RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


CAAD5/ultegra vs Douglas Fusion for Racing(9 posts)

CAAD5/ultegra vs Douglas Fusion for Racingmlbd
Jul 30, 2002 3:46 AM
I've been looking to get something light and stiff for occasional races and fast group rides. I've decided to get something less expensive so that I can keep my steel ride. It's down to these options:

1. Cannondale CAAD5 with full ultegra build and Open Pros from GVHbikes.com for $1350.
2. Douglas Fusion from Colorado Cyclist for $1299. Also full ultegra, and a bit lighter than the Cannondale.

I've ridden a Cannondale and like the ride. I've also ridden carbon seat stays and liked that ride, but I haven't ridden the Douglas. What should I get?

Thanks.
Hmm...jtferraro
Jul 30, 2002 4:23 AM
I haven't ridden a Douglas Fusion yet but have ridden a '02 R2000Si, which is the CAAD5 frame w/Ultegra and the ride was better(smoother) than I had expected. I'm not sure if it was attributable to their wishbone seatstays or not, but when comparing it back to back w/the Specialized Allez E5 SLX Comp, I thought the C'dale rode much smoother. I believe the CAAD5 frame's BB height is a bit on the tall side, as I've read the reviews and one rider said he was much more "perched" up on the bike than on his other bikes, etc. I'm surprised the Douglas Fusion is lighter. By how much? Also, is the Fusion made in the states(I'm assuming it is)? What kind of wheels does the Fusion come with and how do they compare w/the Open Pros?

-Jeff
Hmm...mlbd
Jul 30, 2002 8:14 AM
I had the same impression of the CAAD5...smoother than expected.

The fusion comes with Velomax Circuit Comp. They are quite light, but don't seem to be as durable as open pros, according to reviews here anyway.

CC puts a built 55cm fusion at 17.5lbs. That's probably optimistic. In reality, I probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference between the two as far as weight is concerned.
You should call CC and talk to them. They'll put you onbill
Jul 30, 2002 4:24 AM
with someone who's ridden the bike.
I just put together a Douglas Stealth. It is all business -- nothing sexy about it -- but it rides well. Stiff as a board, too.
then you're selling your Pegoretti? :-) (nm)ET
Jul 30, 2002 6:04 AM
.
re: CAAD5/ultegra vs Douglas Fusion for RacingRubberbandman
Jul 30, 2002 8:19 AM
What is the warranty on the Douglas? How are carbon seat stays on aluminim frames holding up?

RBM
re: CAAD5/ultegra vs Douglas Fusion for RacingLC
Jul 30, 2002 9:16 AM
Cannondale is a proven frame for racing, and is known to be good quality too. Douglas Fusion is a new model (Colorado Cyclist's house brand) that could be made made anywhere from unknown designers, so you are taking a chance with that bike. They are probally both good, but I and many racers already know the Cannondale good for racing. I think the Douglas is a compact frame, so it is likley the same weight when you consider the longer seatpost. Depending on the design of the carbon seat stays, it could actually be very stiff or very soft; again your taking a chance. Talking to C.C. who sell Douglas and not Cannondale, would seem to be pretty meaningless to me.
aww, you think that they would lie just to sell a bike? Wherebill
Jul 30, 2002 10:17 AM
is your faith in humanity? That's like saying that the heads of multi-national, publicly-traded corporations would collude with accountants and lawyers to defraud the investing public out of billions of dollars, send the friggin world economy into a tailspin, and not look back.
Hah! True, True...(nm)jtferraro
Jul 30, 2002 11:00 AM