RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Total Newbie Help/Suggestions Plz!!!(11 posts)

Total Newbie Help/Suggestions Plz!!!0_Kewl
Jul 27, 2002 6:13 PM
My budget will be around $1000-1300 ish for now. I will be fitted and size properly at my lbs; Bicycle Exchange in Carrollton or Blue Bonnett in Lewisville.

The help and suggestions I need are like what bike "trek, cannodale, giant ocr etc.." do I need, best setup, parts etc.. while staying in my budget. Like I hear lots of stuff about the "shim 105" setup, also since there are hills were I plan on riding, that begginers should also go with a "triple crank"? setup; for easier hill climbing. I plan on riding 10+ miles daily and doing 50 milers on the weekends. I hope to get good enough to do some club rides with CCC in the future.

I want my bike to suit the beginner in me, but also something I can grow into down the line, something that won't be obselete. I won't be a road bike newbie for long, I hope; so any thing that is intermediate, but also good for newbs will be great. Any and all suggestions and help appreciated. Thanks.

Any Addison/ Coppell/ Carrollton/ Lewisville/ Colony/ North Dallas area etc.. riders can email me at rct3_16@yahoo.com if they wish.
Lots of optionsDrPete
Jul 27, 2002 6:46 PM
I would definitely go with a minimum of 105 componentry, and the triple... Well, you're not exactly in a hilly area, so you may not need it, but if you head to any major climbs the triple can come in handy.

I have a Cannondale CAAD3 from a few years back, and I love it. I think it's the best of the low-end Aluminum frames, and the ride has gotten much more comfy. Any way you go, though, a carbon fork is nice to have on the front end, and most bikes in your price range are going to have them. Upgraded wheels, like the Bontrager Race Lites on the new Treks, are also a huge advantage.

I think the way to go is a nicer frame, like a Cannondale, with slightly cheaper (105) components. That way you can upgrade components as you kill them, while keeping your frame. Remember, Cannondale is just my bias. Try a bunch of different bikes before you buy!

Welcome, and good luck!
OK, here goesOffTheBack
Jul 27, 2002 6:56 PM
All of this is just my opinion, and of course others will differ.

1. Don't get all stressed out over the bike choice. Most new bikes in that price range will have similar parts & materials. The brands you named all offer solid, quality bikes within your budget. Pick one that seems like it will make you want to ride.

2. A triple crank is a good idea, I still use one as it gives me easy gears for climbing hills as well as closely spaced gears for maintaining optimal cadence.

3. Get one or two good pairs of shorts. A good pair can set you back $60 or more, but trust me, your rear end will thank you for it.

4. Get a floor pump.

5. Make sure you carry all the stuff to fix a flat and know how to do it.

6. There is no six.

7. Get out there and ride.

Have fun!
Amen on the floor pump and shorts! nmDrPete
Jul 27, 2002 7:00 PM
Are you very close to Planospookyload
Jul 27, 2002 7:05 PM
I was in Dallas last year, and went to the Plano Bike Shop just to check it out. That place is awesome. They have the friendliest staff and a HUGE selection of bikes, all of which can be ridden for demo. As for what to look for, I would reccomend looking at anything that has Ultegra parts. That would signify a intermediate level bike in my eyes, and infact is even race worthy if you ever decide to go that route. You get most of the benefits of Dura Ace with a lot lower price tag. You should be able to find an Ultegra bie for ~$1500 pretty easy. As for the brand, I would look very closely at the Giant TCR series. You get a pro level aluminum frame with Ultegra parts or Dura Ace parts(depending on the model). This is the same frame the pro ONCE team rode in the tour last year, but scaled down in price becuase of the Ultegra parts. Another bike to look at would be the Cannondale R1000. It is a CAAD 5 frame with Ultegra parts, and the 2002 models can be found for $1500 still. The R900 is the same frame with 105/Ultegra mixed parts and usually goes for about $300 less. Those two would be my picks. I have never ridden the Trek models, so I don't feel I can honestly give any advice on those(unlike many others in these forums) Whatever you end up with just make sure you ride it. Enjoy.
Kewl, keep the info coming ppls, thanks so far0_Kewl
Jul 27, 2002 7:19 PM
yes I'm near Plano also, keep the info coming ppls. The more informed I am the better. I want to make sure I make a very informed decision, as the bike will be a big investment; more expensive than my computer.
re: Total Newbie Help/Suggestions Plz!!!Tele_Pathic
Jul 27, 2002 7:57 PM
I agree with the opinions on the C'dales. I just got one, and I love it. I'm a relative newbie myself, but I went a slightly different route. While I wanted to give my lbs my business, my budget just didn't allow for an intermediate bike + all the extras (shorts, floor pump, saddle bag, helmet, gloves, patches, frame pump, etc.). I went over to Ebay and found a great Cannondale at a great price. I found a C'dale for $650, outfitted with Shimano 600 parts (the predecessor to Ultegra, I believe). Budget another $150-$200 for the accessories, and your set.

Here's my thinking: I've got a frame I can use for several years. As things break, I will replace them with Ultegra parts. When the time comes, I'll trade the C'dale frame in on a newer C'dale frame, and I'll have all the sweet Ultegra components to go with it.

Tele Pathic

BTW, I'm moving to the Wolfe City/Greenville/Commerce area in a few weeks. Anybody know of some good places to ride? Thanks.
Doh!! Also forgot to ask what rear cog ratios I should go with?0_Kewl
Jul 27, 2002 8:01 PM
12-23?,12-25? .....? What rear cog ratio should I go with?
Doh!! Also forgot to ask what rear cog ratios I should go with?gs6769
Jul 28, 2002 5:16 AM
Sorry to weigh in here on a rolling thread but I think most would say to go with 12-25 for starters. Plenty of low end for climbing and it will give you an idea of what cogs suit you for rolling. Also, a new cassette isn't horribly expensive and will be one of the first parts you'll need to replace anyway due to it's high wear factor. That way if you decide to tighten things up with a 12-23 or so, it will be part of regular maintenance after a few thousand miles. Just remember that by then you'll probably need a new chain as well but I'd cross that bridge in it's time.
Roll on!!
Been to a few LBS's; now more confused, more help needed plz!!0_Kewl
Jul 28, 2002 2:52 PM
Besides the original bikes I listed, Trek, Cannondale, Giant. Now I hear some ppl tell me to try out the Klein's or the Specialed Allez models. Does anyone have experience with these other 2 bikes?

Plz ppls post more info on the 5 main bikes I list and best Components, Handlebars, Seats etc... that will stay within my budget, but allow me to advance to intermediate riding.

Thanks again for the suggestions and info.
re: Total Newbie Help/Suggestions Plz!!!jwarrenod
Jul 28, 2002 3:19 PM
Take a close look at the Giant TCT-2, Shimano 105 components on a very nice frame (someone else talked about the frame). These should be around the top of your price range. Also the Giant OCR series is nice too, but don't get the OCR-3, its got Sora components and you can do better in the same line for just a bit more money.

JW