RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Another lunatic throws in his two cents worth...(11 posts)

Another lunatic throws in his two cents worth...Snyderman
Jul 29, 2002 7:48 AM
While his opinion isn't as ridiculous as that msnbc character, Skip Bayless doesn't know anything about cycling.

http://www.bayarea.com/mld/mercurynews/3755479.htm
Skip Bayless is the ultimate trollmr_spin
Jul 29, 2002 7:56 AM
As a subscriber to this paper, I can tell you that every article Bayless writes is along these same lines. His column exists only to poke people with sticks. There is no rumor he won't print, no allegation he won't make, all in search of a big reaction. You wouldn't believe some of the mean-spirited and inaccurate stuff he writes, and naturally, he never corrects it later. Don't take the bait. Don't feed the troll.
Now, you take Tiger Woods. THERE'S an all-around athlete...cory
Jul 29, 2002 7:57 AM
Bayless is a widely respected sports columnist, but he's proved many times that he's an idiot when it comes to cycling. Not the only one in the business, either.
Bayless wrote for the Chi. Trib. for a few years - he's an ass.Alex-in-Evanston
Jul 29, 2002 8:09 AM
He seems to hate everyone he covers.

Alex
re: damn, Khannouchi is fast...collinsc
Jul 29, 2002 8:37 AM
But this is funny:
"But as an athlete, he obviously doesn't belong in the same sentence with Jordan and Ali, or Ruth and Mays, or Montana and Elway, or Bonds and Ichiro."

Elway, Bonds, Ichiro? Bah, scoff scoff. Jordan, Ali, Ruth, Mays and Montana (with Rice, of course) are legends. Lance is in an interesting place right now I think. At 3 wins he really got his name noticed (as if two Tour wins is easy) but at 4, he is in a weird spot between the really goods and the absolutely legendary. When he wins the fifth (oh yeah, definitely "when") I for one will have no qualms putting him in the same sentence as Indurain and the like.

Anyway, the guy is a goon and very apt at displaying his goonery. He makes it quite clear that he has no understanding of cycling by contrasting his limited knowledge of it with his extensive baseball metaphors.
Skip Bayless and BondsFr Ted Crilly
Jul 29, 2002 11:32 AM
Isn't this the same guy who a few weeks ago in The Mercury News was having a go at Barry Bonds and steroid abuse? Now he's using Bonds as a positive example in his latest rant! His inconsistency underlines his incompetence as journalist.
MeaninglessWalter
Jul 29, 2002 8:40 AM
Any designation of "World's Greatest" regardless of topic is so subjective as to be meaningless.

Bayless comes off as more intelligent than the msnbc "writer" but the bar isn't real high.

The funny thing is that whenever these writers look to deride the accomplishments of athlete "A" they invariably use athletes "B" "C" and "D" as examples of what true athleticism is. Yet if you could have the opportunity to discuss the TdF with any of these athletes (Marion Jones, Joe Montana, Navratilova, Ali, and all of the others mentioned) and let them speak for themselves I'm pretty sure they'd be mightily impressed and wouldn't buy into this "non-athletic" crap. Like anyone else they'd have their own opinions about "greatest" but would, I'm sure, get a laugh over these articles.

Beside with some time in the cage I'm sure Lance could develop a pretty good baseball swing......
re: Another lunatic throws in his two cents worth...firstrax
Jul 29, 2002 8:48 AM
Maybe if the reporters knew Armstrong was a triathlete before full time cycling........Na, they still wouldnt give him credit.
BaylessLeroy
Jul 29, 2002 10:07 AM
was about run out of Dallas. Every few years of so he changes papers, when his stichk gets old. He hasn't had an original idea in years and lives just to stir people up. Witness this column. He is a basic sports moron masquerading as a columnist. His stock in trade here used to be bad -and I mean bad puns - the local sports talk station KTCK, "the ticket" still makes fun of these 'skip-shots'. Don't pay any attention to this spare.

Dave Loving
Waxahachie, Texas
You do realize the entire purpose of this column...Gator
Jul 29, 2002 1:26 PM
...was to let the world know he ran a pretty good marathon and 10-K time. The rest was absolute, focusless bullsh#t. I'd love to see see this guy glide up Ventoux on one of those "super efficient machines" he seems to think are magic carpets. God, it's always the same. And a baseball player? C'mon, any game where you can CHEW TOBACCO WHILE YOU PLAY isn't spawning the world's greatest athletes, you know?
Marathon del Soltyrius
Jul 29, 2002 2:02 PM
Kind of counters his marathon after marathon argument. Plus they do it in the f-ing Sahara desert.

One point all of these people need to realize is that you can't compare athletes across sports. I mean seriously even Jordan the basketball god got on a baseball field and could just barely hold his own. I've known of only a few two sport athletes that were successful at both sports. Each sport is so specialized that it is completely impossible to compare and call someone the greatest athlete.

Just my long 2cents.