RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sizing...standover...patience appreciated!(11 posts)

Sizing...standover...patience appreciated!TommyRides
Jul 29, 2002 6:00 AM
Hello all.

I'm wondering with a 30.5" inseam (pant), if a bike with a 30.7" standover is workable for me. I know it sounds like a totally stupid question and I'm coming from MTB land. The bike has a sloped TT and my clearance near the ST/ TT junction is fine but from geometry tables, I notice that standover is measured nearer the HT/ TT junction. The LBS says the bike fits me fine..but I'm just fishing for opinions.

Lastly, any opinions on Devinci bikes in general? I'm a little intimidated by the "roadie" world and really just want to learn so I appreciate your patience!

Thanks,

Tom from Boston
Hey Tom!jtolleson
Jul 29, 2002 6:06 AM
That sounds like an entirely workable standover, because remember that "cycling inseam" is crotch (snugly) to floor, flat footed. That's usually well over an inch longer than pants inseam. You gain additional clearance of course from the thickness of cycling shoe soles, too.

The bigger issue, after satisfactory standover, is having a top tube length that doesn't overly stretch you out, or require too much (or too little) drop from saddle to bars.

I can't help you on Devinci, sorry! No need for intimidation; keep the questions coming. Just know that opinions are like ... well ... you know.
Hey Tom! Hey JT!TommyRides
Jul 29, 2002 6:24 AM
Hey JT,

Thanks for your reply. The bike I'm looking at it actually (cringing) a high end performance hybrid. Before you turn away in scorn like some have, please review the spec on this bike and give me an honest opinion. The geometry is the same as their (Devinci's) road racing bikes, the only difference being flat bars, stem, shifters and brake levers. It's a sweet bike at right around 20lbs. (actually a little under). It's retail at $1500 and on sale for $1199 as it's a 2001 model actually the fork is carbon.

I want it to ride 3-4 days a week when I'm not on the MTB for rides of say 15-25 miles and some long weekend club rides and such. I'm in love with this bike but not opposed to other opinions and perhaps a true road bike which this is I guess but with flat bars..HELP!

Frame HP2
Available sizes XS, S, M, L
Frame weight 1378 g / 3.0 lbs (M)
Fork COLUMBUS LINK INTEGRATED
Headset TH MODEL NO. 16/TH

Front derailleur SHIMANO R443
Rear derailleur SHIMANO ULTEGRA
Crankset SHIMANO ULTEGRA, 52-42-30
Shifters SHIMANO R440 3X9S
Cassette SHIMANO 105, 12-25
Chain SHIMANO HG93
Bottom bracket SHIMANO 105, OCTALINK
Pedals LOOK CR2 CARBON

Front wheel MAVIC COSMOS
Rear wheel MAVIC COSMOS
Front tire HUTCHINSON EXCEL
Front tire HUTCHINSON EXCEL
Frein avant SHIMANO ULTEGRA

Frein arrière SHIMANO ULTEGRA
Leviers de frein SHIMANO R440
Potence TITEC BIG-AL
Guidon TITEC ENDURO XC 6061-T6 DB
Tige de selle TITEC MODEL TITEC POST
Selle SELLE ITALIA XO TRANS AM LEATHER

Total weight 9,32 Kg / 20.55 LBS (M)
Tubeset Optimum 61
Flat bar road bikesjtolleson
Jul 29, 2002 7:55 AM
Are becoming fairly popular and aren't the same as the "hybrids" of old. Bianchi is making a couple of straight-bar versions of its REGULAR racers (ie., not hybrid geometry) and Terry has pioneered the things for years.

Definitely not as aerodynamic as drop-bar road bikes, these are still a nice option for someone who wants the skinny tire speed and weight savings but can't tolerate (or doesn't want) drop handlebars. So, I won't turn away in scorn. Educate yourself to the pros and cons and make the best decisions.

That's a nice price for an Ultegra/105 bike with Cosmos wheels. Do you have a reliable advisor at the LBS (or local friend) to help you evaluate the fit?
I question the comfortfiltersweep
Jul 29, 2002 2:04 PM
I question the comfort of using flat bars- not just the bars, but for riding position. I've run mtn bike with slicks on the road before, and it is miserable after awhile. While to a mtn-biker a roadie position looks contorted, it actually makes good sense for both speed and distance.
I question the comfortTommyRides
Jul 29, 2002 4:27 PM
I'm hearing the same from several people on here. I was planning to put on bar ends to add a hand position. I have a bit of a lower back issue and didn't know if drops would aggravate it. Anyhow, I'm riding a few more bikes and getting a few more opinions but am leaning toward the flat bar bike.

Riding more for fitness than anything else I guess but WOULD like to do some charity rides next year. With the number of close family and friends I've lost in the past 3 years, I feel a few charities need my efforts!

Thanks for the opinions!
sorry, but i'm in a mood today..Carbon fiber fanatik
Jul 29, 2002 6:11 PM
hybrids are like a Chevy El-Camino. Am I a car? Am I a truck? car, truck.. truck car.. hell i dont know. See any new El-caminos lately? gone in the 80's.
I question the validity of having a hybrid in the first place, but since my list of cons is so long, I'll just hush..
sorry, but i'm in a mood today..TommyRides
Jul 29, 2002 6:47 PM
Carbon Fiber Fanatik...I'm very interested in your full list of cons..how else can I learn and decide properly. Also, please see the spec on this bike in one of my earlier posts before you totally dismiss it.

The 80's were a miserable decade in my opinion so I certainly don't want to relive anything that could remind me of them!

This bike has the same geo. as their racing bikes and some pretty nice parts spec....

Give me a bullet list of your cons...and don't hold back!
Why measure "standover" somewhere that you don't stand?Spoke Wrench
Jul 29, 2002 6:06 AM
I've always mesured it at about the middle of the top tube.
re: Sizing...standover...patience appreciated!Rusty Coggs
Jul 29, 2002 7:02 AM
More is better, as long as TT length and bar height and bar reach are right.
re: Sizing...standover...patience appreciated!xcandrew
Jul 29, 2002 3:07 PM
I agree that TT/bar length and bar height are the important things to look for. But, more is not better in regards to standover on a road bike. It is neutral once you have enough, .5cm even, that you can stand over the bike comfortably in your shoes.