RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


When something seems too good to be true.......(20 posts)

When something seems too good to be true.......Len J
Jul 29, 2002 4:06 AM
it usually is.

Rumsas Wife found in possesion of banned drugs.

http://www.velonews.com/news/fea/2836.0.html

Damn, I hope it's a screwup.

Len
let's wait for test resultscyclopathic
Jul 29, 2002 4:23 AM
maybe he had it "just in case". If tests come out clean I doubt he can be charged for something he never possessed or never tested positive.
Sure...Len J
Jul 29, 2002 4:37 AM
He comes out of nowhere to take a podium spot, His wife is found with doping products..........But he's clean.

I guess I'm just tired of the whole drug mess. I have begun to believe that the "Dopers" are 2 steps ahead of the testers & therefor "testing clean" doesn't really prove anything to me.

I'm disappointed that we can't get through one major tour without this cloud.

Len
It is only entertainment.MB1
Jul 29, 2002 5:15 AM
We thought the tour was very entertaining, Miss M enjoyed the CBS hour and I liked the OLN coverage. As far as the young men who were racing....they did great.

If you are going to worry about things drugs in sports should be very far down the list.

Let's ride!
It is only entertainment.AllisonHayes
Jul 29, 2002 5:23 AM
I will begin to worry when we start to have promoters like Don King and people have their ears chewed off for dumb manuevers instead of being just chewed out their fellow rider.

(At least we don't have an East German team of female cyclists winning the TDF.)
this is very sexist remark you must apologizecyclopathic
Jul 29, 2002 7:37 AM
I am sure East German team of female cyclists would do just fine!
a sad story of patriotism & state sponsored dopingAllisonHayes
Jul 29, 2002 8:17 AM
The book, "Faust's Gold," by Dr. Steven Ungerleider, provides a fascinating account of the state sponsored exploitation and doping of innocent young girls for the purpose of glorification of the former East German regime thru international sports success. Under a strict directive from its highest political office, between the 1960s and the '80s the GDR gave steroids to more than 10,000 uninformed youngsters as part of its quest for dominance in worldwide sports events.

These female athletes suffered numerous health problems as a result of the "vitamins" that they took, ranging from short-term concerns including raging libidos and unnatural hair-growth, to serious, long-term problems including depression, birth defects, heart failure and tumors. One of the more interesting revelations, is of the conflict some of the former Olympians feel: on the one hand is their patriotism and sense of obligation to the individuals who helped make them superior athletes; on the other is their sense of shame at the possibility of having won medals unfairly and the corresponding desire that the truth about the doping be told.

This book describes the GDR totalitarian regime and the abuses it fostered to support its insane goals. The book also links these past abuses with the current problems facing the sports world, and his work should give future athletes pause before they engage in the use of performance enhancing drugs.
Is this an apology??cyclopathic
Jul 29, 2002 8:32 AM
so GDR totalitarian regime gives you a ticket to insult all women athletes?
You might try to connect the dots...AllisonHayes
Jul 29, 2002 8:55 AM
If you did then you would realize my point...

(topic closed)
..and point is: let's make sexist jokes of female cyclingcyclopathic
Jul 29, 2002 9:47 AM
you're full of it Allison and this is a closed topic
Hmm, Telekom road like girls this year!!! I wonder :o) nmspyderman
Jul 29, 2002 11:34 PM
Way down the list....Len J
Jul 29, 2002 5:39 AM
You're right, it is just damn disappointing that this keeps rearing it's ugly head. I certainly won't lose any sleep over it.

The "jaded" part of me wants to start from the premise that they are all doping so as not to be disappointed, the "naive' part of me wants to believe they are all clean & this is a fair competition. As in most things, the truth is always somewhere in the middle.

Len
I disagree a littleDougSloan
Jul 29, 2002 6:29 AM
I don't think it's "only entertainment." The Rockettes are "only entertainment." Professional wrestling is only entertainment (did I say that?). Who would care if they artifically enhanced their performance?

Sports are entertainment, but not only entertainment, in my opinion. We do expect a decent level of fairness and rule following. People get ejected and maybe even go to jail (in Europe) for cheating. We expect them to try their hardest to win. We despise cheaters in every form.

Nonetheless, I agree that this is not something to worry about on a personal scale.

Doug
Maybe she was just baking cookies for RR.....what next?!..[nm]bent_spoke
Jul 29, 2002 5:59 AM
press do more to kill cycling than cycling itselflnin0
Jul 29, 2002 6:12 AM
If I am sick of anything it is the incessant need of the press to grab at any staw they can, and blow it out of proportion without anything concrete to stand on. Facts are no longer needed to run a paper, it is all opinion, speculation and false conclusions.

--officials found her in possession of a number of pharmaceutical products and two prescriptions "which could be considered doping." --

'could be considered'....yeah, just like Igor's inhaler...

Front Page "IGOR - POSITIVE FOR BANNED SUBSTANCES!!!"
Day Later page 33, bottom corner - "Oppps, Igor is ok"

Right now they have nothing but a lady with a couple of prescriptions, a rider who never tested negative and a BIG HEADLINE to sell newspapers.
so, what do you think about Gary Condit? nmDougSloan
Jul 29, 2002 6:30 AM
I thought this is a cycling forumcyclopathic
Jul 29, 2002 7:48 AM
get a grip Doug keep it out
re: When something seems too good to be true.......Me Dot Org
Jul 29, 2002 7:56 AM
I must admit that my heart sinks a little bit when the allegations involve someone on the podium.

One thing evident from Rumsas' career is that he values winning over convention. When he won the Tour of Lombardy it was a bit of a back stab to team leader Francesco Casagrande, and we all saw his efforts to breakaway on the Champs-Élysées, which were either quixotic or unsportsmanlike, depending on your point of view. Are these events the signature of a great competitor or a man who values winning over everything? The arrest of his wife casts a shadow.

Perhaps at 30 he doesn't feel he has much time left to make his mark on cycling. Perhaps his wife is innocent. We don't have a all the information at this time. The article says that his wife was caught by a "customs agent". That doesn't sound like she was arrested with Peruvian Chocolates and Poppyseed Muffins, but we still don't have the details.

And, of course, it does raise the question about how good the doping controls are.
well Ja-Ja was in a break group toocyclopathic
Jul 29, 2002 8:17 AM
doesn't make him unsportsmanlike?

don't take me wrong I am not defending Rumsas by any means, I am just sick and tired of this "drag everything" conspiracy, when press blows it out of proportion and seems everyone cares about it more then cycling itself.

If they find something they will have enough rope to hang him, his wife, and all of the team alone. I would not be surprised if it turns out she got some french drugs for relatives/friends; same way as senior citizens from CA/TX go to Mexico to get cheap prescription drugs. I wonder what press coverage could have been if Lance's mom got stopped on Mexican border with a load of drugs.
Ja Ja is not a good example...skyfallen
Jul 29, 2002 9:25 AM
Ja Ja wasn't in the market for a podium spot, just for a stage win. Had Rumsas not come up to the group, the group might have stayed away, because ONCE wouldn't have had to chase.