figure out if they've got enough room to pass, and no doubt cursing me for being there. In the meantime, I'm wishing they would go ahead and PASS so I can get out of the gutter.

Yesterday, I was riding a bike lane that is situated on one side of the PW Parkway -- in my direction the cars were on my right. So along comes this approaching van, wanting to turn to his right on an intersection ahead. Doesn't use his turn signal, doesn't use the turn lane. Turns in front of me: no big deal because I'm watching him and expect such foolishness. But AFTER he makes the turn, he sees me, suddenly stops, back of his van blocking the crosswalk. Another car hoping to turn is right behind him. He stares at me wondering why I'm staring at HIM! Totally clueless, should not be allowed to have a driver's license.

IMHO, any driver who cannot figure out how to share the road with a bicyclist is UNQUALIFIED TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE, and should be required to take public transportation or ride a bicycle.