RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any Orbea Starship owners out there?(10 posts)

Any Orbea Starship owners out there?HRH
Jul 29, 2002 9:54 AM
I'm considering purchasing this frame. I'm looking for any pro/con comments on this frame. Orbea is not exactly a household name
re: Any Orbea Starship owners out there?flying
Jul 29, 2002 12:13 PM
I am also considering one.
Are you buying from a shop or direct?
One thing that really stands out is the lifetime warranty.
Pretty amazing for a starship.
re: Any Orbea Starship owners out there?HRH
Jul 29, 2002 12:45 PM
From a shop. They gave me a price quote of $950. Don't know if that includes the fork or just the frame. Can you even order direct??? I didn't see any cart or anything on their website. If you know of any online places please let me know.

This is a sweet frame. I've seen it up close and it is a beauty. All the other frames made from Columbus Starship or Dedacciai's rival U2 tubing go for $1800-$3000. I have not been able to read any reviews of the Orbea Starship... but if you're interested CycleSport's current issue has a review of another Orbea frame (not the starship). Suffice it to say, this is a light, stiff frame. Great for crits and climbing. Heck, put on the areo wheels/bar and it can be nice TT bike. The lifetime warranty is nice and Orbea has been around for a long time. Don't know about you but I'm in LOVE!
re: Any Orbea Starship owners out there?flying
Jul 29, 2002 1:32 PM
That is a good price.
Yes you can order direct but it is at full retail or $1099.
Also the price ia always without fork. They don't make one but the main site does sell the main brands,,, Reynolds, Time, Columbus etc.

Yes I agree the price for the frame is good & so is the warranty. I also like the slack seat angle.

What shop are you getting quotes from?
I am in Hawaii with no Orbea dealers.

Thanks,
Mike
Check out the bike store at UC San Diego. Pretty close to HawaiiDY
Jul 29, 2002 8:10 PM
Great guy there named Kris. Very knowledgeable. All the guys there seem to ride Orbeas. They like the XLR8 model. It is almost as light as the Starship and has the new vibration dampening tubing and the rear carbon seat stay. I have one Orbea and another one on the way from Kris.
Check out the bike store at UC San Diego. Pretty close to Hawaiiflying
Jul 29, 2002 8:24 PM
Thanks for the tip!
Is that the shop called UCSD in the Orbea dealer section?
They are located in La Jolla, CA ?
I will give them a call. Also I had looked at the XLR8 also.
Like you I noticed the weight is good + the damping might be nice.
That is the bike they just did a review on in the July Cycle Sport.
Thanks
Yes, UCSD - La Jolla, CA.DY
Jul 30, 2002 8:00 AM
I was thinking that it might be cheaper to mail it to you from San Diego rather than from farther away. I know that getting stuff to Hawaii can be expensive.
Yes, UCSD - La Jolla, CA. Thanks DY!! (nm)flying
Jul 30, 2002 10:48 AM
.
re: Any Orbea Starship owners out there?HRH
Jul 29, 2002 9:30 PM
I live in Rockville, Maryland. I talked to a dude named Mike at:

The Bicycle Place
301-588-6160
Thanks HRH (nm)flying
Jul 29, 2002 10:02 PM
.